Tours and Tickets

Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga provided by Cruise Tours Tauranga

Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga

Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga
4.5
Book in advance
from
$101.54
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Multiple stops and photo opportunities around Rotorua
Duration:
6h
Group size:
16
Stroller accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
Less than an hour from Tauranga, Rotorua is renowned for its dramatic volcanic landscapes and rich Maori heritage. Take in all the highlights while in port in Tauranga on this shore excursion, including natural wonders such as Lake Rotorua, Sulphur Bay, and the Redwood Forest. Along the way, visit a kiwi orchard, see geysers and volcanic mud pools, and stroll through the beautiful Government Gardens.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 6h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Taste kiwi fruits and enjoy a foot bath in a natural thermal pool
  • Magnificent views of Lake Rotorua and Rotorua’s geothermal wonders
  • Worry-free shore excursion: guaranteed on-time return to your ship
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 6h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Taste kiwi fruits and enjoy a foot bath in a natural thermal pool
  • Magnificent views of Lake Rotorua and Rotorua’s geothermal wonders
  • Worry-free shore excursion: guaranteed on-time return to your ship
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 15629P2
Important information
Inclusions
  • Experienced professional guide
  • Fully Guided Tour with commentary
  • Port pickup and drop-off
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
Exclusions
  • Lunch
Duration
6h
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • The meeting point for passengers off the cruise ships is on the grass by the flag poll just outside the port pedestrian exit gate on Salisbury Avenue. If you are not travelling on a cruise ship then this is still the meeting point unless you have made an alternative arrangement with us.
  • 1 The Mall, Mount Maunganui 3116, New Zealand The meeting point for passengers off the cruise ships is on the grass by the flag poll just outside the port pedestrian exit gate on Salisbury Avenue. If you are not travelling on a cruise ship then this is still the meeting point unless you have made an alternative arrangement with us.
  • Ports:
  • Tauranga New Zealand
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Family friendly tour
  • Tour departure time may change due to early and/or late ship arrivals and departures
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately. We suggest layers with hats and sunscreen
  • You must provide your own infant/baby seat if required.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travellers
Inclusions
  • Experienced professional guide
  • Fully Guided Tour with commentary
  • Port pickup and drop-off
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
Exclusions
  • Lunch
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • The meeting point for passengers off the cruise ships is on the grass by the flag poll just outside the port pedestrian exit gate on Salisbury Avenue. If you are not travelling on a cruise ship then this is still the meeting point unless you have made an alternative arrangement with us.
  • 1 The Mall, Mount Maunganui 3116, New Zealand The meeting point for passengers off the cruise ships is on the grass by the flag poll just outside the port pedestrian exit gate on Salisbury Avenue. If you are not travelling on a cruise ship then this is still the meeting point unless you have made an alternative arrangement with us.
  • Ports:
  • Tauranga New Zealand
Duration
6h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Family friendly tour
  • Tour departure time may change due to early and/or late ship arrivals and departures
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately. We suggest layers with hats and sunscreen
  • You must provide your own infant/baby seat if required.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travellers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    1 The Mall
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Kuirau Park
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Sulphur Point
    Stop: 15 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Government Gardens
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 4
    Kiwifruit Country
    Stop: 15 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.5
49 reviews
Excellent
38
Very good
6
Average
3
Poor
0
Terrible
2

julia h
Sydney, Australia8 contributions
Jan 2020
The tour guide Garry was excellent at sharing his local knowledge with the group. Pick up from the cruise terminal was smooth and easy. No problem with finding the right bus. The places we were taken to - steaming lakes, bubbling mud and water, a park where we could dip our feet into a hot spring water bath, Redwood forest, kiwi farm, honey farm etc - a bit of everything so I felt we had time to see all the highlights in one day.It didn't feel rushed, just the right amount of time at each place because Garry has done it many times before.The small group meant it felt more personalised.
Garry also provided bottles of cold water because he knew we weren't allowed to bring any off the ship. That was much appreciated.
Written 22 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian-Holroyd
So pleased you had a great time with Garry. We try and show you as much as we can on our Rotorua Naturally tour without you having to pay big entry fees, so you get to see the real Rotorua. Regards Ian
Written 5 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Joy C
Culcheth, UK25 contributions
Mar 2020
this trip was ust what we were looking for. A small group and a small mini bus so very comfortable. the sites that we isted gave us an insite into life around the island. Garry S was great and managed the group perfectly he gave us enough information without being overlaoded. we enjoyed the redwood forrest and the hot springs and the waterfall was amazing. It was a great trip and well organized all round
Written 2 April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian-Holroyd
Thanks for your very positive feedback, its just what we needed given the difficult times we are now facing with tourism almost 100% on hold worldwide for the foreseeable future. Regards Ian
Written 3 April 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

cem44
Birmingham, AL81 contributions
Jan 2020
We took the full day tour and enjoyed it all. There was lots to see and do, but the most interesting part for us was the stop at the Kiwi fruit farm. The young man who took us around was in charge of the grove operations.and was extremely knowledgeable. We knew nothing about the growing and marketing of kiwi fruit when we arrived, but by the time he was finished, we felt as though we could hold our own in a discussion with almost anybody on the subject. It definitely increased our appreciation for the fruit.
Written 19 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian-Holroyd
Thank you for your kind comments and Gavin at Kiwifruit Country will be pleased also to know you enjoyed the visit to his small family run business, one that we like to support. Regards Ian
Written 27 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Chris-Bennett12
Hythe, UK53 contributions
Jan 2020
Our tour guide Garry went out of his way to make our tour as interesting as possible. He stopped off at an extra stop at the waterfalls to see the rafts and kayaks. The cedar forest and walk was nice, and when we were able to put our feet into the hot springs Garry had some towels to dry our feet. A very enjoyable day
Written 30 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian-Holroyd
Thanks for your very positive feedback, our team of guides all try to make your short time with us on tour as good as we can. Regards Ian
Written 31 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Helen S
Aspendale, Australia8 contributions
Jan 2020
Unfortunately I have to say although the tour was informative, our small mini bus was not up to standard.
There was no leg room which made the trip extremely uncomfortable. My knees were up against the back of the front seat throughout the whole day.
Written 22 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian-Holroyd
Hi, sorry that you found the leg room insufficient but there is not much we can do about the design of the coaches and minibuses we use. We have late model Ford Transit 16 passenger minibuses [none older than 2017] and Japanese ROSA 22 to 24 seat minibuses. Most clients find the travel experience fine and we do not usually travel for more than 45 minutes without taking a break. So given that almost all vehicles in NZ are of this type then we must assume that you will give any tour that you take just 3 stars. Perhaps you should focus more on the positives about the day you had with us, such as the great guide, the stunning scenery, interesting places visits and the great weather we have had here since November, rather than just finding a negative point to moan about. We can also not do anything about clients who are above average height. If this is your situation then maybe a private tour in a nice luxury sedan would have been a better option for you, but that costs a lot more than the $99 NZ you paid. We do have three Rolls Royce cars you perhaps would have been better to book. So sorry it was not 100% for you but we do all try our best to please all our clients. Regards Ian
Written 22 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

W6791ANdouglasc
Broomfield, United States4 contributions
Mar 2020 • Couples
Ended with app 20 in our 'small' group tour. That said, bus was adequate and our guide very good. Allow for mandatory commercial stops which we thought we would avoid.

Overall, enjoyed the sights - thermal features not on the scale of YNP but still very interesting and some quite different. Planted tree forests were really good as well. Many species including California redwoods commingled with giant ferns.
Written 19 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian-Holroyd
Thanks for your review. On some days we do have to use our 20-24 seater coaches to accommodate the many clients from the larger cruise ships who want to experience our excursions. We do have smaller vehicles for those who want smaller groups but then these are usually on the more expensive tours that for that reason are less popular. We try and balance group size with ticket costs so that we have a range of tour prices to suit. Certainly we do not run the big 50 seater coaches that the official cruise ship tours use. Not been to YNP yet myself so can not comment on how our geothermal sites compare, maybe one day after the global COVID-19 issues are resolved. Regards Ian
Written 21 April 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mindi S
San Antonio, TX45 contributions
I wouldn't call 24 people on an old small bus, a small group tour. The seats were uncomfortable and the front tires were bald. I felt unsafe on the roads in the pouring rain! The driver) guide said it wasn't one of their regular vehicles. We couldn't stop in the Redwoods because he couldn't find parking. He didn't have an organized plan for a lunch stop. He stopped on a corner with 2 lunch spots on one side and a few on the other. There was no crosswalk nearby. The folks that did cross the street were 10+ minutes late getting back to bus. Annoying! Us
Written 4 December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Triece A
2 contributions
Fantastic company to deal with and prior to leaving Australia I dealt with Karen the owner via email to arrange a tour that would suit and accommodate young children.
We had Wendy as our guide and Wendy was fantastic and very knowledgeable.

The day was spent in Rotorua and we all had a great day seeing the sites and learning about the NZ culture.

Even though the weather was very ordinary, that didn’t stop us all having a great time.

I recommend this company and if I ever come back to visit NZ, I will arrange another guided tour.

Thank you The Stevenson Family
Written 6 January 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

SueChewy22
Adelaide, Australia35 contributions
Feb 2018 • Friends
We were a couple of friends arriving on a cruise ship in Tauranga looking for a day tour to Rotorua. We were on a bus with a total of 16 passengers. Garry, our driver and guide, was very knowledgeable. He gave us a short tour of Tauranga and then on to a Kiwi Fruit farm for a short stop, including tastings. We then traveled to Rotorua and a tour of Te Puia thermal area. On our return journey Garry gave us a short tour of Rotorua township. Cruise Tours Tauranga were a pleasure to deal with, from emails prior to our cruise, right up until our return to the ship, which was in plenty of time for boarding. Highly recommend.
Written 25 February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Martyn Chapman
Brisbane, Australia37 contributions
Nov 2019
Small group tour, nice trip but comments are vehicle was uncomfortable and arrangements for lunch not the best, advise would be to make trip 30 mins longer allow more time for lunch with more possibilities. Our driver Gary S was very knowlegeable and gave interesting commentary throughout.
Written 2 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 49
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Cruise Tours Tauranga
JRTravelling1
JRTravelling1
00
Do not book with them
Tried contacting many times (via tripadvisor, email and phone can) prior to the trip to check if it was going ahead
Jasetoi12
Jasetoi12
00
Brilliant Tour
The tour provided by Paora was absolutely brilliant. Learning about how the local community lives and embraces its
NoPassportRequiredFL
NoPassportRequiredFL
00
Nice
Visited Rotorua Village and the Geothermal valley on the same day I think it was part of the glow worm tour (which
travelingauntie70
travelingauntie70
00
Garry excellent guide
Fabulous tour..Garry was very informative, entertaining,very knowledgeable..could go on..was great to have someone
Barbara Y
Barbara Y
00
Hobbiton is brilliant
This was an excellent day out. Keith, our driver and guide made everything easy for us. He was informative and help
LoveNewExperiences
LoveNewExperiences
00
A bit disappointing
I booked the Rotorua Living Maori Village Tour in advance of our New Zealand cruise for our stop in Tauranga. The
cashmcall
cashmcall
00
Full day seeing Tauranga and rotunda.
Great tour with guide gary stickler. Safe driver and very knowledgable. Full day and back on time to ship. Say ever
977christinew
977christinew
00
Missed tour
I didn’t get to go on this tour, I was directed to another bus and went on a different tour. I wasn’t asked for my
helenpP7451ZB
helenpP7451ZB
00
A great day in Tauranga
This tour booked as part of my cruise activity traveling on the Golden Princess, was a highlight of the trip. The d
smolly58
smolly58
00
Cruise ship excursion
Had a great day picked up and taken on a great day of new places.The Maori living village was a great experience a
auntieb007
auntieb007
00
village experience
We wanted to see Maori life in a real villiage. We were a bit rushed in the villiage and lunch is just a very quick
Nickyd1001
Nickyd1001
00
Maori Village Tour
We really enjoyed the cultural show at the Living Maori Village.. The singing and dancing was beautiful.. They are
PKEM
PKEM
00
A great day out
We did the Rotorua natural tour. We found locating and join the tour off our cruise ship very easy, plus had a reco
KD7152
KD7152
00
Very enjoyable
We booked a 6 hour tour from Tauranga and headed off as a small group of 8 with our host Gary S. I enjoyed seeing t
Kenneth H
Kenneth H
00
Interesting
A very good cultural experience with the added benefit of the geothermals and geysers. It included a short show of
Frequently Asked Questions about Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga

Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga will start at 9:30 AM. Discover and book Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga on Tripadvisor


Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga price starts from $103.16. Discover and book Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga on Tripadvisor

Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga on Tripadvisor