Tours and Tickets

Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown provided by Shotover Jet

Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown

Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown
5
Book in advance
from
$140.60
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
About
Churning rapids and towering cliffs make the Shotover River a thrilling experience by jet boat, and this high-speed tour gets you spinning, fishtailing, and skimming across the surface. Frequent departures from Queenstown means you can easily tailor a time to fit your schedule, while the included round-trip transport means you don’t need a car and ensures maximum adventure time on the Shotover River.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 25m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 25m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
Shotover River jet boat tour offers frequent departures from Queenstown
Maneuverable jet boat can perform 360-degree spins and turns
Experience Queenstown's legendary adrenaline sports just outside of town
Round-trip transport from a walkable departure point
What to expect
Your jet boat excursion starts at a central location in Queenstown. Meet a shuttle bus for the trip to the Shotover River. Departures are available throughout the morning and afternoon, and may be selected when booking. It’s a quick trip from downtown Queenstown to the departure point on the Shotover River. Upon arrival, suit up for the jet boat with personal flotation devices and wet gear to keep out the splashing white water. Hold on tight as the jet boat driver maneuvers through the Shotover River’s narrow canyon walls, squeezing past tight corners and rocky outcroppings. At the end of the trip, get the opportunity to purchase souvenir photos if desired, or simply hop on the shuttle back to Queenstown, where you'll be walking distance from many of the city’s top attractions, restaurants, and hotels.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 5626SHOTOVER
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
Jet boat ride • Complimentary Shuttle from Queenstown (Hourly trips excluding 1pm trip - reservations required)
Exclusions
Food and drinks • Hotel pickup and drop-off • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
Duration
25m
Departure details
3 Arthurs Point Road, Arthurs Point, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand Self-drive to our Arthurs Point river base - check-in 30 minutes prior. For all hourly trips (except 1pm), we provide a free shuttle from The Station Building, Queenstown. Check-in 45 minutes prior to your trip time. Please use the messaging service to confirm transport after booking your trip.
Inclusions
Jet boat ride • Complimentary Shuttle from Queenstown (Hourly trips excluding 1pm trip - reservations required)
Exclusions
Food and drinks • Hotel pickup and drop-off • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
Departure details
3 Arthurs Point Road, Arthurs Point, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand Self-drive to our Arthurs Point river base - check-in 30 minutes prior. For all hourly trips (except 1pm), we provide a free shuttle from The Station Building, Queenstown. Check-in 45 minutes prior to your trip time. Please use the messaging service to confirm transport after booking your trip.
Duration
25m
Return details
Returns to original departure point
Additional information
Confirmation will be received at time of booking
Children must be accompanied by an adult
Minimum age is 5 years and child must be at least 3 feet (1 meter) in height; dependent on water conditions, the operator reserves the right to increase the minimum height to 4 feet (1.2 meters)
Lifejackets are provided
Please allow 1.5 hours for return trip from Queenstown if taking shuttle bus
Locker facilities available for personal belongings
Check-in is 30 min prior to jet boat ride departure
Not wheelchair accessible
Near public transportation
Not recommended for travellers with back problems
Not recommended for pregnant travellers
Most travellers can participate
This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travellers
Popular mentions

5.0
1,360 reviews
Excellent
1,148
Very good
153
Average
34
Poor
13
Terrible
12

Jason
26 contributions
So much fun!
Pricey, but definitely worth it. You won’t get too wet, just a bit of spray. The 360s they pull are thrilling! Highly recommended.
Written 21 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kia ora Jason Alexander, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and fantastic to hear you had such a great experience and value for money! We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Queenstown! Nga Mihi Sophie
Written 24 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TravelLoverNZx
Auckland Central, New Zealand257 contributions
THRILLING EXPERIENCE - GREAT WITH THE VIDEO
Andy our driver was great! What an exciting heart stopping activity to experience while in Queenstown. We loved it and recommend. Dress up warmly from head to toe in winter!!
Written 9 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kia ora TravelLoverNZx, Thank you for leaving us such great feedback! We are stoked you had a fantastic time with your driver Andy, we will be sure to pass this onto him! Nga Mihi Sophie
Written 12 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jet28336051495
5 contributions
Great Fun
We received easy and fantastic service from booking to riding in the jet boat. We were running late so rung to see if we could change bookings. This was done with ease. Our driver Nadia was pleasant, knowledgeable and a lot of fun giving our whole party plenty of thrills. Thanks Shotover…it was a great experience.
Written 2 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kia ora! Thank you for leaving us a 5 star review! We greatly value our customers feedback and amazing to hear you had a great experience! Fantastic to hear you had such a great time with Nardia, we will be sure to pass on your compliments!! Nga Mihi Sophie
Written 12 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Callum Mill
Rotorua, New Zealand1 contribution
An amazing thrill ride
Jun 2021
This was our first jet boat trip and it sure was a thrill. The trip was an Excellent and fast paced tour up the shot over river. Our Driver Nardia was excellent, she had great commentary and delivered a fantastic customer experience!
Written 27 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kia ora Callumapirana93, Lovely to hear you had a 5 star experience on the Shotover Jet with our driver Nardia! We will be sure to pass on your compliments to her! We greatly value your feedback and stoked to hear you had a fantastic time! Nga Mihi Sophie
Written 12 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jenn
California166 contributions
So exciting!
I had read online that shotover jet was the best jet boating in New Zealand, and was do glad we chose to do it. The ride was super thrilling, and the views in the canyon were spectacular.

They provide a neck warmer and large waterproof jacket to wear over your clothes. Definitely wear glasses or sunglasses, as it’s very windy and you will get sprayed with water.

When you arrive, they have you put your belongings in a locker (with everyone on you boat using the same locker). We had been told about this beforehand and dropped off most of our stuff at the hotel first.
Written 21 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kia ora ticondy, Fantastic to hear you had a 5 star experience with us at Shotover Jet and it lived up to your expectations for being the best jet boating experience in New Zealand. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Queenstown and hope to see you again one day! Nga Mihi Sophie
Written 12 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

gjim195
San Jose, CA111 contributions
Shot over jet is full of excitement yes and so exciting to get so close to the shore and cliffs.
My top line summary is that in this water jet boat ride my wife had a smile so big you could slide a banana through it sideways, we had a blast. You must hold on, feet on the floor and suggest wearing a warm top that you do not mind getting wet. It is like an old fashion E ride at Disneyland. You will turn 360 degrees multiple times and also ride through a beautiful gorge at over 50 km per hour. A great humorous driver is an added feature. As paying customers end there ride, the drivers were applauded.
Written 17 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kia ora gjim195, Thank you leaving us a 5 star review! We greatly value your feedback and stoked to hear you had a great time on our trip and we were able to provide you with thrills and laughs from start to finish! Nga Mihi Sophie
Written 12 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lucia Ferrari
Cordoba, Argentina52 contributions
Fun!!
Super fun experience! I booked the 2 pm one since I didn’t have a car to go there and it was great. They picked us up in town and drove us to the base. It felt very safe and the staff was friendly. The boat skipper was Jeremy and he made it really fun, with a couple of 360 turns. We got a bit wet so I recommend dressing with warm waterproof clothes, it wasn’t crazy wet though. I definitely recommend doing this!
Written 8 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kia ora luferrari25! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review! Fantastic to hear you had such a great time with Jeremy, we will be sure to pass on your compliments to him! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Queenstown! Nga Mihi Sophie
Written 12 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dawn
Wellington, New Zealand3 contributions
Amazing experience worth doing
Hand down one of the coolest experiences ever. Our group loved every minute of it and wanted to go out again straight after. Our driver Nards was hilarious and made this experience even more awesome. Would highly recommend doing this while in Queenstown.
Written 4 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kia ora Roam38801642570! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review and fantastic to see you had such an amazing time out with us on the river! Nardia will love to hear your feedback! Nga Mihi Sophie
Written 6 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

smg38
Christchurch, New Zealand154 contributions
Lots of fun
May 2021
Shotover jet are so easy to deal with- we booked direct. The place was easy to find and check in was smooth- it is a well organised and professional organisation with a focus on safety and customer experience. We had a great time- the ride was exciting and fun but felt very safe. Wrap up warm as it gets very cold, but the heated hand rails were great in the boat. A top experience, thank you
Written 20 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kia ora smg38, Thank you for taking the time out to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed a smooth experience from start to the finish! The whole team works hard to provide excellent manaakitanga (hospitality) to all our manuhiri (customers) and its great to hear positive feedback about the same. Wrapping up warm is definitely a good idea and the heated handrails help combat the cold. Thank you for reiterating our status as a Queenstown must do! Ka kite ano, Sinchan Customer Services Team
Written 29 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

yvonnerkh23
Te Kuiti, New Zealand24 contributions
Exciting Start to the Day
May 2021 • Couples
My husband and I were excited to experience the famous Shotover Jet as our first activity arriving into Queenstown. Unfortunately they’d had some crazy weather the day before which made it unsafe, so rebooking for another day was super easy. They rang well ahead of time to inform us of the possible changes, and then again another hour beforehand to reschedule. We rebooked for a couple days later with no hassle or stress.

The jet boat ride itself was so thrilling. Getting super close to the canyon walls and debris was exciting, and the views as we sped along the river were beautiful. Despite the crazy speed and manoeuvres, we at no time felt unsafe in the skilled and experienced hands of our driver. Thank you shotover jet for the experience of a lifetime, we loved every second of it!
Written 11 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kia ora yvonnerkh23, Thank you for taking the time out to leave us a review. We are glad you were able to reschedule and come out on a trip with us! The trip is a great mix of adrenalin pumping excitement and beautiful scenery in the hands of our very capable drivers who train very hard to deliver the spectacular experience. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and left with lifetime memories! Ka kite ano! Nga mihi, Sinchan Customer Service Team
Written 29 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,341
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Shotover Jet
StaceyCheer
StaceyCheer
00
Fun, with beautiful scenery
A must-do when visiting Queenstown. We did it in winter, so it was cold - recommend layering up! Great driver, ni
558aleksl
558aleksl
00
Good fun
A worthwhile experience. A good trip that takes you down the gorge and back. Dress warm as the wind chill is cold
bonnieolckers
bonnieolckers
00
So much fun!
We had the best time with Nadia at the healm of our jet! She was friendly, fun and made us feel at ease. The experi
leisa74
leisa74
00
Stunning
We loved our jet boat ride. The scenery was out of this world and the adrenaline rush was awesome! Highly recommen
HermanDwight
HermanDwight
00
Great as expected
We did the jet boat shot over with our 12 and 14 year old for the first time and we all absolutely loved it. Family
malmac27
malmac27
00
Family blast!
Our family of 5 (12, 15, 17 + mum & dad) went on the last run of the day. They do advise you to wear warm clothes a
KKG007
KKG007
00
Brilliant. Must do!
We'd tries on previous trips to Queenstown to go, but the water level was too high. So we were thrilled to be able
PishiX
PishiX
00
Do it! Fantastic fun.
Don’t hesitate. This is not only iconic but absolutely fantastic fun. I was terrified and exhilarated at the same t
Kerrie350
Kerrie350
00
A Must Do Activity!
Wow! What an amazing experience. Thrills and amazing scenery. We had Andy as our driver and he was bloody fan
Higgosnz
Higgosnz
00
Exhilarating experience
This was awesome fun. Great experience. Would recommend anyone coming to Queenstown does this. Our driver Andy was
A6693QRaaronb
A6693QRaaronb
00
Fun but not for $$
Was a fun experience going up the canyons and thrilling ride, but for $120 for a short 15min ride. Not sure its wor
388kathg
388kathg
00
Queenstown icon
Great trip, good safety checks and how the heck they spin those jets in such a tight place, and shallow water I’ll
MarfaArfa
MarfaArfa
00
A must do while in Queenstown
What an exhilarating 25 minutes on a jet boat. Very scenic going through the canyon and hair raising due to proximi
kristinsnapfire
kristinsnapfire
00
Worth your money and good solo activity
I wasn’t sure if it would be worth it, but the second we pulled away from the dock, the smile that stretched from e
catienoble
catienoble
00
Loved it!
Great trip with an amazing driver Nardia. Thrilling and beautiful! Suitable for kids and my 6 year old loved it. So
Frequently Asked Questions about Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown

Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown price starts from $144.83. Discover and book Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown on Tripadvisor

Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown on Tripadvisor

Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown is hosted by Shotover Jet. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Shotover Jet on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown on Tripadvisor

On average, this experience will take approximately 25m. Discover and book Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown on Tripadvisor