Tours and Tickets

Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga provided by Cruise Tours Tauranga

Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga

Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga
4.5
Book in advance
from $101.54 per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
About
Less than an hour from Tauranga, Rotorua is renowned for its dramatic volcanic landscapes and rich Maori heritage. Take in all the highlights while in port in Tauranga on this shore excursion, including natural wonders such as Lake Rotorua, Sulphur Bay, and the Redwood Forest. Along the way, visit a kiwi orchard, see geysers and volcanic mud pools, and stroll through the beautiful Government Gardens.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 6h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 6h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
Multiple stops and photo opportunities around Rotorua
Taste kiwi fruits and enjoy a foot bath in a natural thermal pool
Magnificent views of Lake Rotorua and Rotorua’s geothermal wonders
Worry-free shore excursion: guaranteed on-time return to your ship
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 15629P2
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
Experienced professional guide • Fully Guided Tour with commentary • Port pickup and drop-off • Air-conditioned vehicle
Exclusions
Lunch
Duration
6h
Departure details
Traveller pickup is offered.
The meeting point for passengers off the cruise ships is on the grass by the flag poll just outside the port pedestrian exit gate on Salisbury Avenue. If you are not travelling on a cruise ship then this is still the meeting point unless you have made an alternative arrangement with us.
1 The Mall, Bay of Plenty 3116, New Zealand The meeting point for passengers off the cruise ships is on the grass by the flag poll just outside the port pedestrian exit gate on Salisbury Avenue. If you are not travelling on a cruise ship then this is still the meeting point unless you have made an alternative arrangement with us.
Ports:
Tauranga New Zealand
Inclusions
Experienced professional guide • Fully Guided Tour with commentary • Port pickup and drop-off • Air-conditioned vehicle
Exclusions
Lunch
Departure details
Traveller pickup is offered.
The meeting point for passengers off the cruise ships is on the grass by the flag poll just outside the port pedestrian exit gate on Salisbury Avenue. If you are not travelling on a cruise ship then this is still the meeting point unless you have made an alternative arrangement with us.
1 The Mall, Bay of Plenty 3116, New Zealand The meeting point for passengers off the cruise ships is on the grass by the flag poll just outside the port pedestrian exit gate on Salisbury Avenue. If you are not travelling on a cruise ship then this is still the meeting point unless you have made an alternative arrangement with us.
Ports:
Tauranga New Zealand
Duration
6h
Return details
Returns to original departure point
Additional information
Confirmation will be received at time of booking
Family friendly tour
Tour departure time may change due to early and/or late ship arrivals and departures
Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately. We suggest layers with hats and sunscreen
You must provide your own infant/baby seat if required.
Not wheelchair accessible
Stroller accessible
Near public transportation
Most travellers can participate
This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travellers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    1 The Mall
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Kuirau Park
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Sulphur Point
    Stop: 15 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Government Gardens
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 4
    Kiwifruit Country
    Stop: 15 minutes
    See details
  • You'll end at
    1 The Mall
    1 The Mall, Bay of Plenty 3116, New Zealand
    The meeting point for passengers off the cruise ships is on the grass by the flag poll just outside the port pedestrian exit gate on Salisbury Avenue. If you are not travelling on a cruise ship then this is still the meeting point unless you have made an alternative arrangement with us.
    See address & details
+
Popular mentions

4.5
49 reviews
Excellent
38
Very good
6
Average
3
Poor
0
Terrible
2

Nancy S
Evergreen, Colorado, United States26 contributions
Tauranga into Rotorua with much info and fun along the way
Mar 2020
Gary Stickler, our guide, was most informative and helpful...answering a myriad of questions. The drive was delightful as we passed from Tauranga to Rotorua, w/ great stops along the way.
Written 18 April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian-Holroyd
Thank you for your review, just the ting we need now that we are fighting this pesky COVID-19 virus. To get through we have repurposed some of our staff and vehicles to assist with home food deliveries for our local supermarket. Your guide Gary is just one of our great team who volunteered his services. Quite a change from showing our visitors around our region of NZ but still rewarding for us as a company to be doing some good in these very stressful times. Regards Ian
Written 21 April 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joy C
Culcheth, UK24 contributions
Very Enjoyable
Mar 2020
this trip was ust what we were looking for. A small group and a small mini bus so very comfortable. the sites that we isted gave us an insite into life around the island. Garry S was great and managed the group perfectly he gave us enough information without being overlaoded. we enjoyed the redwood forrest and the hot springs and the waterfall was amazing. It was a great trip and well organized all round
Written 2 April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian-Holroyd
Thanks for your very positive feedback, its just what we needed given the difficult times we are now facing with tourism almost 100% on hold worldwide for the foreseeable future. Regards Ian
Written 3 April 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

W6791ANdouglasc
Broomfield, United States4 contributions
Small ? Group Tour
Mar 2020 • Couples
Ended with app 20 in our 'small' group tour. That said, bus was adequate and our guide very good. Allow for mandatory commercial stops which we thought we would avoid.

Overall, enjoyed the sights - thermal features not on the scale of YNP but still very interesting and some quite different. Planted tree forests were really good as well. Many species including California redwoods commingled with giant ferns.
Written 19 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian-Holroyd
Thanks for your review. On some days we do have to use our 20-24 seater coaches to accommodate the many clients from the larger cruise ships who want to experience our excursions. We do have smaller vehicles for those who want smaller groups but then these are usually on the more expensive tours that for that reason are less popular. We try and balance group size with ticket costs so that we have a range of tour prices to suit. Certainly we do not run the big 50 seater coaches that the official cruise ship tours use. Not been to YNP yet myself so can not comment on how our geothermal sites compare, maybe one day after the global COVID-19 issues are resolved. Regards Ian
Written 21 April 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

cem44
Birmingham, AL81 contributions
The kiwi fruit farm was the highlight of the tour!
Jan 2020
We took the full day tour and enjoyed it all. There was lots to see and do, but the most interesting part for us was the stop at the Kiwi fruit farm. The young man who took us around was in charge of the grove operations.and was extremely knowledgeable. We knew nothing about the growing and marketing of kiwi fruit when we arrived, but by the time he was finished, we felt as though we could hold our own in a discussion with almost anybody on the subject. It definitely increased our appreciation for the fruit.
Written 19 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian-Holroyd
Thank you for your kind comments and Gavin at Kiwifruit Country will be pleased also to know you enjoyed the visit to his small family run business, one that we like to support. Regards Ian
Written 27 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Marie P
Gowanstown Ontario68 contributions
A Great Tour with Garry!
Jan 2020 • Friends
We just finished our full day tour with Garry - a great tour guide - easy to understand and very knowledgeable. We saw so many things on this tour but the highlights were the kiwi orchards and the thermal lake and bubbling mud pits -WOW! We booked our tour through Viator and Cruise Tours Tauranga was the provider. Everything was so smooth and exactly according to plan. Thanks again to Garry for a great day!
Written 1 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian-Holroyd
Hi Marie, thank you for your very positive review, Garry will be so happy to see that you enjoyed your time on tour with us. Some clients are nervous to book an independent tour [not with the cruise line] but with 20 years of providing shore excursions there is no worry booking direct with us, regards Ian
Written 4 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Chris-Bennett12
Hythe, UK47 contributions
Excellent tour
Jan 2020
Our tour guide Garry went out of his way to make our tour as interesting as possible. He stopped off at an extra stop at the waterfalls to see the rafts and kayaks. The cedar forest and walk was nice, and when we were able to put our feet into the hot springs Garry had some towels to dry our feet. A very enjoyable day
Written 30 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian-Holroyd
Thanks for your very positive feedback, our team of guides all try to make your short time with us on tour as good as we can. Regards Ian
Written 31 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Helen S
Aspendale, Australia8 contributions
The tour guide Gerry was informative , our pick up point was well organised.
Jan 2020
Unfortunately I have to say although the tour was informative, our small mini bus was not up to standard.
There was no leg room which made the trip extremely uncomfortable. My knees were up against the back of the front seat throughout the whole day.
Written 22 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian-Holroyd
Hi, sorry that you found the leg room insufficient but there is not much we can do about the design of the coaches and minibuses we use. We have late model Ford Transit 16 passenger minibuses [none older than 2017] and Japanese ROSA 22 to 24 seat minibuses. Most clients find the travel experience fine and we do not usually travel for more than 45 minutes without taking a break. So given that almost all vehicles in NZ are of this type then we must assume that you will give any tour that you take just 3 stars. Perhaps you should focus more on the positives about the day you had with us, such as the great guide, the stunning scenery, interesting places visits and the great weather we have had here since November, rather than just finding a negative point to moan about. We can also not do anything about clients who are above average height. If this is your situation then maybe a private tour in a nice luxury sedan would have been a better option for you, but that costs a lot more than the $99 NZ you paid. We do have three Rolls Royce cars you perhaps would have been better to book. So sorry it was not 100% for you but we do all try our best to please all our clients. Regards Ian
Written 22 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

julia h
Sydney 8 contributions
A really great way to see the main sites. Highly recommended.
Jan 2020
The tour guide Garry was excellent at sharing his local knowledge with the group. Pick up from the cruise terminal was smooth and easy. No problem with finding the right bus. The places we were taken to - steaming lakes, bubbling mud and water, a park where we could dip our feet into a hot spring water bath, Redwood forest, kiwi farm, honey farm etc - a bit of everything so I felt we had time to see all the highlights in one day.It didn't feel rushed, just the right amount of time at each place because Garry has done it many times before.The small group meant it felt more personalised.
Garry also provided bottles of cold water because he knew we weren't allowed to bring any off the ship. That was much appreciated.
Written 22 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian-Holroyd
So pleased you had a great time with Garry. We try and show you as much as we can on our Rotorua Naturally tour without you having to pay big entry fees, so you get to see the real Rotorua. Regards Ian
Written 5 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Frances K
Toowoomba, Australia12 contributions
Great day out
Jan 2020 • Couples
Gary S was a great driver & guide. Very knowledgeable but did not overwhelm with information & talking. His passion for the area is evident & it added to the experience

Highly recommended
Written 11 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian-Holroyd
Pleased you enjoyed Gary's tour recently, we love showing our clients around the stunning scenery of New Zealand. We try and keep a balance on how much info we give. Regards Ian
Written 13 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

cloined
Rocky Mountain House, Canada16 contributions
Rotorua Excursion - Red wood forest, Kiwi farm, Bubbling mud & more!
Dec 2019
Had a fantastic tour with Richard. A small group tour, we were able to move easily to different locations throughout our day. Richard's knowledge of the area & Maori culture was shared throughout our tour. We visitted a geothermal area, saw bubbling mud & soaked our feet in a hot pool. A visit to the Red Wood Forest & a Kiwi farm where we learned & sampled Kiwi fruit was amazing. Pick up & drop off mindful of cruise ship required time frame. Thank you for the enjoyable day...water was very appreciated!
Written 30 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian-Holroyd
Thank you for the review, Richard will be happy to know you enjoyed his tour. Regards Ian
Written 9 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 49
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Cruise Tours Tauranga
NoPassportRequiredFL
NoPassportRequiredFL
00
Nice
Visited Rotorua Village and the Geothermal valley on the same day I think it was part of the glow worm tour (which
travelingauntie70
travelingauntie70
00
Garry excellent guide
Fabulous tour..Garry was very informative, entertaining,very knowledgeable..could go on..was great to have someone
Barbara Y
Barbara Y
00
Hobbiton is brilliant
This was an excellent day out. Keith, our driver and guide made everything easy for us. He was informative and help
LoveNewExperiences
LoveNewExperiences
00
A bit disappointing
I booked the Rotorua Living Maori Village Tour in advance of our New Zealand cruise for our stop in Tauranga. The
cashmcall
cashmcall
00
Full day seeing Tauranga and rotunda.
Great tour with guide gary stickler. Safe driver and very knowledgable. Full day and back on time to ship. Say ever
977christinew
977christinew
00
Missed tour
I didn’t get to go on this tour, I was directed to another bus and went on a different tour. I wasn’t asked for my
helenpP7451ZB
helenpP7451ZB
00
A great day in Tauranga
This tour booked as part of my cruise activity traveling on the Golden Princess, was a highlight of the trip. The d
smolly58
smolly58
00
Cruise ship excursion
Had a great day picked up and taken on a great day of new places.The Maori living village was a great experience a
auntieb007
auntieb007
00
village experience
We wanted to see Maori life in a real villiage. We were a bit rushed in the villiage and lunch is just a very quick
Nickyd1001
Nickyd1001
00
Maori Village Tour
We really enjoyed the cultural show at the Living Maori Village.. The singing and dancing was beautiful.. They are
PKEM
PKEM
00
A great day out
We did the Rotorua natural tour. We found locating and join the tour off our cruise ship very easy, plus had a reco
KD7152
KD7152
00
Very enjoyable
We booked a 6 hour tour from Tauranga and headed off as a small group of 8 with our host Gary S. I enjoyed seeing t
Kenneth H
Kenneth H
00
Interesting
A very good cultural experience with the added benefit of the geothermals and geysers. It included a short show of
cathd340
cathd340
00
Rotorua Discovery Te Puia Tour
This was an extremely interesting place to visit. We enjoyed the mud pools, geysers and Maori ceremonys and dancing
fjknik
fjknik
00
Jim, owner/operator of Archer Tours was fabulous
We had the privilege to do a 6-7 hour tour with Jim Archer who owns and operators Archer Tours from Mt Maunganui to
Frequently Asked Questions about Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga

Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga will start at 9:30 AM. Discover and book Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga on Tripadvisor


Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga price starts from $102.48. Discover and book Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga on Tripadvisor

Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Full-Day Small-Group Rotorua Shore Excursion From Tauranga on Tripadvisor