Tours and Tickets

Waipara Wine Trail Afternoon Tour from Christchurch provided by Leisure Tours

Waipara Wine Trail Afternoon Tour from Christchurch

Waipara Wine Trail Afternoon Tour from Christchurch
4.5
Book in advance
from
$120.00
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
93% of travellers recommend this experience
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Explore the Waipara wine region with tastings and transportation included
Duration:
5h 30m
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Hotel pickup offered
Group size:
20
Wheelchair accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
  • Duration:
    5h 30m
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Group size:
    20
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
About
This Waipara wine region tour takes you to visit four wineries, with tastings, in a half-day trip from Christchurch. Enjoy samples of local reds and whites without worry of designating a driver as transportation is included. Listen to a guide's commentary about the local terroir to learn about the region as you travel. Upgrade to include a lunch with wine pairings.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 5h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Convenient pickup and drop-off at Christchurch hotels
  • Selection of boutique wineries chosen by your guide
  • Upgrade to include seasonal lunch with wine pairings
What to expect
Begin your Waipara wine trail tour with convenient pickup at your Christchurch hotel; settle in to your seat for the 40-minute drive to the up-and-coming wine producing region. Visit a series of cellars and tasting rooms, which may include Waipara Springs, Torlesse Wines, Pegasus Bay, and Waipara Hills (wineries are subject to change without notice). Enjoy tastings of top-class reds or whites at each and learn about the wine producing and grape-growing methods. Tastings at each winery are included, and feel free to indulge, knowing you have a safe ride home. If you upgraded to lunch, enjoy a seasonal lunch and wine pairing as well. Your tour ends with drop-off in Christchurch.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 5h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Convenient pickup and drop-off at Christchurch hotels
  • Selection of boutique wineries chosen by your guide
  • Upgrade to include seasonal lunch with wine pairings
What to expect
Begin your Waipara wine trail tour with convenient pickup at your Christchurch hotel; settle in to your seat for the 40-minute drive to the up-and-coming wine producing region. Visit a series of cellars and tasting rooms, which may include Waipara Springs, Torlesse Wines, Pegasus Bay, and Waipara Hills (wineries are subject to change without notice). Enjoy tastings of top-class reds or whites at each and learn about the wine producing and grape-growing methods. Tastings at each winery are included, and feel free to indulge, knowing you have a safe ride home. If you upgraded to lunch, enjoy a seasonal lunch and wine pairing as well. Your tour ends with drop-off in Christchurch.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 2950CLT18
Important information
Inclusions
  • Wine tasting of at least 20 different wines.
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Live commentary on board
  • Explore four of North Canterbury's boutique vineyards
  • Lunch (if option selected at time of booking)
  • Entry/Admission - Waipara Springs Winery
  • Entry/Admission - Torlesse Wines
  • Entry/Admission - Waipara Hills
  • Entry/Admission - Pegasus Bay Winery
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
Duration
5h 30m
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • We pickup from most Hotel's, Motels & Backpackers in Christchurch, If you are staying elsewhere we will suggest a suitable pickup place.
  • Canterbury Museum, 11 Rolleston Avenue, Christchurch Central City, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand Meet outside the Canterbury Museum. There are temporary parking spaces for tour buses, so your driver will meet you there.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 18 years of age to consume alcohol in New Zealand
  • Should any of the named wineries be unavailable on the day of travel, an alternative winery in the Waipara area will be included
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers
Inclusions
  • Wine tasting of at least 20 different wines.
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Live commentary on board
  • Explore four of North Canterbury's boutique vineyards
  • Lunch (if option selected at time of booking)
  • Entry/Admission - Waipara Springs Winery
  • Entry/Admission - Torlesse Wines
  • Entry/Admission - Waipara Hills
  • Entry/Admission - Pegasus Bay Winery
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • We pickup from most Hotel's, Motels & Backpackers in Christchurch, If you are staying elsewhere we will suggest a suitable pickup place.
  • Canterbury Museum, 11 Rolleston Avenue, Christchurch Central City, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand Meet outside the Canterbury Museum. There are temporary parking spaces for tour buses, so your driver will meet you there.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
5h 30m
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 18 years of age to consume alcohol in New Zealand
  • Should any of the named wineries be unavailable on the day of travel, an alternative winery in the Waipara area will be included
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 24 Sep 2020
A note from Waipara Wine Trail Afternoon Tour from Christchurch
Follow the safety guidelines as issued by the New Zealand Government and maintain good hygene and social distancing measures. Do not travel if you are experiencing cold or flu symptoms. If the city in which you are departing from is in alert level two, then please wear a facemask for all transport.
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Canterbury Museum
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Waipara Springs Winery
    Stop: 45 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Torlesse Wines
    Stop: 45 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 3
    Waipara Hills
    Stop: 45 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 4
    Pegasus Bay Winery
    Stop: 45 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
80 reviews
Excellent
57
Very good
18
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Lynda Close
Auckland, New Zealand21 contributions
Feb 2021
Graham from Leisure Tours picked four of us up from our hotel for a half day wine tour, visiting four wineries with lunch included. He was friendly, very knowledgeable and pointed out places of interest as he drove us to the Waipara Valley. We were very comfortable in his people mover with plenty of room for us all.

Lunch at Waipara Springs Winery was delicious and the staff were friendly and helpful. The three other wineries had knowledgeable and friendly staff telling us all about their wines. We tasted several varieties and they were delicious. Graham had a good rapport with each winery and took us into each of the tasting rooms.

We would certainly recommend this tour. We look forward to visiting Christchurch again and would contact Leisure Tours regarding the other tours they offer.
Written 2 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

T. Lynn
5 contributions
Jan 2020
This was a great introduction to the wineries near Christchurch, the tour was well planned and went around to four very different wineries. The shuttle picked us up at our hotel, and our tour included lunch at the first winery. Lunch was delicious - served outdoors on the winery grounds in a beautiful setting. The driver was friendly and knowledgeable about the region, the wines were tasty, and it was a great way to spend the afternoon. If you're looking for a half-day trip outside the city, and enjoy wine tasting, I recommend it.
Written 22 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterburyleisure
Thanks for the awesome review and recommendation! Our Waipara Wine Trail is growing into one of the most popular tours that we operate thanks to great reviews from people like yourselves. I really pleased you enjoyed yourself on your tour and I hope you get to visit the beautiful Waipara Valley again soon!
Written 3 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

William K
Island of Hawaii, HI6 contributions
The wine tour of the Waipara Valley was great fun. Four (4) wineries provided a very nice sampling of local varieties. The bus trip went by quickly and the volume of conversation increased as we left each wine tasting. Nice way to spend an afternoon. An added bonus was time spent at the Christchurch Museum.
Written 15 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterburyleisure
Thank you for the great review, William! I'm really pleased you had such a nice time on you Wine Trail Tour. It also sounds like you met some great fellow travellers on your trip and got to try some great wines. I hope you picked up a bottle or two of your favourites! Thanks again and I hope you get to visit Christchurch and Waipara again soon!
Written 25 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sally-Anne P
Durham, UK5 contributions
Feb 2020
Firstly, I was told pick up would be 11.55. The driver arrived without prior warning at 11.40 as there were several pick ups apparently. Unfortunately, we were not ready so it was still 11.55 when we left. Once on the bus we asked for water but were told there wasn’t any. On every other wine tour we have done in Australia and the US we have been provided with water. I think this is essential for such a trip and would strongly advise this is either provided or customers should be advised to bring their own.
The pick ups then took a whole hour, but apart from introducing one couple, there was no attempt by the driver to get the guests to introduce each other to the rest of the group. We arrived at the winery not 40 minute later as described in the information, but an hour later and in silence. We had by this time been squashed into a hot minibus for 2 HOURS and without water! To say I was ready to explode is an understatement.

The driver Craig was very nice but there was no live commentary at all as promised in the description. At each winery we were simple herded into the tasting room and left to our own devises. We weren’t told that lunch was at the first stop, although we had guessed this as by now it was after 2pm. Although the lunch was nice, it was certainly not worth £18 each. Also, the ‘wine pairing’ as advertised would indicate that a glass of wine would be provided with lunch. Again on other tours it has been the case but not on all, so I was prepared to pay. However, 4 members of the party didn’t realise they had to pay and the gentleman from the tasting room came running out to ask who hadn’t paid. This was embarrassing I’m sure for those people. The driver even said ‘so who hasn’t paid,,,” not very professional in my opinion.

By the time we left the first winery, Craig informed us we were 37 minutes behind schedule and so may have to miss the last place. After the second stop, he said he had made an executive decision and we wouldn’t make the 4th winery. Although I totally understood that, we had paid for 4 and it was not our fault that the delays occurred.

Overall, I did enjoy the day and Craig dropped us of second instead of last as he had indicated he might when asked in which order drop offs were occurring by another client. I am very grateful for this.

However, due to the overly long bus ride, no live commentary, no wine pairing and the reduced time at the wineries and only visiting 3 not 4, as well as a meal that was not worth the cost - I have asked for a partial refund. I have yet to receive any response from the company for my formal complaint. Would I recommend the tour - no I wouldn't. There is not enough time and the travel for such a short amount if time isn't worth it -unless you are lucky enough to be the last picked up and the first dropped off. I think the driver was a fill in as he offered no knowledge or commentary at all, unlike other drivers who have been mentioned. Not value for money.
Written 12 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterburyleisure
It is our intention to meet and where possible exceed our customers’ expectations and you will see by the host of other reviews for this tour that we continuously achieve this. What the reviewer has failed to mention is that she booked within hours of the tours departure and after all of the scheduled pick-ups had been advised. Due to the lateness of the booking and the location of her accommodation she was scheduled as the first pick up and the pick- up time of 11.55 was advised through the third party platform on which she booked, the driver simply arrived a few minutes early, as they always do so all the pick-ups are completed at the time the customers have been advised. On the day of travel there were only five other pick-ups and the drive time to the Waipara Wine Region is only 45 minutes from central Christchurch. We have not previously had any adverse comments with regard to the quality of the lunch and everybody is normally aware that although the tastings and lunch is included in the tour cost and additional wines which are consumed by the customers during lunch are not included and will need to be paid for.
Written 12 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Nathan T
Auckland, New Zealand2 contributions
Oct 2020
Had a superb day on the Waipara Wine Trail Afternoon Tour from Christchurch.
I would highly recommend this tour if you get the chance
We were the only 2x people on the tour that day so felt like a personalised tour, we were picked up by a excellent and friendly tour guide from our accommodation
We visited 4x great wineries to start Waipara Springs, for a wine tasting and a tasting platter to start (though would have been better explained what the platter was or what we were getting by staff there) which was quite busy when we arrived, we then went to Torlesse wines and had a nice time tasting the good variety of alcohol on offer (not just wine) with really friendly hosts and would recommend and then off to Terrace Edge Vineyard which was a little more formal but a lovely (organic I believe) vineyard, and was to finish at Pegasus Bay that had some great grammable opportunities with some beautiful gardens and grounds and a good variety of wines if understaffed when we went with one person serving everyone, but doing their best. though not included as part of the tour because we were making such great time being only the 2 of us we managed to fit in another vineyard Black Estate that were great and managed to fit us in for a quick fire tasting at the end of the day, and then driver dropped off at our accommodation. wonderful day had with good weather (if a little windy) and ended up with a suitcase full of wines for the trip home..
Written 5 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterburyleisure
Thank you for taking the time to submit such a detailed review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your tour so much and that you highly recommend this to others. I do hope you have the opportunity to visit this very special region of New Zealand again in the not too distant future.
Written 6 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Becky R
1 contribution
Dec 2019
Good wine, great lunch. Everyone was friendly. Enjoyed touring with a couple from Australia. The region is mostly white wine but still had refreshing whites. Would recommend for people who like white wines
Written 12 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterburyleisure
Thanks for the awesome review. It's great to hear you had such a nice time on your Waipara Wine Trail and that everyone you met was friendly. Waipara offer a variety of wines, but are most famous for their whites such as Riesling, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc. With that said they are also well known for their superior Pinot Noir wines as well, so the wineries has something for everyone! Thanks again and I hope you get to visit the New Zealand soon!
Written 15 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Storm Murphy
1 contribution
Mar 2022 • Friends
Graeme was excellent, very friendly, kept us on time and comfortable.
Bus/van was clean and spacious with air conditioning which was definitely an added bonus
Pick up was effecient and good communication throughout
I highly rate this tour and tasting and it was real value for money.
Lunch was a nice opportunity to mingle with other passengers and enjoy the great atmosphere and environment.
All and all a solid 10/10 from somebody not local who was looking to experience what Christchurch had to offer.
Written 6 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterburyleisure
Thank you for the review and I am pleased to learn how much you enjoyed you day and the experience. I do hope you have the opportunity to visit this region again at some future date
Written 7 March 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Leena V
1 contribution
Feb 2020 • Couples
We were the first to be picked up by Mark at Lichfild Street at bus interchange in Chch.To our big astonishment Mark met us in Finnish,our own language.After picking up the others we got a nice drive to Waipara where the lovely winerys were just waiting for us.Tasting of the different sorts of wine of the area was excellent,the sun was shining all the time and we all looked like to appreciate our wine tastings.We want especially thank our guide/driver Mark who was nice,professional and meeting all of us with respect.
We are completely satisfied with our Waipara Wine Afternoon,and we want one more time thank our kiwi guide Mark.He made our visit unforgettable.
Leena and Tauno from Finland
Written 13 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterburyleisure
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review of your recent Waipara Wine Trail from Christchurch. I'm really pleased you enjoyed the wineries and the wine tastings from this beautiful part of Canterbury. It's also great to hear that your driver/guide, Mark, made your tour of Waipara such an unforgettable one. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to him! Thanks again and I hope you get to visit Christchurch and Waipara again soon!
Written 18 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

TheAdmiralW
Sydney, Australia271 contributions
Mar 2020
I have been on many different wine tours and this was my first in New Zealand. The organisers did a great job and our driver was friendly. You start the day at Wiapara Springs lunch. The lunch was nothing to write home about and was a pretty basic food platter. Unfortunately, the drawback was the wine tasting expert. She has no enthusiasm and was pretty dry.

Next up was Greystones - interesting wines but yet again, the expert was a tad bland.

We next went to Wiapara Hills and this was the highlight. They have the best wine Expert in Dennis. He was excellent and completely entertaining.

Unfortunately, the wines at Pegasus are not to be recommended. The only saving grace for Pegasus are the grounds. I could have spent hours walking around looking at all the sculptures.

There are so many wineries in the south island that I would strongly recommend you have different wineries as part of the tour, perhaps in different days, but definitely keep Waipara Hills.

Overall, it was an enjoyable couple of hours.
Written 20 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterburyleisure
Thank you for your review and it is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the tour, especially your visit to Waipara Hills. I am sorry that you found the wines at Pegasus Bay Winery disappointing, out of the four wineries you visited Pegasus Bay has the most award winning wines.
Written 23 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Holly_2tubbycats
Brisbane, Australia358 contributions
Feb 2020
Picked up spot on time by Jude at the front of my hotel.

Comfy minivan with plenty of room and aircon very much appreciated on the beautiful 30deg day.

Only 4 of us plus Jude for the day, including another Solo traveller like myself.
Jude soon had us introduced and chatting and I dont think we stopped until the trip home.
Good selection of wineries and my favourites were Waipara Springs and Hills.
Great tastings and lovely experience.
The gardens at Pegasus were beautiful and worth a wander around.

The Waipara Scenery was amazing and so worth the tour to sit back relax, taste and enjoy a sunny afternoon.

Thank you Jude for such a great afternoon.
Written 3 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterburyleisure
Thanks for the great review, Holly. I'm pleased you had a lovely afternoon on your Waipara Wine Trail. It's also great to hear you enjoyed all the wineries as well as your driver/guide, Jude, and I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to her. Thanks again and I hope you return to Christchurch and Waipara again soon!
Written 11 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 78
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Leisure Tours
Bruce-Ange
Bruce-Ange
00
Awesome trip
Seeing the Hectors dolphins was the highlight of the trip but we enjoyed the entire trip. The van guide was knowle
Excursion794423
Excursion794423
00
Incredible tour highly recommended
Great day, fantastic vessel, highly recommended. Saw three whales, + all sortsof other marine ceratrures incredibl
Nicolas C
Nicolas C
00
Great Experience - Muy buena experiencia
It was the first time I was doing something like that and I love it. The environment was very nice, our driver guid
Happiertogive
Happiertogive
00
Excellent experience
Thank you Kevin for our wonderful day, and for going that extra mile to describe all of the surroundings to Charli
FinanceJeff
FinanceJeff
00
A Wine tour of 4 superb Waipara wineries
Canterbury Wine Tour. 4 superb wineries starting with Waipara Spings (included an individual platter to start the a
carolbI8720UU
carolbI8720UU
00
Private 6 Week Tour
I traveled with a group of 13 on a private prearranged itinerary for 6 weeks. Our air flights to both islands, coor
Becca P
Becca P
00
Trip of a lifetime!
We enjoyed an amazing tour of the South Island of NZ. Felt safe and well cared for. Terrific driver, Ian. Lovely ac
I1235TVbrianr
I1235TVbrianr
00
Awesome
Graham our driver was awesome. He was humble, friendly and approachable and most of all cared for us.
Travel34855117471
Travel34855117471
00
Beautiful day
What a beautiful spot. Had the best fish n chips in a very long time. Wonderful shops to brows through. Everyon
Travel34855117471
Travel34855117471
00
Amazing experience, i would highly recommend.
Well organized, lovely friendly and helpful staff. Onboard videos informative. Great trip got what we expected ev
Robert T
Robert T
00
Worth a look
Interesting kitchen area and a lovely outdoor area with a great vintage car. Friendly volunteers giving a great ed
Jamtraveltips
Jamtraveltips
00
Didn't really see a whole lot
Our full day, small group tour of Christchurch began in Akaroa and was given by Ian. It took us about an hour and
Camper715744
Camper715744
00
Giants House must see
We walked to the meeting spot once off the ship and boarded a small van. The van held about 15 people. We drove u
Sharon C
Sharon C
00
Waste of a Day
Although the bus left on time and we were aware of the travel time to Christchurch, we didn’t expect to have only
LynW207
LynW207
00
Akaroa & Surrounds
We were met ashore in Akaroa with a friendly welcome and to our surprise we were upgraded and we got to go to Chris
Frequently Asked Questions about Waipara Wine Trail Afternoon Tour from Christchurch

Waipara Wine Trail Afternoon Tour from Christchurch price starts from $121.21. Discover and book Waipara Wine Trail Afternoon Tour from Christchurch on Tripadvisor

Waipara Wine Trail Afternoon Tour from Christchurch cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Waipara Wine Trail Afternoon Tour from Christchurch on Tripadvisor

Waipara Wine Trail Afternoon Tour from Christchurch is hosted by Leisure Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Leisure Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Waipara Wine Trail Afternoon Tour from Christchurch on Tripadvisor

On average, this experience will take approximately 5h 30m. Discover and book Waipara Wine Trail Afternoon Tour from Christchurch on Tripadvisor