Tours and Tickets

Arthur's Pass Full-Day Tour Includes TranzAlpine Express Train from Christchurch provided by Leisure Tours

Arthur's Pass Full-Day Tour Includes TranzAlpine Express Train from Christchurch

Arthur's Pass Full-Day Tour Includes TranzAlpine Express Train from Christchurch
4.5
Book in advance
from
$375.00
per adult
Free cancellation
Free Cancellation up to 7 days in advance
Tour snapshot
Ride the TranzAlpine Train, tour Arthur’s Pass, and visit a sheep farm
Duration:
9h 30m
Hotel pickup offered
Group size:
50
Wheelchair accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
About
Experience one of the world’s great rail journeys, the TranzAlpine Train, on this door-to-door day trip to Arthur’s Pass National Park. After hotel pickup, ride the train from Springfield to Arthur’s Pass and enjoy lunch (if option selected). See the 1,444-foot (440-meter) Otira Vidaduct then brace for a thrilling Waimakariri River jet boat ride (if option selected). Learn about sheep farming at a local farm then savor afternoon tea.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 9h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • If you cancel at least 7 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee.
  • If you cancel within 2 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.
  • If you cancel between 3 and 6 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Watch sheep being sheared and rounded up, then enjoy a farmhouse tea
  • Upgrade to include a Waimakariri River jet boat ride and/or a café lunch
  • Look for kea, New Zealand’s jumbo alpine parrot, in Otira Gorge
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 9h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • If you cancel at least 7 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee.
  • If you cancel within 2 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.
  • If you cancel between 3 and 6 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee.
Highlights
  • Watch sheep being sheared and rounded up, then enjoy a farmhouse tea
  • Upgrade to include a Waimakariri River jet boat ride and/or a café lunch
  • Look for kea, New Zealand’s jumbo alpine parrot, in Otira Gorge
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 2950P53
Important information
Inclusions
  • Tranz Alpine train journey
  • Jet boat ride (if option chosen)
  • Lunch (if option chosen)
  • Afternoon tea
  • Local guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Entry/Admission - Christchurch
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
Duration
9h 30m
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • We pickup from most Hotels, Motels & Backpackers in Christchurch Some Air BnBs if central city
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travellers
Inclusions
  • Tranz Alpine train journey
  • Jet boat ride (if option chosen)
  • Lunch (if option chosen)
  • Afternoon tea
  • Local guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Entry/Admission - Christchurch
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • We pickup from most Hotels, Motels & Backpackers in Christchurch Some Air BnBs if central city
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
9h 30m
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travellers
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
14 reviews
Excellent
11
Very good
0
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
1

Treena
1 contribution
Jul 2021
Thank you Kevin for our wonderful day, and for going that extra mile to describe all of the surroundings to Charlie who is blind, we learnt so many new things because of your extensive knowledge of the area. Otira Hotel was such a great experience. If your considering doing this tour then go for it! You will not be disappointed. visiting the farm of Trevor and Heather was such a delight.
Written 17 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterburyleisure
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that you had a fabulous day and Charlie enjoyed the experience so much. It was truly my pleasure to show you wonderful sights and experiences this region has to offer. I do hope that you and Charlie do get the opportunity to visit this beautiful area of New Zealand again in the not too distant future.
Written 19 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jamiex666
Preston, UK25 contributions
Jan 2019 • Couples
We really enjoyed the variety of activities on our day out. Graham our guide was friendly, informative and highly professional keeping us on time for every aspect of the day . Comfortable couch and great photo opportunities throughout day. Lunch was an interesting venue...highly memorable. Jet boat thrilling and not to be missed.Heather and Trevor give us an interesting insight into sheep farming. Highly recommend
Written 25 January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for the kind words and it's great to hear that you had a nice day in Arthurs Pass. The Arthurs Pass Day Tour is one of our most popular tours so it's always nice to get some positive feedback on it. I'll be sure to let Graham know that he was professional and hospitable during your recent tour. We hope you have had a nice time in New Zealand and get to return to this beautiful country again soon.
Written 28 January 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

CaliforniaOma2008
Clayton, CA1 contribution
Jul 2018 • Family
Sue was our guide for the Arthur's Pass Day Tour, which included the TranzAlpine Express Train. We had a change of plans because of incoming bad weather. Instead of taking the train to Arthur's Pass, Sue took us via a comfortable mini-bus. And, I am glad the tour was reversed. Sue set a casual and informative atmosphere. We learned lots and even saw two Kea. We were on a limited time schedule in Christchurch, but because of this tour with Sue, we feel we got to know the area more than expected. We had a great time, even our 5 and 10 year old. Thank you!
Written 10 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It is great to hear that you had such an enjoyable day and that Sue looked after you and was a good representative of our company. I am pleased that you got to see some Kea and saw some great scenery. I do hope you have the opportunity to visit this very special part of New Zealand again at some future date.
Written 12 August 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Margaret Lim
5 contributions
Dec 2019 • Solo
The full day tour was relaxing except (of course) when we were on the jet ski. Good company and wonderful sights. Most importantly, Mark, our driver cum guide, was knowledgeable, friendly and competent.
Written 11 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

CSNZ
Singapore River, Singapore422 contributions
We got started on our tour with Scott and a small group of 6 of us - needless to say it was enjoyable and we were fortunate enough to see the Kea birds near Arthur's Pass.

You learn a lot through the guides and in our short trip we've learned so much about the local culture and areas around the area - that's the distinction between an okay tour and a great tour, which was the latter.

Written 2 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterburyleisure
Thanks for the great review of your Arthurs Pass Day Tour. I'm glad you had such an awesome time by learning a lot about the local culture and seeing some Kea's on your trip, which are always a welcome sight to see. And thanks for the nice comments about your guides too! I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to them. Thanks again and be sure to visit Christchurch soon.
Written 3 December 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Qiang W
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia63 contributions
It was a nice surprise to know the group just had our family. So it was a private tour. Sue, our very friendly and caring driver and guide who was also from Australia originally, made us feel comfortable during the tour. The view from the Scenic Train from Springfield to Arthur’s Pass was remarkable. After the train ride by ourselves Sue showed us a few places especially a hidden gem. It was a little chapel from its front window we could see a nice waterfall at the Arthur’s Pass. The lunch included in the tour was of large serves and quite delicious. We visited a farm to watch a sheep show in the afternoon and it was very fun too. Overall we had a great time, a decent meal, and a fun and interactive farm show, and last but not the least, a caring and friendly guide Sue.
Written 23 December 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the tour. This feedback is important to us as it helps us ensure we are meeting our customers expectations and where possible exceeding them. I am pleased you had a great day and that Sue helped to make your day a very enjoyable one. I hope you have the opportunity to visit this very special part of New Zealand again at some future day.
Written 16 February 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

brian r
Auckland Central, New Zealand4 contributions
Dec 2020 • Couples
Graham our driver was awesome. He was humble, friendly and approachable and most of all cared for us.
Written 29 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterburyleisure
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It is great to hear that Graham our driver was awesome and that you had a great day. I hope you have the opportunity to travel with us again in the not too distant future.
Written 30 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lizard
5 contributions
Feb 2020
Loved this excursion from start to finish, great tour operator, spectacular scenery on the train and wonderful visit to the sheep farm.
Written 8 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterburyleisure
Thanks for such an awesome review of your recent Arthur's Pass Day Tour! It's really fantastic to hear that you enjoyed this excursion from start to finish. I truly hope you get to visit Christchurch and Arthur's Pass again someday soon!
Written 17 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

John G
1 contribution
Jan 2020
The guide was very informative. The scenery was exceptional, and the short hike was exhilarating. There were no wasted moments; the guide kept things moving.
Written 31 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterburyleisure
Thanks for the great review of your Arthurs Pass Tour with TranzAlpine Train Journey. I'm really pleased you had a great day with us and hope you get to visit Christchurch and Arthurs Pass again soon!
Written 3 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jim W
9 contributions
Mar 2019 • Couples
Graham the tour guide was really good, the train ride was good and the sightseeing on the bus even better. Don't miss the jet boat ride, which is lots of fun. However, the bus seating is cramped, with no leg room at all and I was pretty uncomfortable with sore knees before the ride was done.
Written 31 March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and I am pleased you had a great tour, with both the train and sightseeing with Graham. I agree the jet boating is not to be missed. I am sorry that you found the vehicle, you travelled on ( a 17 seater ) a bit cramped. On the day of travel we had three vehicles seperate vehicles operating this tour and I am sure that had you mentioned your discomfort to the driver on the day he would have been able to move you to one of the other vehicles. In addition we are continually updating our fleet to ensure that all of our great tours are also comfortable.
Written 2 April 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 12
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Leisure Tours
WendyM34
WendyM34
00
Sensory Overload!!
Ohhh my Lord!! A once in a lifetime experience absolutely and wholly recommend! Firstly the scenery sea and snow al
Bruce-Ange
Bruce-Ange
00
Awesome trip
Seeing the Hectors dolphins was the highlight of the trip but we enjoyed the entire trip. The van guide was knowle
NinaWaterhouse
NinaWaterhouse
00
Excellent tour guide/driver
The driver was great! He definitely made the tour perfect! The wineries were good, enjoyed the lunch provided
StormAMurphy
StormAMurphy
00
Great experience
Graeme was excellent, very friendly, kept us on time and comfortable. Bus/van was clean and spacious with air condi
Ab752019
Ab752019
00
Fab way to spend an afternoon !!
Graham was an excellent host/tour guide/driver. We were kept comfortable and entertained ! The winery’s were love
jjh673
jjh673
00
Great wines and no driving required!
Great guide/driver. Relaxed atmosphere, with good commentary throughout the trip out and during the return. Topped
Sarah W
Sarah W
00
Tantalize those tastebuds!
Thanks Graham for a great tour! We enjoyed sampling a wide range of wines, discovering new favourites, and finding
Excursion794423
Excursion794423
00
Incredible tour highly recommended
Great day, fantastic vessel, highly recommended. Saw three whales, + all sortsof other marine ceratrures incredibl
tsvetelina13
tsvetelina13
00
Wine tour - excellent experience
Graham is a great tour guide. Lunch was delicious. The group was great mix of people, I had a lot of fun and I enjo
Nicolas C
Nicolas C
00
Great Experience - Muy buena experiencia
It was the first time I was doing something like that and I love it. The environment was very nice, our driver guid
gjwhitford
gjwhitford
00
Wine tour
Wine tour what a wonderful afternoon out the lunch is worth the money just beautiful the tour operator very friendl
Mark S
Mark S
00
Wonderful wines of the Waipara Valley
We were picked up from hotel in Merivale and headed North with an informative tour guide who told us about the Waip
FinanceJeff
FinanceJeff
00
A Wine tour of 4 superb Waipara wineries
Canterbury Wine Tour. 4 superb wineries starting with Waipara Spings (included an individual platter to start the a
ClosesOnTour
ClosesOnTour
00
Waipara Wine Trail Tour
Graham from Leisure Tours picked four of us up from our hotel for a half day wine tour, visiting four wineries wit
Trisa O
Trisa O
00
Relaxing day
I booked this solo because it was a Tuesday and I was traveling alone. My driver Graham showed up exactly on time
Frequently Asked Questions about Arthur's Pass Full-Day Tour Includes TranzAlpine Express Train from Christchurch

Arthur's Pass Full-Day Tour Includes TranzAlpine Express Train from Christchurch will start at 8:00 AM. Discover and book Arthur's Pass Full-Day Tour Includes TranzAlpine Express Train from Christchurch on Tripadvisor


Arthur's Pass Full-Day Tour Includes TranzAlpine Express Train from Christchurch price starts from $382.53. Discover and book Arthur's Pass Full-Day Tour Includes TranzAlpine Express Train from Christchurch on Tripadvisor

Arthur's Pass Full-Day Tour Includes TranzAlpine Express Train from Christchurch cancellation policy: If you cancel at least 7 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee. If you cancel between 3 and 6 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee. If you cancel within 2 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee. Discover and book Arthur's Pass Full-Day Tour Includes TranzAlpine Express Train from Christchurch on Tripadvisor