Tours and Tickets

Hell's Gate Mud Bath & Spas provided by Hell's Gate Geothermal Reserve & Mud Spa

Hell's Gate Mud Bath & Spas

Hell's Gate Mud Bath & Spas
4
Book in advance
from
$79.00
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
Chinese, Japanese, English, Chinese, French
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
Chinese, Japanese, English, Chinese, French
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
Experience the healing and rejuvenating powers of the world-famous mud baths and Sulphur Spas at Hell’s Gate. Open and clean your skin by lathering it in our unique mud, before cleansing with a soak in the sulphur spa. Your body and soul will feel revitalised after this soothing experience. Towels & swimwear can be hired at reception on arrival, or you are more than welcome to bring your own.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 27395P2
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
Bathe in Mud Bath & Sulphur Spas • Complimentary Shuttle Service (Bookings Essential)
Exclusions
Food and drinks • Swimwear and Towels available to hire onsite
Duration
2h
Departure details
351 State Highway 30, Tikitere, Rotorua 3074, New Zealand Hell's Gate is located just outside of Rotorua's city centre. From the city simply travel east on State Highway 30. At approximately 5 minutes past the airport, you will turn right towards Whakatane. Hell's Gate is 3kms down this road.
Inclusions
Bathe in Mud Bath & Sulphur Spas • Complimentary Shuttle Service (Bookings Essential)
Exclusions
Food and drinks • Swimwear and Towels available to hire onsite
Departure details
351 State Highway 30, Tikitere, Rotorua 3074, New Zealand Hell's Gate is located just outside of Rotorua's city centre. From the city simply travel east on State Highway 30. At approximately 5 minutes past the airport, you will turn right towards Whakatane. Hell's Gate is 3kms down this road.
Duration
2h
Return details
Returns to original departure point
Additional information
Confirmation will be received at time of booking
Wheelchair accessible
Operating days and hours may vary, please see the Hell’s Gate website for latest updates and last entrance times.
We recommend that women do not use our bathing facilities whilst pregnant. However, it is an individual’s choice and we recommend that you seek advice from your health professional if you are wanting to bathe.
Not recommended for travelers with heart problems or other serious medical conditions
The minimum age for the Mud Bath is 2.5 years, and for the Sulphur Spa is 6 months.
Children are considered those aged 5 -15. Under 4s are free when accompanied by a paying adult.
Most travellers can participate
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Popular mentions

4.0
60 reviews
Excellent
26
Very good
15
Average
13
Poor
5
Terrible
1

Flossy L
Rotorua, New Zealand5 contributions
Destroys jewellery even 3 weeks later
The pools themselves were awesome and it was very relaxing. But three weeks later, any piece of my jewellery i put on is still being tarnished. My 14 karat solid gold bangles and necklaces are orange in colour and all my silver has gone black. My plated (gold plated or silver plated) jewellery is irreparable. It’s ruined hundreds of dollars worth. I didn’t wear my jewellery in the spas and I didn’t put it back on until a week after the spa (they said wait 24 hrs) I’ll just have to wait for my skin to stop leaching the minerals and sulphur so my jewellery stops being destroyed. I would not have gone if i knew this would happen and would continue to happen for 3+ weeks afterwards
Written 3 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ankit
New Zealand19 contributions
Above Average Experience
Aug 2021
The location of the place is some 15-20 min drive from Rotorua city central. By looking at the brochure the place looks grand, big and surreal and therefore our expectation was high. However, the place is like any other geothermal spas & walks. The only different is the mud spa experience which can be enjoyed for 20 min.

I will recommend this only if you would like to enjoy mud spa. The best time is off peak as they have only 3 mud pools. one smaller and 2 bigger. The geothermal spa's pool temperature was not high but was comfortable.
Written 15 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

JoanieV1969
Auckland, New Zealand60 contributions
So Relaxing!
Aug 2021 • Family
We did the mud and spa twilight experience! It was super relaxing and an amazing experience! Loved the mud bath!
Written 8 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora JoanieV1969, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us, we are so pleased you had an amazing experience at Hell's Gate! The twilight spa is the perfect way to unwind under the stars, and our sulphurous mud and waters will leave you feeling relaxed and smooth. We hope to see you again soon! Ngā mihi, The Hell's Gate Team
Written 10 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MrsBradley
Wellington, New Zealand27 contributions
Must do!!
The mud pool experience is awesome, together with the plunge pool and hot pools, this is a must do. Staff are friendly and helpful. Facilities are clean and just overall a fantastic experience.
Written 2 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora TheOnlyMrsBradley, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us, we are so pleased you had a fantastic experience at Hell's Gate! We work really hard to provide the best possible customer experience and are happy to see you received this through our friendly and helpful staff, clean facilities and our unique spa experience. We would love to have you back again sometime soon! Ngā mihi, The Hell's Gate Team
Written 10 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Happy Travels at Felicity 888
Auckland, New Zealand55 contributions
Amazing Place & People
Jul 2021 • Family
The staff and the place were amazing. We requested for a change in our booking time due to the bad weather condition and the staff kindly allowed us. The mud baths & spas are truly rejuvenating. The only downside is the acrid smell of sulphur that stuck on our swimming clothes and towels even after several washes. In general, our group had a delightful experience at Hell's Gate. We would definitely go back.
Written 26 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora Ruthie0819, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us, we are so pleased you had an amazing experience at Hell's Gate. The geothermal mud and waters have many healing benefits, including leaving you feeling rejuvenated and refreshed after your experience. The sulphur smell can sometimes be stubborn, however we hope that cloudy ammonia or scented washing powder has helped to remove the smell. We would love to have you back again sometime soon! Ngā mihi, The Hell's Gate Team
Written 31 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Belinda
2 contributions
A good one off experience
Jul 2021 • Friends
The pools were nice and relaxing. The staff were really nice and friendly! However the price is unfair for what you get. The bathroom/changing area was veeery basic. The car park/entrance area was a bit untidy. The pools were nice but for that money the expectations were a bit higher than the experience. A great one off visit!
Written 24 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora 933belinda21, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we work really hard to provide the best possible customer service and are happy you received this through our friendly staff and our relaxing pools. We are sorry however to hear that you feel your experience did not meet your expectations. During the school holidays we see an increase in the number of people coming through, and sometimes this can create some untidiness in the car park. While we try our best to get out there and check it as often as possible, our team has decreased since Covid and sometimes we are unable to. We also try to keep our changing rooms and buildings as natural to the surrounding environment as possible. Your feedback is appreciated and helps us to identify areas we can improve our visitor experience. Ngā mihi, The Hell's Gate Team
Written 31 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Shelly S
Auckland7 contributions
Mud spa is a must
Jun 2021 • Couples
Fav part was mud spa/bath in the mud pool. Skin actually felt soft and clean afterwards. Definitely going again next time.
Written 26 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora Shelley S, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us, it made our day! Our geothermal mud definitely has many healing benefits, including leaving the skin feeling brand new. We look forward to seeing you at Hell's Gate again soon! Ngā mihi, The Hell's Gate
Written 10 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

FayZaar
2 contributions
First time and not the last!
Jun 2021
We did the Geothermal walk, Mud Bath and Spa experience - it was amazing and I will be visiting again on my next trip to New Zealand. My skin felt so clean and smooth after the mud bath and the spa was a perfect finish. Loved it!!!!!
Written 22 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora FayFayZaar, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us, we are so pleased you enjoyed your experience at Hell's Gate! The reserve walk is perfect for viewing the geothermal mud and water in its natural environment before bathing in it and receiving its many benefits, including leaving the skin feeling clean and smooth. We look forward to seeing you at Hell's gate again sometime soon! Ngā mihi, The Hell's Gate Team
Written 26 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Howard L
Caringbah, Australia20 contributions
Best natural thermal spa I’ve ever been so far.
The water temperature was just right, open pools were warm even during rain.
A bit small but otherwise extremely happy.
Written 17 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora leeho730, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us, we are so pleased you had a great time at Hell's Gate! We would love to have you back again sometime soon! Ngā mihi, The Hell's Gate Team
Written 26 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

zoe r
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution
Worth one visit
Jun 2021 • Family
Overall it was fun and a nice experience. However I wouldn’t do it again. The price for experience didn’t really correlate for me. Also felt there was a lot of missed opportunities in regards to the cafe and gift shop - neither were very appealing.
Not sure why there was no facilities for families, ended up passing bags and clothes back and forth from the men’s and women’s changing rooms. Also nowhere to dry your hair after you shower. Shower also not great.
I don’t think the mud bath and sulphur pools was very well explained. Expected more.
But a beautiful setting and a lovely mud bathing experience. Staff were good.
Written 14 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora zoer975, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we are so pleased you had a fun and nice experience at Hell's Gate. Bathing while overlooking the geothermal reserve truly is an unique experience, and we work really hard to provide the best possible customer service and are happy to see that was reflected in your visit. We are however sorry to hear that you did not feel your experience was value for money, and that the cafe and souvenir shop did not appeal to you in this instance. Your feedback is appreciated and helps us identify areas we can improve our visitor experience. Ngā mihi, The Hell's Gate Team
Written 26 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 57
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Hell's Gate Geothermal Reserve & Mud Spa
467KiwiCaroline
467KiwiCaroline
00
Relaxing sulphur soak
I enjoyed a very warm sulphur soak in the sulphur pools. It's an outdoor setting and I soaked up the September sun
Nigel H
Nigel H
00
Fantastic thermal area just outside Rotorua
There are two thermal areas, one close to the facility and one further away. Both contain amazing thermal features
Jody G
Jody G
00
Natural thermal area
A great location to walk a track amongst bubbling mud eruptions and sulphur pools. Have a mud bathing experience fo
Leeannrud
Leeannrud
00
Enjoyable
The back drop in this place is absolutely beautiful! The mud is great and you feel very relaxed afterwards. Unfortu
gilazot
gilazot
00
Experience to remember
Very relaxing place, staff are friendly and professional. Our experience is superb! Highly Recommended
cquino
cquino
00
Relaxing experience
It was an awesome experience.. felt relax after a long drive and would definitely recommend this to our friends..
H H
H H
00
Fantastic facility that I am looking forward to visiting again soon
I have not been the Mud Spa in at least a decade and can say that it has been fully renovated and is an exceptional
leighkruger04
leighkruger04
00
Stinky Sulpher
Lovely experience. However I have been doing washing since we got back, the sulpher has gotten into all our clothes
claire46750
claire46750
00
Fun but pricey
Great staff, lovely surroundings and a unique experience, but a little pricey. Cost us $200 for the family, and unf
Gaurav_Jadhav
Gaurav_Jadhav
00
Excellent Experience, Must do in Rotorua
The place is amazing, the experience is amazing. Every single person from the time you enter Hell's Gate till the t
Navigator65461194117
Navigator65461194117
00
Great way to wrap up a family holiday
The entire family has enjoyed the experience at Hell's Gate. Friendly staff, and exactly as described on their webs
bonnie2021sch
bonnie2021sch
00
relaxing experience with lovely staff
we had a lovely first time experience, booked online and had no issues. the staff were all really nice, and gave us
charlotte00625
charlotte00625
00
Great experience
Great experience, it was raining tho, it would have been good if the covers were a bit better as they dropped on us
annehely1
annehely1
00
Relaxing bliss
Very relaxing to sit in the pools both mud and thermal in beautiful surroundings. Very friendly and helpful staff.
ATaylorNZ
ATaylorNZ
00
A nice spot but overpriced for what it is
Would be nice if there was group discounts not just family. Staff were friendly, enjoyed the experience in the even
Frequently Asked Questions about Hell's Gate Mud Bath & Spas

Hell's Gate Mud Bath & Spas price starts from $80.78. Discover and book Hell's Gate Mud Bath & Spas on Tripadvisor

Hell's Gate Mud Bath & Spas cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Hell's Gate Mud Bath & Spas on Tripadvisor

Hell's Gate Mud Bath & Spas is hosted by Hell's Gate Geothermal Reserve & Mud Spa. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Hell's Gate Geothermal Reserve & Mud Spa on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Hell's Gate Mud Bath & Spas on Tripadvisor

On average, this experience will take approximately 2h. Discover and book Hell's Gate Mud Bath & Spas on Tripadvisor