Lance aux Epines Tours
Balthazar River Tubing Adventure Grenada

Balthazar River Tubing Adventure Grenada

By Island Routes Caribbean Adventures - Grenada
Balthazar River ain't named Grenada’s Great River for nothing, as they say locally in Grenada. Fed from sources located deep in the island’s interior, this river is nestled between an exotic tropical rainforest. This adventure is nothing less than “a thrill of a lifetime!” Wet, wild and wonderful from the word GO, jump in the water and get ready for a journey alongside trained guides, as you spin and swirl in the currents of the river and soak up the exotic scenery of tropical vegetation and wildlife. Navigate the rushing rapids of the river as you're introduced to a seldom-seen Grenadian attraction. Along the way, be on the lookout for some of the many exotic, indigenous species that make their home in this lush tropical habitat. It's a thrilling ride down the river, stopping only in the pools along the way, to catch your breath. Enjoy a much deserved rum punch or a glass of local fruit juice after an action-packed day full of twists and turns, swimming in natural pools
per adult
Lowest price guarantee

Ages 12-100, max of 40 per group
Duration: 1h 30m
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English

  • Start the adventure at the Balthazar River
  • Navigate the rapids on your personal tubes
  • Look out for exotic tropical vegetation and wildlife
  • Stop at natural pools and take a swim
  • Have a refreshing rum punch when you finish
What's not included
  • Gratuities

Start:Multiple pickup locations offered.
    Pickup details
    • Please meet at the hotel lobby prior to tour time
    Hotel pickup offered
    During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included hotels.
      End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

        • Not wheelchair accessible
        If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 60295P36

        • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
        • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
        • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
        • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
        • Most travellers can participate
        • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
        • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
        • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travellers

        • All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.

        If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 60295P36

        Reserve your spot

        Similar experiences

        About the operator
        Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
        • Island Routes Caribbean Adventures - Grenada
          St. George's, Grenada
          Joined in November 2009
        • M2821NUlesliec
          0 contributions
          1.0 of 5 bubbles
          Paid full price for half of the experience
          We were told our tour was running as usual. When we began our tour (already off the resort), the tour guide told us we would not be going to the rainforest, a large part of the reason we booked the excursion. I understand that natural disasters (Beryl) happen and cause damage beyond control, but no one told us of this major adjustment until after the tour began. If we would’ve known the rainforest was not part of the tour, we would’ve cancelled or booked another tour.
          Written 5 July 2024
        • saralG9161LF
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Amazing tour, highlight of our trip!
          Island Routes Safari Explorer and St. Margaret’s Falls Experience - LOVED this tour! You ride throughout the island in a jeep with 3 other couples. The tour guide, "Beetle" was amazing!! He was so knowledgeable and made the tour fun. You can stand in the vehicle and really get a feel for the island. The temperature drops as you head into the rainforest which was welcoming because it was a hot day. You stop at a few picture points and then head into the rainforest with your hiking stick. No bugs, it was awesome. It isn't the easiest hike, but it isn't that hard either if that makes sense. Narrow paths, but beautiful and well traveled. The water fall was refreshing. Would recommend water shoes, lots of rocks. Hung out for a bit, had some native fruit and headed back. Walked around the jeep area where there are spices for sale and some trinkets. Heard about native plants and pictures from a hill side tower over looking the greenery. Tried to see the mona monkeys, but unfortunately none were around. Ate a carribbean lunch with a choice of chicken or fish. Pumpkin side was delicious. Back in the jeep to head back to the resort. Whole day was from around 930-230. It was the highlight of our trip! Beetle and his driver deserve an A+!
          Written 10 May 2024
        • kellymarkgraf
          0 contributions
          1.0 of 5 bubbles
          Skip it
          We did the Grand Etang Rainforest Hike and Waterfall Experience. The hike was extremely muddy up and down. At the bottom was a super muddy brown waterfall with a ton of mosquitoes (we did use bug spray). It’s was their dry season when we went. You also have to cross rushing water and it’s impossible to only step on the stones. Our shoes were full of water. We are very experienced hikers and this trail was not great and honestly not very pretty. Skip it. No one in the group could understand our guide, which is not their fault but meant we didn’t get any additional information on the rainforest, plants, etc.
          Written 25 March 2024
        • VictoriaM23
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Action-packed tour worth every penny!
          While visiting Grenada in February 2024 for the first time in eight years, my friend and I ventured out and had a wonderful experience on the Best of Grenada Historical Spice Tour and Annandale Waterfall experience. Peter was our amazing driver and tour guide. He was a wealth of knowledge and was extremely patient with everyone, plus he was fantastic at navigating every twist and turn along the way. He seemed to know virtually everyone on the island to boot. (I believe Peter gives tours only on Wednesdays, which was a treat for us.) This jampacked day included a tour of an old-school, non-automated rum distillery (River Antoine Estate), a chocolate factory (Diamond, maker of Jouvay Chocolate), a nutmeg museum, a tasty lunch at Belmont Estate, encounters with Mona monkeys and beautiful, sweet stray animals, and breathtaking views of a waterfall at Great Etang Lake. It was a great way to spend a day in Grenada! Highly recommend!
          Written 28 February 2024
        • christinelL5921GY
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Please use Island Routes!
          We stayed at Sandals, Grenada for our honeymoon and booked a ton of excursions through Island Routes. We would HIGHLY recommend ALL excursions as we did many! The customer support was amazing and the information was easily accessible. We would recommend anyone at Sandals go through Island Routes!!!
          Written 30 November 2023
        • 516makebae
          0 contributions
          1.0 of 5 bubbles
          Tell me why my friends and I booked the 4hpur Jeep tour Today 15th of November and was NEVER PICKED UP!! We requested pickup at our resort and waited almost 1hour before we got onto a agent who told us the tour already left. We even CONFIRMED VIA EMAIL yesterday about pickup and was told everything was set for pickup and the tour. Now we wasted time and could've booked with a more professional company we now have to wait 14days for a refund and use our only to book another tour with another company. I don't recommend these people to my worse enemy!!! Highly disappointed!!
          Written 15 November 2023
        • Richard P
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Donald - what a guide !
          Had a half day private tour led by Donald , fabulous value for money. Donald super knowledgeable really friendly and went out of his way to look after us. Great stops for Chocolate and Rum - but Donald’s guide to the history of the island was first class. Nice to finish off with a great lunch at Andy’s. Great trip and has left us wanting to spend more time out of the resort and learning more about Grenada.
          Written 23 May 2023
        • AquaCultcha
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Go With Joe!
          My wife and I travelled to Sandals Grenada with a group of friends who are divers to spend a week of diving and relaxing at the resort. However, when a day of bad weather cancelled dives for the day, some folks in our group started looking at alternatives. We decided to call a taxi through Island Routes and go to St. Georges to walk around and explore for a bit. Our taxi was driven by Joe Pascal and we all hit it off right off the bat. Along the way to town he gave us a little bit of the lay of the land, providing information on local landmarks, history and just day to day life from his perspective, like all the best cab drivers do. When we got to town, Joe spent time with us taking us to the marketplace and the mall where the cruise ships come in. There’s plenty of souvenirs and that sort of thing here if you wanted to pick up something for your people back home, or something for yourself. My wife had read about the national dish oil down online and asked about it since we hadn’t had any really local food since getting to Grenada, but found out it would only be available some days later. Because we had started out this day a little late, we finished our brief excursion to get back on the road by 4pm to avoid the traffic, which we mostly did, and enjoyed more conversation on the way back to the resort. A few days later, my wife and I hooked up with Joe for a second trip to town to get some food. Although, when booking the cab the person helping us could only promise a taxi to town, I said we’d wait so we could make sure to spend more time with Joe, because we really just enjoyed his company and wanted to spend more time together. This time, traffic was heavy going into town and it took us a while just to get there and park. Along the way, Joe was checking in with us and apologizing for the traffic, but coming from Los Angeles this was nothing new for us since we’re often traveling the same speed, but with another 4 lanes creeping in the same direction. For me, this was actually one of the highlights of the trip because it was just like being on an air conditioned park bench watching the world go by. This may not be for everyone, but for me, part of the reason you travel is to experience life in other places and through other faces. You try to find yourself in the day to day flow of life, and just sitting in traffic talking with Joe, with my wife reading a book, and watching the world go by was perfect for me. When we finally found a spot to park, we were on the hunt for some fish roti, since we got some curry goat for my wife coming to town after coming up short on the oil down. We finally got some fish wraps (not roti, but just as good and filling) and some sugar cane, then took a short walk to Fort George where we took some pictures and went on a short tour. After, we walked back down and got on the road just in time to beat traffic. Although some people were filling pot holes that slowed things down a bit, things opened up once we got past them and it was all good the rest on the way back. Having this time to spend with Joe simply driving, talking, and walking through town was just as valuable to us as anything we found on the resort, which seems focused on creating a bubble that makes sure everything is familiar and comfortable. Maybe for some people this is their idea of a good vacation. Personally, I want a chance to disappear into the flow of daily life to really feel a place, and that’s what we felt with our time with Joe. It just felt like spending an extended time with any of the more memorable drivers I’ve run into in Washington DC, Los Angeles, or New York, with the exception that he actually stopped and gave other drivers and pedestrians the right of way, much more than the U.S. examples I mentioned, all while still holding down the skills behind the wheel that’s going to get you where you need to go. So If any of that seems like it resonates with you, or getting out of the Sandals food bubble to find some local eats sounds good, then see if he’s available when making your reservation. It will round out your time at the resort and be just as memorable.
          Written 20 December 2022
        • mattmM4145MP
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Great vacay!
          Mombera Marvin Alisha in travel route were soo helpful in finding a replacement activity on our last day when our scuba diving lesson was cancelled unexpectedly! Thank you.
          Written 1 December 2022
        • MTurransky
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Love the monkeys
          Donald was out tour guide. He shared so much history of Grenada we loved it. He would stop and let us grab photos of the best places. He showed us a nutmeg tree and took us through what part s were used for what and the smell was so nice. We went to a place for lunch that was so good, it started with Kelly’s and I wish I had jotted it down. He took us to the lake to see koi, to a beautiful waterfall where there were monkeys. He then brought us to another location where a monkey actually interacted with us. The trip was awesome I highly recommend!
          Written 15 October 2021
        • schmitty5011
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          So glad we decided to take the jeep tour
          I am writing this review because our tour guide Eldon was fantastic. He made us feel extremely safe driving on the roads and brought us to a lot of good spots. He also gave us great information about the island and the places we were driving through. This made the excursion extra special. We did a half day tour but he brought us to a beautiful spot for a picture that he said they dont usually get to on the half day tour but we had time. We loved visiting Granada and I can’t imagine having not done this. We will 100% return and do another tour with island routes in Granada in the future. Thanks Eldon.
          Written 8 April 2020
        • B1071NCbillr
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          River Tubing and Hot Springs Excursion
          Fabulous tour! It was much more extensive than advertised. We also toured the perimeter of the island which included sea sites and small towns and a stop at a spice shop and tavern in the Etang Forest. The tubing and stop at the hot springs were great. Beetle was a super great tour guide! He was also very knowledgeable in pointing out various fruit and hardwood trees.
          Written 18 February 2020
        • Laura A
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Dirty fun!
          Hubs and I really enjoyed this tour/excursion. We were picked up at our Sandals resort and taken on a very short ride to the office. The man in the office (so sorry can't remember his name) was very nice and informative. He told us what to expect. Clievon was our guide and we loved him! So fun and nice and knowledgeable. You WILL drive the dune buggy through the rain forest but you also spend a lot of time on the main roads. You need to be very alert and follow your guide at all times. They drive on the left side of the road in Grenada and there are a lot of hairpin turns. Don't let this be a deciding factor though. The ride is super fun and you will get very dirty. The waterfall is absolutely gorgeous but also public. There are plenty of locals hanging around ready to ask for cash. Yes this is a very bumpy ride so not for anyone with back issues. I wore my crappy bathing suit and a coverup with aqua socks. Muddy water was coming in from the bottom of the dune buggy so we were very happy that we didn't wear sneakers. I brought a zip up bag to put things that we didn't want ruined in such as..bathing suit cover up, cell phone and towels. Yes, you can swim in the waterfall it was a highlight. Remember to tip your guides. And say Hi to the monkey at the waterfall.
          Written 16 February 2020
        • stephenlE5768UF
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Private sunset cruise
          Chartered a private yacht for half a day to see the coast and the local sites. Rohan and the Captain were great! Incredibly accommodating, full of stories, and always aiming to please! High attention to my wife and I through sailing, snorkeling and ensuring just the right view of the sunset. Highly recommend!
          Written 6 February 2020
        • 2madstaffs
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Just Amazing
          Wow, wow and wow, what a fantastic day we all had, the catamaran was stunning, friendly ships crew and the run was flowing, a couple of stops on the way, snorkelling with a guide, looking a all the statues in the ocean bed, then off to Hog island, amazing place, lobster lunch and a few more drinks then a lovely trip back to the harbour, you need to do this trip
          Written 27 January 2020
        See all 79 reviews
        These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

        Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

        We perform checks on reviews.
        Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
        Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
        When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
        Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
        Learn more about our review moderation.
        4.0 of 5 bubbles4 reviews
        Very good

        JT K
        2 contributions
        2.0 of 5 bubbles
        Jul 2023 • Couples
        I wouldn’t describe the experience as river rafting. It was more like bouncing up and down off rocks.
        Written 4 July 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Hello, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We truly regret to learn that you had a negative experience while rafting in Grenada. In order for us to address your concerns, we ask that you contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Best IR Experience
        Written 5 July 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Balthazar River Tubing Adventure Grenada provided by Island Routes Caribbean Adventures - Grenada

        RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire