Tours and Tickets
Monarch Wildlife Cruise
5
Recommended by 93% of travellers
93% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
from
$63.00
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-100, max of 50 per group
Duration: 1h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Live guide: English
More
Written guide
Print or digital reading material such as a guide, map, brochure, etc.
: German, Chinese, Portuguese, Japanese, Italian, French, Spanish
More


  • Complimentary warm & waterproof jackets
  • Use of high quality binoculars
  • Complimentary wifi
  • Entry/Admission - Dunedin


Start:
  • 813 Harington Point Road, Otakou 9077, New Zealand
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Pushchair accessible
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 195993P1

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Most travellers can participate
    • Contact us if you are concerned about mobility or in a wheelchair
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    How much is Monarch Wildlife Cruise?
    Monarch Wildlife Cruise price starts from $64.49. Discover and book Monarch Wildlife Cruise on Tripadvisor
    What is the Monarch Wildlife Cruise cancellation policy?
    Monarch Wildlife Cruise cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Monarch Wildlife Cruise on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Monarch Wildlife Cruise?
    Monarch Wildlife Cruise is hosted by Monarch Wildlife Cruises & Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Monarch Wildlife Cruises & Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Monarch Wildlife Cruise on Tripadvisor
    How much time do I need for Monarch Wildlife Cruise?
    On average, this experience will take approximately 1h. Discover and book Monarch Wildlife Cruise on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 195993P1

    Reserve your spot

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • You'll start at
      813 Harington Point Road
      813 Harington Point Road, Otakou 9077, New Zealand
      See address & details
    • 1
      Taiaroa Head
      Stop: 60 minutes
      See details
    • 2
      Monarch Wildlife Cruises - Wellers Rock Wharf
      Stop: 60 minutes - Admission included
      See details
    • You'll return to the starting point
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Monarch Wildlife Cruises & Tours
      1,087
      Dunedin, New Zealand
      Joined in September 2008
    • Natwhal
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Could not recommend this trip enough!
      This was one of our best trips in NZ. Could not recommend it enough!! It was incredible for wildlife - we saw sea lions, lots of seabirds, penguins (wild and at rehab centre) and albatross (including chicks). It was a fantastic afternoon and an experience I will never forget. Our tour guide Felix was very knowledgeable.
      Written 22 April 2024
    • Val f
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Excellent Trip
      Fantastic service from the start. Staff were friendly, knowledgable and helpful. The tour was well worth doing with excellent shout out to our guide Will. A really good tour all round.
      Written 14 April 2024
    • KP2874
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      great day trip!
      What a wonderful day! We took the peninsula tour with a stop at the Albatross Centre and the penguin reserve. Our guide Mark was great! We left from Dunedin and drove to several spots on the peninsula where we walked to a beach to see seal lions, we drove around a lake to see water birds, and we got great views. Everyone else on our small group tour had signed up for the guided tour at the Albatross Centre (which they seemed to enjoy), but my husband and opted to just walk around the visitor center. There were some interesting displays, we wandered through the gift shop and picked up a drink at the cafe and then watched several albatross flying around from a seat outside. There were also two short walks you can do outside the centre with great views. We then went to the penguin reserve and after an orientation we walked through the tunnels to several hides to try to see the yellow-eyed penguins. We had been warned that they hadn't been spotted in weeks, so our expectations were low (they're in the wild so you just have to know you may not see any). It was our lucky day, however, and we saw two penguins waddling through the grass! While we could have driven ourselves out and around the peninsula, I was very happy to have a relaxing day and a break from driving, and to be able to actually look around vs. being so focused on a curvy road was very nice. Mark was a great guide, and we would highly recommend Monarch Wildlife Tours! (we actually booked through Elm Wildlife, they the two companies have merged).
      Written 8 April 2024
    • 196jaynej
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      ONE WORD - BRILLIANT
      Fantastic tour! Loved the Larnach Castle inside with our guide who was so knowledgeable and made the castle history and experience come to life. The Otago Peninsular Cruise was amazing, seeing the albatross chicks, a blue penguin, a bird feeding frenzy and the highlight were a pod of dolphins jumping and playing around the boat. Such a brilliant day. There was quite a bit of driving, up to the castle which afforded great views, down to the dock traveling a different route, and after the cruise back to the harbour, along the magical shoreline. All in all a fantastic day for our small taste of what Dunedin has to offer.
      Written 28 March 2024
    • CandJDunnington
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Very good tour with knowledgeable guide
      The tour guide was very good, spending time to go slowly and point out the wildlife on our journey. Lots of opportunities for photos. Guide was very aware of safety - especially when seals were asleep on footpaths. When we visited the Yellow eyed penguins everything was explained to us and we were give ample opportunity to see the penguins in the rehab centre and also where they nested on the beach walkways. We did not see any penguins coming ashore but this was probably because we were too early. When we viewed blue eye penguins a while ago we needed to be at the centre when it was dark, so we could watch them coming ashore to their young.
      Written 28 March 2024
    • M266EJheatherk
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      A must do experience
      Absolutely gorgeous day, we got to see Albatross nesting and flying, other birdlife, little blue penguin and a fur seal. Great skipper we loads of knowledge.
      Written 23 March 2024
    • iforry
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Well worth it!
      Our driver/tour guide, Cliff was excellent - personable and very knowledgeable. This experience was wonderful and well worth the money spent.
      Written 16 March 2024
    • Jenny M
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Perfect way to explore Dunedin
      Prompt pick up from the cruise terminal. Cliff did a great tour of the Larnach Castle and history behind all the characters. The visit to New Zealand’s only castle is a must. The drive up was beautiful giving us a good perspective of the beauty of Dunedin and a photo opportunity along the way. We enjoyed the cruise. Only negative was that the microphone did not work properly so we missed the info on wildlife. Got perfect photos and videos of the albatross, the seals and dolphins. A great day in Dunedin. Thank you Cliff!
      Written 28 February 2024
    • juliepearce2018
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Well organised tour
      Excellent service, everything was on time and has convenient parking. The guide was very informative and we saw the albatross, a little blue penguin in the water and sea lions. Coats and binoculars were provided although I didn’t require either.
      Written 12 February 2024
    • liss78mph
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Scenery, history, wildlife, land and sea
      Best value. Scenic, castle was interesting, just enough time to see it all. Take your own food. Lovely cruise to see the albatross colony, penguin tour well worth the add-on very knowledgeable tour guides not much maori history though.
      Written 5 February 2024
    • derhardjogvansson
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Good half day tour
      Very good bus tour on the Otago Peninsula to see the royal albatross, the yellow-eyed penguin and so much more. Good service and fine exploration of all the different things you see.
      Written 5 February 2024
    • robinmR1263MQ
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      A must to do visiting Dunedin
      My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The albatross were simply amazing flying around us on the boat. Pity we didn't get up close to any penguins, however, we did see lots of sea lions on our walk. The Penguin Place conservation reserve was very interesting to see how they are being cared for as there are not many in captivity now. The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and pleasant to spend time with.
      Written 1 February 2024
    • 564fionap
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Really super experience!
      Wonderful, informative tour from Will and Oscar on a pretty “dreich” day, weather-wise! Learned so much, not only about wildlife - as expected, but also about Dunedin’s history and Aotearoa’s heritage - fascinating! Thanks to all at Monarch for a really super experience! Fiona, Bob & Harry Morris :) :) :)
      Written 1 February 2024
    • Sue B
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Worthwhile trip
      Really enjoyed this tour, our driver & guide Cliff was great & knowledgeable. Felt safe with him as we encountered many windy roads on our 7 hour trip. We saw a sea-lion, seals on remote beaches & many different birds on our journey. We didn’t get to see the Yellow-eyed penguin on the beach but did visit the Otago Peninsula Eco reserve which was informative & saw some penguins in the rehabilitation centre. We had an hours boat trip to witness the wonderful Albatrosses flying from their breeding grounds & learnt a lot about them. Do take snacks & drinks as a long tour.
      Written 23 January 2024
    • MisterPip
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Creatures galore on this Otepoti treat
      As a former Dunedin person now living in Australia it’s easy to take for granted the things on your own doorstep. I decided to do this tour when visiting family and was wowed by what the Otago peninsula has to offer. We saw seals, sea lions, dolphins, penguins and albatross (as well as numerous other birds) all within 45 mins of the city. Will, our guide, was very knowledgeable about the wildlife and environs and made the trip an interesting and easy one. I would recommend this for visitors and for locals, who may not always remember what a special and unique place this is.
      Written 11 January 2024
    See all 1 review
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    We perform checks on reviews.
    Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
    Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
    When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
    Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
    Learn more about our review moderation.
    5.0
    5.0 of 5 bubbles115 reviews
    Excellent
    98
    Very good
    10
    Average
    4
    Poor
    2
    Terrible
    1

    John H
    Montgomery Village, MD128 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2020
    We did the Monarch Otago Bay Wildlife cruise as part of a Viking cruise. The hosts (Aaron 1, Aaron 2 and Sean, I think) were excellent. The cruise is dependent on the wild animals showing up, and the crew does a remarkable job of spotting the various birds and mammals, pointing them out and keeping them in sight. Also, the captain maneuvers the boat around and around so that everyone gets the opportunity to see (and photograph) the subjects.

    It was a perfect day, sunny and in the 70’s, with little wind. We saw a lot: albatross and their flight and ground dances, plus dolphins, fur seals, sea lions, cormorants (shags), terns and even a small, shy, blue penguin.

    They have binoculars for your use as well as extra coats with hoods in case the weather turns and you weren’t as well-prepared as you thought!

    As we headed back to the dock, the crew served us some very nice tea or coffee and scones, a perfect end to a great cruise. I can’t say enough about how friendly and helpful all the crew were. If you are in Dunedin, this is a must do!
    Written 2 March 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Marie-Christine G
    Ruby Bay, New Zealand161 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2020
    It was a windy day however Captain Nigel was great at minimizing the discomfort of the tide and waves. His calm voice also shared his knowledge of local wildlife. September is not the ideal time for viewing but we did see Albatross and seals. Great trip out around the Lighthouse. Thoughtful to provide blankets and binoculars.
    Written 5 October 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Vikki_dunedin
    10 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2020 • Family
    Our family recently went on this cruise and the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The skippers soothing tone as he narrated our journey, along with the rolling waves was very relaxing. The only improvement would have been a wine which I would have purchased had it not been for the distraction of my own children. Who by the way, were kept well entertained with binoculars and wildlife spotting. The crew then provided refreshments and hot chocolates to warm the hands after enjoying the crisp Dunedin elements. Thanks yo Trudy, Nigel, Aaron and crew. 10/10
    Written 8 September 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Happiness53067208409
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Apr 2024 • Family
    It was a cool wet day but the trip was amazing... the gear provided to keep you warm and dry was excellent... the binoculars and crew support to ensure you saw as much as possible was exceptional! Our UK family were as excited as we were to experience the feeding frenzy of so many seabirds, and the stunning up-close views of so many variety of albatross. We would thoroughly recommend the one-hour wildlife cruise as being excellent value for money, and never again be discouraged by a southerly squall prediction - the weather added to the whole experience!!
    Written 20 April 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    MayadeviCochin
    Cochin11 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nov 2020
    The crew went over and above, supplying coats and binoculars, and drinks and snacks are available. It was an exciting journey, down the central part of Dunedin Harbor, out to the headlands, with the full display of wild sea-bird life on offer.
    The staff are friendly and informative, so the journey was most pleasant. This tour is great for both tourists and locals alike, and currently it is great value for money. I cannot recommend it any more. Simply a great afternoon out and the harbor and wild headlands, and all that inhabit it, are highly scenic and interesting.
    Written 6 November 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Roci
    Central Otago, New Zealand6 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2020
    We have amazing day with the Monarch Wildlife team. The trip was a gift from our family member. Our departure time was scheduled at 3 PM on the day but we were there early and lucky that there were available spots for us to hop in the boat rather than waiting until 3 PM. The team is friendly, knowledgeable, and super helpful. They provided a ton of the commentaries and the facts along the trip. The trip took about 1 hour and we went around the pacific ocean which was beautiful scenery. The weather was a bit wet, chilly and windy but we have been told that it was suitable for a cruising day to see the wildlife animals. And yes, we saw many wildlife animals such as New Zealand Fur Seals, four types of Albatrosses, Hector Dolphins. In general, that was great trip and highly recommended. Make sure you grab a jacket with you.
    Written 15 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    shereehawk
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Oct 2021
    We loved this! The commentary was informative and the crew were helpful in pointing out different wildlife. I thought it was great when the captain spotted 'something' in the water and said we'd go for a look - turned out to be nothing but how good that they took the chance anyway.

    We were also running late and appreciated that the crew called us for an ETA rather than leaving us behind. They definitely didn't have to wait and it was awesome that they were so considerate. Highly recommend this fun wee tour, our six year old said it was the best day of her life :)
    Written 9 October 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thanks for coming out with us Sheree! Your six year old definitely gave us a fantastic review, I am thrilled to hear it. We always try to make sure everyone gets the best possible experience, even if they're running a little late ;)
    Written 21 January 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    capitolnz
    Wellington, New Zealand16 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Mar 2021 • Couples
    Wow, what a truly amazing experience. Every Kiwi should do this cruise, such excellent value and true kiwi hospitality. It was absolutely amazing to see the Albatross soar above the boat. The cruise commentary by the skipper was genuine and extremely informative. Probably the best little secret in Dunedin, I will be letting all my friends and family know to do this cruise whenever they next come south. Don’t be afraid of doing this in a cold southerly - best time to see the albatrosses soaring and they provide you with comfy warm coats to wear!
    Written 8 March 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    We pride ourselves on being a small kiwi-owned business and really appreciate the support from our fellow New Zealanders! THANK YOU for the awesome review.
    Written 12 May 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Aussie_2012
    Melbourne, Australia897 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Felt extremely ripped off when the captain of the cruise, who also provided commentary throughout the one hour cruise, rattled off a list of the wildlife we saw as we were heading back to the dock. I’m sorry but having to justify that the cruise company provided the opportunity to see many examples of wildlife therefore was provided to the paying guests on the boat is ridiculous at best. Yes we could see these birds and seals HOWEVER seeing virtually all the wildlife from several hundred metres away, many times from such a distance they are merely small blobs of colour, is NOT really seeing them. Total rip off!!!!
    Written 6 January 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi Rich, I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the skipper listing the trip's observed animals. The end of trip recap is for the benefit of keen wildlife enthusiasts who enjoy 'collecting' sightings of the different species, especially seabirds. Unfortunately, we don't always have the wildlife right next to the boat, despite our best attempts. They are wild animals after all. Thank you for taking the time to leave an informative review.
    Written 7 January 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Bruce L
    Avalon, NJ10 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jan 2020
    What a great experience on Otago Harbor. It was a bit of a rough weather day but the crew bundled us up in all weather coats and took us on a great boat ride, expertly narrated, to view the wildlife in this beautiful harbor. We saw most of the animals shown on their handout and really enjoyed the ride. Very safe and secure with a little adventure due to wind and waves. Highly recommend this trip.
    Written 2 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Showing results 1-10 of 105

    Monarch Wildlife Cruise provided by Monarch Wildlife Cruises & Tours

    All Dunedin HotelsDunedin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Dunedin
    All things to do in Dunedin
    Zoos & Aquariums in Dunedin
    RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire