Tours and Tickets

Two-Hour Local Akaroa Sights with Port Pickup and Drop Off provided by Akaroa French Connection

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Two-Hour Local Akaroa Sights with Port Pickup and Drop Off

Save
Share
Support this operator:Times are tough for the travel community right now. To show your support, consider leaving a review or posting photos of tours and experiences you have taken. Your support will go a long way in helping tour operators worldwide get back on their feet down the road
This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor. Contact the supplier for availability.
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
When your cruise ship arrives in port at Akaroa, board a coach for a quick sightseeing tour of the charming town and its surroundings. You’ll travel through Takamatua and Robinson’s Bay to get to hard-to-reach scenic spots and visit some of the highlights, including Barry's Bay Cheese Factory for a cheese tasting.
Highlights
  • Akaroa shore excursion: quick sightseeing tour
  • Driver provides full commentary aboard the coach
  • Stops include panoramic views and cheese tasting
  • Ideal for cruise passengers with limited time in Akaroa
Important Information
Duration
2h
Inclusions
  • Driver/guide
  • Live commentary on board
  • Port pickup and drop-off
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Lunch
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
32Reviews
2Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 8
  • 3
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
daws1ker wrote a review Mar 2020
Burleigh Heads, Australia3 contributions
We were doing a cruise that stopped at Akaroa in April, but unfortunatly , due to the corona virus it had to be cancelled. We had booked a tour with this company and were looking forward to it. We emailed to cancel and received a prompt response and a refund the next day, so
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Katco wrote a review Feb 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1,529 contribution173 helpful votes
During our recent cruise to Akaroa we booked a tour through this company. Our tour was to commence at 11.30 but it took us in excess of 2 hours to be tendered ashore and we were panicking that the tour might have left without us as we were running late- they didn’t and we
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Pranil S wrote a review Jan 2020
Hampton Park, Australia98 contributions11 helpful votes
Graeme our driver was drinking beer at the lunch stop on top of a hill. We found him rude and unhelpful. After lunch we tried to sit in the bus 5 minutes early. Graeme shooed away my wife rudely with his hand gestures. It's cheaper and easier to get your tours in the port rather
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from Citylinechch, Sales & Marketing at Two-Hour Local Akaroa Sights with Port Pickup and Drop Off
Responded 18 Jan 2020
Hi there, I can assure you that Graeme was not drinking beer as we have very strict policies. Graeme has been driving with us for four years and this is not something he would do. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy Graeme, we generally have very good feedback about him but we understand people have different preferences. It can be cheaper to book directly with us, even if it is before you arrive. Some people that sell our tickets on behalf will charge a booking fee that we do not charge. The price is our standard price if booking through our website directly. I hope you enjoyed the rest of the time in Akaroa.
Read more
dcuste wrote a review Jan 2020
San Diego, California9 contributions9 helpful votes
Pros..... Views were nice, Bus was great, The price was reasonable. Cons.....The bus was late, The driver had very little information, The restaurant stop and cheese factory stops were very poor, uninteresting and over priced.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Citylinechch, Sales & Marketing at Two-Hour Local Akaroa Sights with Port Pickup and Drop Off
Responded 18 Jan 2020
Hi there, We are sorry that you didn't enjoy the trip. We generally have good feedback regarding our stops so I am sorry that you did not enjoy these and we hope you had a great day in Akaroa
Read more
Sandra B wrote a review Jan 2020
Horsham, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
I can not fault this tour worth every penny Coach was Luxery Driver gave great commentary. Views amazing
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Citylinechch, Sales & Marketing at Two-Hour Local Akaroa Sights with Port Pickup and Drop Off
Responded 27 Jan 2020
I am glad you enjoyed it!
Read more
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Akaroa French Connection
Mareeslee
00
Great scenery
A good tour to take if you are short on time. We only had 13 passengers on a large coach however there were buses g
Read more
Tillymaguire
00
Bruce the Brilliant Guide
Firstly our Tour Guide Bruce was absolutely brilliant, he made our trip very enjoyable as he was very knowledgeable
Read more
Bramleywb
00
Great day out
A great day out with a very comfortable bus and a very friendly and informative driver. Akaroa is a place well wort
Read more
rennyanne
00
Reckless driver
We pre booked a return ticket from Akaroa to Christchurch. The bus was meant to leave at 9.30, but didn’t leave unt
Read more
plumbob76
00
Excellent
I used the Akaroa French Connection daily shuttle several times in December while section-walking the Little River
Read more
677MarkH
00
Excellent bus tour
We arrived in Akaroa on a cruise ship and picked up a last minute bus tour to Christchurch for $70 NZ per person fr
Read more
Inspiration598678
00
Recommend this trip but not this tour company - not enough time in christchurch and higher priced than similar tours
Recommend this trip but not this tour company - not enough time in Christchurch to do things that are listed and is
Read more
dimityp2015
00
Akaroa to Christchurch by bus. Scenic heaven
After scouring the sites for the best value and most inclusive day tour from the habour of Akaroa to Christchurch,
Read more
zz6688
00
Too rush in Christchurch
Driver is very knowledgeable of the area and very detailed information provided. But the tour left us almost no tim
Read more
Inspiration598678
00
Raining hard and driver was very safe.
We booked this excursion thinking we would get photostops and pretty views along the way - but were told by locals
Read more
annetteh161
00
Excellent Service
John was an excellent driver and gave a good commentary. Helpful company as we were able to pick up bus at Riccarto
Read more
Jane W
00
Good way to get Akaroa with time to do a boat trip and have lunch and a good look around the village
A good and concise commentary, with a courteous driver who had to cope some issues with no show passengers and pass
Read more
728jerryt
00
Basically a ride into Christchurch city.
While waiting for the bus be sure to visit the wool shop down the side road. A good deal on Australian wool and po
Read more
MATTFTRAVELS24
00
Departing Christchurch and back again later in the day
I did the full way/return ticket tour with French Connection. The bus ride was quite pleasant and the seats were qu
Read more
Dalbir_S_Virdi
00
Christchurch to Akaroa and back - Day Tour - Loved it
We had booked our Day Tour to Akaroa from Christchurch and back through Akaroa French Connection. The Bus was punct
Read more
Key Details
  • Akaroa French Connection, Barrys Bay Cheese
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Hotel Pickup
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071