South PacificNew ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionDunedinThings to do in DunedinTours and Tickets

Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin - with unbiased reviews

Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$137.57
Date
2 travellers
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Low Price GuaranteeNo Booking Fees
Overview
Explore the South Island’s gorgeous scenery on a full-day excursion from Dunedin. In the morning, travel aboard the Taieri Gorge Railway through stunning mountain landscapes en route to Pukerangi. Then return to Dunedin for an afternoon tour of the Otago Peninsula by minivan. Get personalized attention from your knowledgeable guide on this small-group tour limited to 19 people.
Itinerary
Important Information
Duration
7h
Inclusions
  • Local guide
  • Transport by air-conditioned minivan
  • Hotel/Port pickup and drop-off
  • Entry/Admission - Taieri Gorge Railway
  • Entry/Admission - Back to Nature Tours
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Bring a waterproof jacket, sunglasses, hat and closed-toe shoes suitable for walking
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • A maximum of 19 people per tour
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
53Reviews
11Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 0
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
peggy703 wrote a review Aug 2019
24 contributions3 helpful votes
Simply amazing well done the trust that does the train trips a perfect afternoon we so enjoyed the trip planning to do it again but via palmerston next time
Read more
Date of experience: December 2018
Response from Back2NatureTours, Chief TA Responder at Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin
Responded 30 Oct 2019
Hi Peggy, Thanks for your feedback - Going north is a great idea next time your here:) Haste Ye Back!
Read more
annfs2016 wrote a review Feb 2019
3 contributions3 helpful votes
The cab we were in had no air conditioning and was so noisy that we couldn't hear the commentary - people disregarded the request to not talk during the commentary. The views were nice. The lunch that was served was a simple sandwich. We were sad that there were no real stops
Read more
Date of experience: February 2019
Ann S wrote a review Feb 2019
16 contributions3 helpful votes
Train was hot and a little uncomfortable and there was no viewing car the views were good but you could ot get good photos from inside the train
Read more
Date of experience: February 2019
244paulrouse wrote a review Jan 2019
40 contributions8 helpful votes
We had a great morning out on the train up to Taieri Gorge. We had great seats in the old carriage on the right hand side going up. Most of the points of interest were on the left until we got about 1/2 way then most are on the right hand side. The commentary was excellent, very
Read more
Date of experience: December 2018
Elfa959 wrote a review Sep 2018
1 contribution
Had a wonderful tour of the peninsula and Taieri Gorge. Chris was very very good, informative, and helpful. Definitely worth doing the whole day.
Read more
Response from Back2NatureTours, Chief Trip Advisor Responder at Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin
Responded 19 Sep 2018
Hi Ellen, Thanks for the feedback:) I hope the conference went well and you enjoyed that sunny Saturday north:) Hopefully you decide to move down here one day, Dunedin needs more Back to Nature Legends! Haste Ye Back:)
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 7h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Hotel Pickup
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 Support
TripAdvisorknow better book better go better
© 2019 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.
* TripAdvisor LLC is not a booking agent and does not charge any service fees to users of our site... more
TripAdvisor LLC is not responsible for content on external web sites. Taxes, fees not included for deals content.
CURRENCY/REGION
US$USD
New Zealand