Tours and Tickets

Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland with Options - Guaranteed departure provided by FlexiToursNZ

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland with Options - Guaranteed departure

Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this experience is taking.Read more
Select Date and Travellers
From
$278.98
Date
2 adults
Options
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during this experience
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Hand sanitizer available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Updated 03/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland with Options - Guaranteed departure
If you are feeling unwell, please re-schedule or give us a call.
Read more
Updated 03/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Overview
Rotorua is one of the most visited towns on the North Island, famous for its geothermal activity and rich Maori heritage. On this tour, take in all the highlights on a day trip from Auckland, including the Maori Arts and Crafts Institute of Te Puia, the Te Whakarewarewa Geothermal Valley, and a guided tour of Rotorua.
Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    New Zealand Maori Arts and Crafts Institute
    Stop: 30 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Lake Rotorua
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Te Puia
    Stop: 3 hours - Admission included
    See details
+
Highlights
  • Optional extras: Waiotapu Thermal Wonderland, Maori concert, or Polynesian Spa
  • Small group tour with a maximum of 15 people
  • Great value: includes hotel pickup, lunch, and entrance fees
  • Choice of round-trip or one-way transport from Auckland
What to Expect
After pickup from your Auckland hotel, set out on the drive to Rotorua, traveling by air-conditioned minivan and enjoy scenic views of the Waikato countryside. On arrival, the first stop of the day is Te Puia and the Maori Arts and Crafts Institute, where you can watch demonstrations of Maori handicrafts and gain an insight into Maori culture and traditions. Continue to the Te Whakarewarewa Geothermal Valley to discover Rotorua’s otherworldly geothermal landscapes, including bubbling mud pools, steaming fumaroles, and the Pohutu Geyser. After lunch at a local restaurant, take a guided tour of Rotorua, stopping to admire views of Rotorua Lake and the Government Gardens. Then, either enjoy free time to explore the city independently or upgrade to include a visit to the Waiotapu Thermal Wonderland, a relaxing soak in the Polynesian Spa thermal springs, or a Maori concert. Depending on the tour option chosen, either end your tour in Rotorua or return to Auckland, where you are dropped back at your hotel.
Show More
Important Information
Duration
13h
Inclusions
  • Cafe Lunch - (vegetarian and gluten free options available)
  • Live commentary on board given by experienced guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off and other meeting points by arrangement including private addresses in the central metropolitan area
  • Small-group tour Transport in air-conditioned minibus with luxury leather seating
  • Local taxes
  • Entry/Admission - New Zealand Maori Arts and Crafts Institute
  • Entry/Admission - Te Puia
Exclusions
  • Morning and afternoon tea available at own expense
  • Infant meals not included
  • Gratuities
  • Please note that because of the amount of travel time this tour is not suitable for children under 2 years as part of the group - It can be booked as a private tour - please ask TripAdvisor/Viator to contact us for the custom price
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Infant seats are required by law in NZ in private vehicles for children under 7 years - We recommend the same standard be applied for your child's safety and have them available in all vehicles for use of seat and child restraint for the day.
  • Infant meals not included
  • Please note that because of the amount of travel time this tour is not suitable for children under 2 years as part of the group - It can be booked as a private tour - please ask TripAdvisor/Viator to contact us for the custom Tour price
  • We must know where you are staying in Auckland - We do not have a standard meeting place and go only to prearranged hotels and places to meet people
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult - note must be over 2 years old to be on group vehicle
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Hotel or Accomodation information
  • Pickup address
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
57Reviews
7Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 3
  • 3
  • 0
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Kimi Browne wrote a review Feb 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand75 contributions10 helpful votes
+3
Jafa here, 24th January was my birthday and decided to spend time in Rotorua for the day. It was a bloody hot day but I really enjoyed exploring both Waiotapu Thermal Wonderland and Te Puia which came with free buffet lunch... yum yum!! Then, we did brief Rotoroa Lake and City
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from FlexiToursNZ, General Manager at Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland with Options - Guaranteed departure
Responded 29 Feb 2020
I am glad you enjoyed your day. You were corect the 3 seasts in the rear of each coach are wide - Most coaches have for seats accross the back and we have deliberately chosen to pout 3 wider seats, so everybody of any size can find a seat to be comfortable. I am not sure why you were held up when waiting for your final driver as the timing normally works really well. but I glad we helped make your birthday special nad you enjoyed the lunch
Read more
Claudia R wrote a review Jan 2020
35 contributions15 helpful votes
FlexiTours is all about the guest and what a person wants to see and do vs a standard cookie cutter tour, though you can chose those as well. I had booked a last minute tour less than 24 hours before departure from Auckland to Rotorua, then on to the Auckland Airport for my
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from FlexiToursNZ, Sales and marketing executive at Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland with Options - Guaranteed departure
Responded 16 Jan 2020
Thankyou for your great review! I’m glad you enjoyed your day with us. Our aim is to ensure you have the best day possible! Thankyou for your kind words about our drivers I will let them all know. We look forward to having you travel with us again in the future. Kind regards, Serhan
Read more
Geminican wrote a review Dec 2019
San Jose, California1,681 contribution410 helpful votes
12 -13 hours end to end from Auckland. Visited three places. We didn't stop by Rotorua town per say, drove through it. We spent 100 minutes in the Waiotapu Thermal Wonderland, wish we had more time. 90 minutes to complete all 3 walks are still a bit rushed. Then we headed to
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from FlexiToursNZ1, General Manager at Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland with Options - Guaranteed departure
Responded 7 Jan 2020
I am sorry you did not feel you had enough time - but one day tours are by there very nature, a compromise - We get people like your self who wanted more time and quite a lot who come out of Te Puia or Waiotapu after 30 minutes and say - that was interesting - where to now. We offer overnight tours with a range of accomodation from Luxury 5 star hotels to Backpacker dorms to suit everyone's budget. We recommend that anyone wanting a more in depth experience to book a 2 or 3 day tour Thankyou for commenting on our organisation and courteous drivers
Read more
cookiecrzdmama wrote a review Nov 2019
4 contributions
My husband and I choose the Polynesian Spa and Te Puia option. For the Te Puia portion we were placed in a large group for a guided tour. We could not hear a single thing. The tour is also not long enough to explore a lot of really pretty areas of the park. Overall, my husband
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from FlexiToursNZ1, General Manager at Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland with Options - Guaranteed departure
Responded 28 Nov 2019
I find this review interesting - but feel you perhaps did not research before you travelled - All our clients are offered the opportunity of joining the guided tour at Te Puia -or to explore on your own - and most people who book the Polynesian spa love the natural rock pool setting. The admission fee to the Lake spa is $55 per person - we only charge you what they charge us and do not add any cost for transporting you to and from There was an option not to add extra activities and to have some time explore on your own or have extra time in Te Puia. I hope you enjoyed relaxing and looking at the scenery as you drove to and from Rotroua and also the buffet lunch at Te Puia - I am sorry you did not totally enjoy your day and the choices you made
Read more
Manuel V wrote a review Nov 2019
Porto, Portugal24 contributions5 helpful votes
Despite the morning rain we had a wonderfull experience, with a great guide (Derrell) that made our time on the road a whole much better with a fantastic Kiwi historical insigths! A nice visit with a great lunch at Te Pai and a surprising Wai-o-Tapu visit!! Great Flexi team!!
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from FlexiToursNZ, Assistant Manager at Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland with Options - Guaranteed departure
Responded 13 Nov 2019
Hi, Thanks for the great review and appreciate the great comments of Darryl i will be sure to pass this onto him directly. Great to hear that you enjoyed Te Puia and Waiotapu looking forward to you traveling again with us in the future. Regards, Daniel
Read more
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: FlexiToursNZ
anthonystewarth
anthonystewarth
00
Brilliant Excursion
A brilliant trip from the guides to the actual locations which were stunning in everyway. Everything was done with
irishmozo
irishmozo
00
Flexi Tour gives the best experience in New Zealand
Flexi tour is our first travel agency here in NZ and they definitely exceed our expectations. Coming from overseas,
rcsanchez30
rcsanchez30
00
Flexi tour provides more than a service.
First of all I want to say a huge thank you for my successful engagement proposal to my long time partner at Hobbit
JacintaM2021
JacintaM2021
00
Personalized Wine Tasting Tour
I contacted Flexi Tours with a vague idea of wanting a some transport for a wine tour for a small group of people f
Joan G
Joan G
00
Fantastic tour guide.
I took the afternoon trip. The day was wonderful, the pick up from our location was a great idea, no need to find
Marzi_Waanders
Marzi_Waanders
00
Relaxing and fun
It was a fantastic tour! Hobbiton and Spellbound caves were incredible and a must have for any tourist or local. Ou
Zimbobod
Zimbobod
00
Last minute trip to the snow
Lovely to deal with, met our exact needs and communication was excellent. Even contacted to make sure our stay had
nand185
nand185
00
Strongly recommend for famliy trip planning and organize!
FlexiTour help me to organize an 8 days trip to South island with two familys, total 8 people. They plan and book a
egb11ao
egb11ao
00
Awesome day out - thank you!
FlexiTours really live up to their name! We rang up and spoke to Phillipa, she was so helpful and had the perfect t
Vanita18
Vanita18
00
Wonderful and would recommend to others
The whole tour was very well organised and I did not face any difficulty. Darrell is not only an amazing driver but
diakino
diakino
00
Amazing and Unforgettable Experience
My partner and I did the Hobbiton and Glowworm Cave Tour from Rotorua on 15 August 2020. This was in the middle of
SophieDColombes
SophieDColombes
00
Best bus tour ever
Amazing Tours ! I don't drive and I ravel alone so i did a lot of bus tour around the world. This one is by far the
AppleStud
AppleStud
00
Fantastic combined visits
Early morning pickup at hotels are a great benefit but be on time....one was almost left behind for being 5 minutes
CARRA116
CARRA116
00
Wonderful Tour Guides!!
Decided to do a Hobbiton and Rotorua tour from Auckland with FlexiToursNZ. Our tour began very early in the mornin
630TomThumb
630TomThumb
00
No sign of Billbo or Fredo but there legends live on
A fun 2+ hours ...a bit out of the way but the Shire had to be hidden. The guides were great and if you are a fan
Key Details
  • Duration: 13h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Pickup offered
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071

Travellers also viewed

Frequently bought together

Half-day Discover Auckland City Sightseeing Tour
from NZ$70.77*
Popular: Booked by 2,019 travellers!
Skip the Line: Auckland Sky Tower General Admission Ticket
from NZ$32.00*
Popular: Booked by 1,487 travellers!

Day Trips

from NZ$127.20* NZ$159.00
Popular: Booked by 1,496 travellers!
from NZ$239.20* NZ$299.00
Popular: Booked by 1,294 travellers!
Frequently Asked Questions about Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland with Options - Guaranteed departure