Tours and Tickets

Lake Wakatipu Scenic Catamaran Cruise from Queenstown provided by Queenstown Lake Cruise - Southern Discoveries

Lake Wakatipu Scenic Catamaran Cruise from Queenstown

Lake Wakatipu Scenic Catamaran Cruise from Queenstown
4.5
Book in advance
from
$49.00
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
92% of travellers recommend this experience
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Duration:
1h 30m
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
100
Stroller accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
German, Chinese, Korean, Japanese, English, Chinese, French, Spanish
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
German, Chinese, Korean, Japanese, English, Chinese, French, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 3960SCENIC
Important information
Inclusions
  • Sightseeing cruise Lake Wakatipu
  • Live commentary on board
  • Restroom on board
Exclusions
  • Food and Drinks - available for purchase
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Duration
1h 30m
Departure details
  • Southern Discoveries - Queenstown Visitor Centre, St Omer Wharf 110 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand Departure Point: Southern Discoveries Queenstown Visitor Centre Address: St Omer Wharf, 110 Beach Street, Queenstown
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Please advise of your country of origin at the time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Interpretation handouts are available in the following languages: Mandarin, Japanese, Korean, German, Spanish, French and Russian.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travellers
Inclusions
  • Sightseeing cruise Lake Wakatipu
  • Live commentary on board
  • Restroom on board
Exclusions
  • Food and Drinks - available for purchase
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Departure details
  • Southern Discoveries - Queenstown Visitor Centre, St Omer Wharf 110 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand Departure Point: Southern Discoveries Queenstown Visitor Centre Address: St Omer Wharf, 110 Beach Street, Queenstown
Duration
1h 30m
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Please advise of your country of origin at the time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Interpretation handouts are available in the following languages: Mandarin, Japanese, Korean, German, Spanish, French and Russian.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Face masks provided for travellers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Southern Discoveries - Queenstown Visitor Centre
    St Omer Wharf 110 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
    Departure Point: Southern Discoveries Queenstown Visitor Centre Address: St Omer Wharf, 110 Beach Street, Queenstown
    See address & details
  • 1
    Southern Discoveries - Queenstown Visitor Centre
    Stop: 10 minutes
    Your experience starts here - Check in with friendly staff 15 minutes before your scheduled cruise departure and get ready for your journey.
    Read more
    Pass by
    Lake Wakatipu
    The Remarkables Ski Area
    Lake Wakatipu
    Southern Discoveries - Mt Nicholas Farm Experience
    Glenorchy
    Coronet Peak
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
82 reviews
Excellent
62
Very good
14
Average
3
Poor
1
Terrible
2

Tracy
Rakaia, New Zealand4 contributions
Jan 2022
Lovely cruise of the lake and the skipper gives a very informative commentary as we travelled around the lake. For value for money this is better than the Earnslaw.

However, in the interests of health and safety could the company perhaps have their staff trained to deal with foreign citizens who let their children run riot and constantly go out the door to the bow and leave the door slamming. No parental guidance from the parents at all (group of 4 young children running around in and out). Even when the young staff shut the door due to the wind this only momentarily stopped the children. Eventually on the return journey the novelty wore off with the running around and the door was left permanently open.
Also, beware that on a hot sunny day there is no shade provided on the wharf while waiting to board the catamaran.
Written 3 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia ora Tracy, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad you enjoyed the cruise and the commentary from the skipper. Thanks for your feedback, we'll be sure to discuss it further with our operations team. Ngã mihi,
Written 9 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rodger
Orewa, New Zealand3 contributions
Oct 2021 • Couples
We own an AirBnb in Queenstown and decided to try out the Big Red boat The Southern Explorer on Lake Wakatipu to see if we could recommend it to our guests. I can say we were pleasantly surprised and thoroughly enjoyed it. The trip is quite a different experience than the TSS Earnslaw steam boat and even though it is on the same lake it takes in quite a different view of it. The boat itself is lovely and clean and very comfortable with huge panoramic windows. We glided across the lake even though the water was incredibly rough and I think this trip would really appeal to all age groups including older guests or anyone who gets sea sick. Can highly recommend the local cheese board a real treat along with great service really made the trip. Can I recommend this to our future Guests ! Absolutely
Written 7 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia ora Rodger, Wow thank you so much for this awesome review. We're so stoked you enjoyed your Spirit of Queenstown Scenic Cruise with a Gibbston Valley Cheese board. We really appreciate you passing on your feedback and recommending us to your AirBnB guests. Ngā Mihi, Ciara
Written 14 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

wellingt0nkirby
Wellington, New Zealand308 contributions
Feb 2021 • Couples
We took the 5:15pm cruise on. Friday evening. Bought the cheese platter option. The cruise is great - 1.5 hours, interesting commentary, great platter. I imagine come autumn the cruise at this time would have amazing sunset views
Highly recommend- great price
Written 6 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

trawellguru
Auckland Central, New Zealand259 contributions
Check in at the office at the Wharf Building was easy but quite a few guest were not aware they had to check in there first to get a boarding pass. Cruise was clean. Plenty of viewing area. Crew on board was friendly but the commentary was bad next to nothing considering how much was there to talk about. We took the 3.15 cruise on Sunday 6 June. I saw a few people sleeping which is a shame. We were quite happy with the route as the landscape was amazing. Nice way to see Queenstown from the lake might try another company next time.
Written 12 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia ora, Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you found the Spirit of Queenstown was a nice, clean vessel with plenty of viewing area on board! The landscape certainly is amazing, and we cruise further than any other operators on Lake Whakatipu with fantastic views the whole way. Sorry to hear you found the commentary was disappointing, our skippers do put a lot of effort into their commentary so we have raised this with our operations manager to ensure we have the best standard of commentary. Nga Mihi, Jayne
Written 13 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Irish_Kiwi77
Wellington, New Zealand1,223 contributions
This is a hour and a half cruise (there are two or three a day) and it is a great way to see Lake Wakatipu. There is commentary during the voyage providing some history of the area and pointing out landmarks. The catamaran has a bar, so you can have a drink and snack while enjoying the scenery. There is seating inside and outside upstairs, you can also go outside at the front of the boat but there are no seats there. I was lucky with the weather the day I went and have to say the views were stunning.
Written 20 November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks so much for your four star review, we're stoked to hear you had a great to hear you had an awesome time Thanks,
Written 30 November 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Amanda
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
Jul 2020 • Family
We had an awesome day out on the lake, the crew were fantastic especially skipper Dave. He went out of his way to make sure we all had a good time, he provided great commentary with good humor thrown in. Thanks so much Dave for making our trip so special.
Written 30 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

AmyNZ
4 contributions
Jun 2021
Started off amazingly. Had pretty good weather and the views were stunning. Unfortunately when we crossed the lake to pick up people from the farm station things got a bit rocky. We all had to come down to the inside bit because the waves were so big and the boat was getting pushed around. The staff were a little panicked as the waves got bigger, and eventually had to take away people's food and drink in case they went flying. People had to get on the floor and crawl to the back of the boat where it was more stable. The skipper was excellent and we all got back safely, and were offered a drink on the house after we got back to the smooth part. I don't think they normally go across to the station on this cruise so it shouldn't be a problem for future customers.
Written 10 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lndlox
Christchurch, New Zealand1 contribution
Apr 2022 • Couples
The Views on the Lake and Information shared of Queenstown And Lake Wakatipu … Farming Stations etc.. Stunned ! at the $ per nite … you could spend in some of the Lake secluded Homes/Hotels … all the history was great .. lovely friendly Staff
Our time on the water was perfect .. we didnt feel rushed at all.
Amazing Wine & Cheese Board
Go on Treat yourself :)
#SDShareandWin & #SouthernDiscoveries
Written 1 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora, Thank you for your review! Fantastic to hear you enjoyed the relaxed cruise onboard the Spirit of Queenstown. The wine & cheese certainly adds to the experience. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Queenstown. Nga Mihi, Jayne
Written 1 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Patrick H
Turangi, New Zealand95 contributions
Mar 2022 • Couples
From the very warm welcome at reception to the welcome on board I felt we were going to have a great trip. Our cheeseboard and wine simply added to a relaxing couple of hours. The views are expansive and uninterrupted either seated or on deck. My first trip on the lake some 60 years earlier memorable as it was a first , this trip just cemented my thoughts on how beautiful our country is.
Written 27 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia ora, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! How very special that you were out on Lake Wakatipu 60 years ago! I bet you noticed a lot has changed in Queenstown... but the views remain the same! Very spectacular! Thanks so much for joining us and it's great to hear the team looked after you so well! We will pass your feedback on. Nga Mihi, Jayne
Written 29 March 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

AK47girl
Auckland Central, New Zealand20 contributions
Jun 2021
We did this as a start of our Queenstown winter escape and it was great! Beautiful views and it was the 3.15pm cruise, so the change in light over the time gave us some variety. The captain is obviously very knowledgeable about the area as kept up the commentary about the areas and history, and was accommodating when a friend went to chat with him. Food and beverages available helped to improve this nice little tour.
Written 5 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia ora, Thanks so much for this awesome review. We're glad you enjoyed your cruise, the 3.15pm in winter is the perfect apres ski activity. Ngā mihi. Ciara
Written 22 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 80
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Queenstown Lake Cruise - Southern Discoveries
Gemma B
Gemma B
00
Lovely Cruise!
It was lovely out on the lake as a family. The day was cloudy and had been rainy and yet it was still such a beaut
Peter F
Peter F
00
Relaxing afternoon cruise on the lake
Perfect length of time (1 and a half hours), good non invasive commentary and lovely wine and cheese board
AAD212014
AAD212014
00
Queenstown Lake Adventure
Friendly staff onboard with excellent customer service skills. Lovely cruise of the lake and we were well informed
joannh903
joannh903
00
Fireworks Cruise Winter Festival Queenstown 2021
Had an absolutely wonderful time on this cruise for the start of the Winter Festival. The staff were fabulous alway
RuthGabrielle
RuthGabrielle
00
Beautiful Scenic View with terrible stewardesses attitude
No, from me. The country side is absolutely breathtaking as we all know. Captain is Awesome too! However Managem
Looloo118
Looloo118
00
Wow
Picturesque Views are just amazing. I cannot believe this is in NZ. A hidden gem for sure in the deep south. Lov
krissbhatti
krissbhatti
00
Cruise with Views
A wonderful day to cruise on the Lake and enjoy the views of the beautiful scenic views of Queenstown, my family ha
mousekett
mousekett
00
Lake cruise
Pleasant experience on a breezy day in Queenstown. I had the wine and cheese platter which was ready and waiting o
Fentonx2
Fentonx2
00
Spectacular Lake Cruise!
I would thoroughly recommend this cruise when visiting Queenstown. Me and my girlfriend were greeted aboard by frie
T_Hollis83
T_Hollis83
00
Stunning!
Such beautiful scenery! Entertaining commentary and super professional staff. A chilly winters day but everyone out
Johnsons890
Johnsons890
00
Disappointing
We haven’t been on the cruise yet-only booked for next month- but up to now (I’ve spoken to them 3 times) the exper
annmargaretcob
annmargaretcob
00
Great experience!!
Van - 4 stars Driver - 4 stars Cruise - 4 stars Went for a few gorgeous stopovers! Driver had very good knowled
MeganD012
MeganD012
00
Good time had by all!
Great trip. Awesome staff that were very friendly & helpful even though there were 19 of us! #southerndiscoveries #
Deb L
Deb L
00
Relaxing cruise with stunning scenery!
We were lucky to strike a beautifully clear and sunny day so that definitely enhanced our experience. But weather a
dennisjA8297UM
dennisjA8297UM
00
excellent experience - definitely exceeded our expectations!
We took a scenic ride across lake Wakapitu in a modern tour boat and got dropped off at a sheep farm with good moun
Frequently Asked Questions about Lake Wakatipu Scenic Catamaran Cruise from Queenstown

Lake Wakatipu Scenic Catamaran Cruise from Queenstown price starts from $49.90. Discover and book Lake Wakatipu Scenic Catamaran Cruise from Queenstown on Tripadvisor

Lake Wakatipu Scenic Catamaran Cruise from Queenstown cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Lake Wakatipu Scenic Catamaran Cruise from Queenstown on Tripadvisor

Lake Wakatipu Scenic Catamaran Cruise from Queenstown is hosted by Queenstown Lake Cruise - Southern Discoveries. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Queenstown Lake Cruise - Southern Discoveries on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Lake Wakatipu Scenic Catamaran Cruise from Queenstown on Tripadvisor

On average, this experience will take approximately 1h 30m. Discover and book Lake Wakatipu Scenic Catamaran Cruise from Queenstown on Tripadvisor