Tours and Tickets

Small-Group Dunedin Wildlife Cruise provided by Port To Port Cruises And Wildlife Tours

Small-Group Dunedin Wildlife Cruise

Small-Group Dunedin Wildlife Cruise
5
Book in advance
from
$116.00
per adult
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
About
Small group tours, fast custom built vessel. Comfortable, warm, partially enclosed. On our tour..... -Approx 2 hours duration, if joining from Portobello, or 1.5 hours if joining from Port Chalmers. -Fully commentated. -Travel from the most scenic part of the harbour, pass by the historic Quarantine Stations and old hulks. -See and learn about the fishing boats, workboats, dredges and ships as we pass Port Chalmers and Careys Bay. -View wading birds and look for penguins and shags as we cruise past roosting and feeding areas. -See/learn about the historic pilots houses, search light and gun emplacements and the old whaling stations. -Take the time to cruise around Taiaroa Head, exploring the shallow bays to view fur seals and nesting colonies of shags, albatross and much more. -Sometimes we venture out to sea and we may view oceanic sea birds, marine mammals such as dolphins or sea lions. -Bicycle hire can be added by contacting us.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
German, Chinese, English, Chinese, French, Spanish
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
German, Chinese, English, Chinese, French, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 103532P3
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
  • Restroom on board
  • Binoculars and jackets
  • Wildlife information sheets
  • Entry/Admission - Otago Peninsula
  • Entry/Admission - Dunedin
Exclusions
  • Snacks
Duration
2h
Departure details
  • 837 Portobello Road, Portobello, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand We have a boatshed at the foot of the jetty at Portobello. 400 metres before the Portobello township. Look for the boatshed with a large sign which reads 'Wildlife and Ferry'.
  • 39 Peninsula Beach Road, Port Chalmers, Dunedin 9023, New Zealand (Must specify in booking notes Port Chalmers pick up.) From the wharf by the Port Chalmers Yacht Club. If arriving by cruise ship, exit cruise ship terminal building, turn left, away from main township. Cross the road and walk past the logging yard for 5-10 minutes until you reach the boat ramp.
Additional information
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Not recommended for travelers with signifigant mobility problems (must be able to step down into vessel, 300mm)
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travellers
Inclusions
  • Restroom on board
  • Binoculars and jackets
  • Wildlife information sheets
  • Entry/Admission - Otago Peninsula
  • Entry/Admission - Dunedin
Exclusions
  • Snacks
Departure details
  • 837 Portobello Road, Portobello, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand We have a boatshed at the foot of the jetty at Portobello. 400 metres before the Portobello township. Look for the boatshed with a large sign which reads 'Wildlife and Ferry'.
  • 39 Peninsula Beach Road, Port Chalmers, Dunedin 9023, New Zealand (Must specify in booking notes Port Chalmers pick up.) From the wharf by the Port Chalmers Yacht Club. If arriving by cruise ship, exit cruise ship terminal building, turn left, away from main township. Cross the road and walk past the logging yard for 5-10 minutes until you reach the boat ramp.
Duration
2h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Not recommended for travelers with signifigant mobility problems (must be able to step down into vessel, 300mm)
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
Itinerary
  • You’ll have 2 starting options
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Otago Peninsula
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Taiaroa Head
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Popular mentions

5.0
18 reviews
Excellent
17
Very good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

David C
Waikouaiti, New Zealand1 contribution
The best possible day out.
Nov 2021
What an exhilarating and informative trip Rachel took us on. To have a guide who had an incredible knowledge of the harbours inhabitants both people, animals and birds was a great pleasure.
It was a blustery day which showed Rachel to be as a highly skilled mariner. It also meant that the wind excited the bird life which was more plentiful and varied than if it was calmer.
Rachel showed her warmth and ability to connect with us as passengers and how comfortable she is with and is part of, this environment.
David Cooper
Waikouaiti
Written 5 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelM6122
Thank you David! What an amazing review to receive! Thank you!! It was a pleasure to have your group onboard and I was so pleased you got to see so much. You all made my day with your fun conversation and happy vibes!! And again now with this review! Thank you for taking the time and effort to write this. You are helping others to find us, much appreciated! Rachel :)
Written 6 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Judy M
Hamilton, New Zealand16 contributions
Outstanding wildlife experience!
Apr 2021
This was outstanding and the whole family enjoyed the Albatross Wildlife & Harbour Cruise! Best value for money and we saw lots of local wildlife so exceeded our expectations! Rachel was amazing and provided a lot of good information. Providing binoculars and UV glasses as part of the cruise was very thoughtful and helpful!
Written 5 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelM6122
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic and thoughful review! Im so happy to hear this:) Im so pleased that you enjoyed the trip and got good use of the polarized glasses and binoculars! It was a pleasure to show you and your family around:) Thanks again:) Rachel
Written 12 April 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ian H
4 contributions
Great time
Dec 2020 • Family
Great time and was very boat handle the waves well and captained by a great skipper would definitely recommend
Written 13 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelM6122
Thank you so much Ian! Your review is much appreciated! Im so pleased you and your family had a great time! I was so great to have you onboard:) And the dolphins were definitely putting the show on for you, Im sure of it! Rachel:)
Written 17 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MKR61
Macclesfield, UK59 contributions
Well worth the trip for Rachel's local knowledge, best view of albatrosses included!
We had an excellent trip with Rachel who explained all sorts of interesting facts about the history of Otago and how it is linked to the sea, and we were delighted to see three different types of albatross close up and just floating on the sea, plus many seabirds, some seals and even a blue penguin swimming. Rachel’s boat was very comfortable with inside and outside seating and even a loo on board. We chose Port to Port because Rachel takes smaller numbers than some other cruises so we felt we would see more - we were not disappointed! No one can guarantee wildlife on a tour but we certainly saw plenty. Thank you for a great afternoon:)
Written 9 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelM6122
Thank you so much for your detailed review! Im really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your cruise, and that we managed to find so many albatross for you! It was a pleasure to do so:) And its really helpful to know why you chose us, Im pleased to hear your expectations were met:) Thanks again:) Rachel
Written 17 May 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

864marien
Brewood, UK10 contributions
Amazing trip
Feb 2020
Had a fabulous trip and saw loads of wildlife. Rachel was very knowledgeable and pointed out loads of birds, including, albatross, little blue penguin and loads of others. We were also very lucky to see a NZ sea lion, hectors dolphin and NZf fur seals., couldn’t recommend the trip enough,
Written 14 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelM6122
Thank you very much for your review! We really were lucky! Im so pleased you got to got to see so much on our trip. Thanks for sharing your experince with others. It helps others find us too:) Thanks Rachel:)
Written 15 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

David Mumford
Dronfield, UK151 contributions
Excellent unforgettable wildlife experience on a great boat.
This is a first class wildlife tour with a clever and excellent skipper called Rachel who made every effort to ensure we saw as much wildlife as possible and we did. I can’t list it all as there was so much but it included fur seals, a white capped albatross, Spoonbills and a swimming blue penguin. The boat was stable, fast and clean with shelter if needed and the commentary from Rachel was outstanding as she was so knowledgeable about the area and the wildlife. As the boat was quick we were able to adapt the tour to what we were seeing and we could speed across to the location of the wildlife very quickly taking us to the entry of the harbour and round to view the cliffs and Albatrosses .The tour was just over two hours and well worth the cost. We had an exciting and fun time.
Written 27 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelM6122
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughful and excellent review! Im so pleased you saw so much and had such a great trip! Many thanks for your compliments, this is exactly what we strive for. Thanks again, happy travels:) Rachel
Written 15 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MCRwindsor
Ammanford, UK193 contributions
Amazing eyesight!
We chose this tour with Port to Port and enjoyed every minute. Rachel really knows her stuff and doesn’t seem to need binoculars to spot things far in the distance! We saw more albatrosses and close to, than we saw at the albatross centre. There were only four of us on the boat, which was nice but I believe the boat will take up to 12. We also saw hundreds of different types of shag, fur seals, a penguin and loads of other birds. The two hours just flew by.
Written 24 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelM6122
Thanks so much for your generous review! Im so pleased you had such a great trip! This is exactly what we aim for! Many thanks again, you are helping other to find us, and our small business to grow:) Thanks Rachel
Written 25 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

oliverd
Sydney, Australia626 contributions
Fanastic viewing of albatrosses
Jan 2020
The good: Guide was fantastic - very passionate and knowledgeable about the wildlife and history of the harbour. Saw lots of albatrosses in flight and in the water. Kids really enjoyed it too. It's also a smaller boat (12 pax max) and because to an albatross they think it's fishing boat, they all come and investigate or perhaps hope they might get fed (they don't!). A laminated hand-out describes all the birds you might see on the cruise.

The bad: It takes a while to get to the albatross nesting area, so you don't get a lot of time to watch the wildlife. On our cruise we had cruise-ship passengers joining us, and some were running late. So we lost time waiting for them and eventually picking them up at a different jetty.

It would be a 5-star review if we hadn't had the cruise-ship passenger delay taking time away we could have spent watching the albatross and seals... I'd still 100% recommend this nature cruise. But try and book one with no cruise ship passengers!
Written 19 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelM6122
Thanks for your review! We really appreciate you taking the time to review us:) Were glad you enjoyed the cruise, despite having to wait for other passengers! Thanks Rachel:)
Written 21 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Karen O
19 contributions
A holiday highlight!
This was recommended to us and did not disappoint! The tour was rearranged due to bad weather but this was well communicated to us. The tour guide (Richard) was very knowledgeable and brilliant at spotting interesting wildlife and giving us time to see it. We saw three types of albatross, blue penguins, lots of NZ fur seals and lots of bird life. It was a real highlight of our holiday.
Written 12 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelM6122
Thanks so much for taking the time to review! We are so pleased you had a good experience with us, even in poor weather! And that you have taken the opportunity to tell others about it, so they know what to expect. I will pass your compliments on to Richard:) Thanks again Rachel:)
Written 13 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Thelma H
3 contributions
Fantastic wildlife cruise
Dec 2019
Rachel was so knowledgeable and certainly ensured that we saw a lot of wildlife, including several albatross, and learnt lots too! Would thouroughly recommend this trip.
Written 28 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelM6122
Thanks so much for the review! Im so pleased you had such a positive experience with us! Thanks for taking the time to let others know:) Rachel:)
Written 1 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 18
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Port To Port Cruises And Wildlife Tours
brinded2017
brinded2017
00
Exciting and excellent
Really wonderful cruise with the very knowledgable Rachel .Rough seas brought out the wildlife and demonstrated her
gorehighschool
gorehighschool
00
Would recommend
Apart from it being very windy it was a great trip.The boat was very stable given the conditions and the skipper ve
867tanw
867tanw
00
Quarantine Island - beautiful gem in the Otago harbour
We did the Quarantine Island cruise with Port to Port...it was such a great experience. Our nearly 5 year old got t
W4542IGandyc
W4542IGandyc
00
Never fails to delight
We do this trip regularly, and it never fails to provide a new snippet of magic, every time. Rachel is a terrific
743trishg
743trishg
00
Seaweed and sushi adventure
This ferry operation was so well run. We had a fabulous time learning about different seaweeds and how to eat them
McSandra4
McSandra4
00
A*Ferry trip
Just loved Rachel’s approach, professionalism & interesting commentary. Although we live in Dunedin we felt we’d be
Lanytp
Lanytp
00
Excellent experience
Rachel is an amazing vibrant operator, she bringa the wild life and harbour cruises to a whole new level. We were p
ScottP2289
ScottP2289
00
Harbour crossing to explore the sandflats
Fun and friendly way to start the school holidays, kids loved the trip across the harbour to explore the sand flats
U714ORkatet
U714ORkatet
00
A great trip!
Rachel was a very friendly and informative tour guide. We loved getting out there and seeing NZ's wildlife, especi
Barbielewis
Barbielewis
00
This is a must do for anyone who loves the sea and all it offers
Rachel knows her knowledge and told us all about the birds .seals and wild life that was seen.you have to do this t
Ksimpson11
Ksimpson11
00
A must do experience
I did the trip to Quarantine island yesterday with Rachel on the port to port service. An excellent and professiona
W4542IGandyc
W4542IGandyc
00
Always excellent
Rachel makes every trip on the Harbour a real treat, she has such a depth of knowledge about the area and how and w
hubblekate
hubblekate
00
Trip to quarantine island
Rachel took us to Quarantine island for mother's day and we had a beautiful trip. Felt safe taking my baby onto the
amandaaA6674MT
amandaaA6674MT
00
Very friendly and informative
Rachel is a very competent skipper with great knowledge of the harbour and the wildlife . Our Wildlife tour with h
RogerS3947
RogerS3947
00
Super informative fderry ride
If you are considering a visit to Port Chalmers, then we can highly recommend the 10 minute ferry ride supplied by
Frequently Asked Questions about Small-Group Dunedin Wildlife Cruise

Small-Group Dunedin Wildlife Cruise price starts from $118.58. Discover and book Small-Group Dunedin Wildlife Cruise on Tripadvisor

Small-Group Dunedin Wildlife Cruise cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Small-Group Dunedin Wildlife Cruise on Tripadvisor

Small-Group Dunedin Wildlife Cruise is hosted by Port To Port Cruises And Wildlife Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Port To Port Cruises And Wildlife Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Small-Group Dunedin Wildlife Cruise on Tripadvisor

On average, this experience will take approximately 2h. Discover and book Small-Group Dunedin Wildlife Cruise on Tripadvisor