Tours and Tickets

From Tromso Small Group Northern Lights Chase provided by Polar Adventures

Reserve Now & Pay Later

From Tromso Small Group Northern Lights Chase

Save
Share
Likely To Sell Out
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$120.66
Date
2 adults
Options
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
Head out of Tromso with a guide who knows the best places to see the Northern Lights, aka Aurora Borealis. Your guide stays on top of the weather reports, takes you far out into the arctic nature so you can spot the lights, and will even give you photography tips. Along the way, warm up with hot beverages, and add extra layers with provided insulated overalls.
Highlights
  • Prebook online to snag your spot of this popular Northern Lights tour
  • Stay warm with insulated overalls that are provided for you
  • Chase the Northern Lights with a guide who knows the best places to see them
  • Fuel up for the journey with snacks and hot beverages
  • Get photography tips from your guide, as well as a tripod to use
What to Expect
Your Northern Lights tour begins with a pickup from the Radisson Blu in Tromso. Once you’ve met your guide and group, you’ll head far away from the city lights into the arctic countryside to some of the best places for seeing Aurora Borealis. Some trips even travel all the way to the Swedish or Finnish borders. Catch sight of the beautiful mountains, fjords, and valleys as you drive. Along the journey, enjoy snacks, dinner, and hot beverages. If there’s a good place to view the lights, your guide usually makes a campfire for everyone to sit by. You can also learn from your guide how to take the best photos of the Northern Lights. If you need a tripod, one will be provided for you. After all the excitement, your tour ends with a drop-off at your hotel in Tromso.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromsø, Sjøgata 7, 9259 Tromsø, Norway
Duration
6–7 hours
Return Details
Tromsø, Norway
Inclusions
  • Local guide
  • Driver/guide
  • Snacks
  • Beverages
  • Light vegetable soup
  • Pictures (2 portraits and the best ones from northern lights)
  • Thermal suit
Exclusions
  • Boots
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • You can rent a tripod for the activity at our office for 50,- Nok
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Spikes for winter boots are recommended during winter time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
324Reviews
39Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 189
  • 24
  • 16
  • 9
  • 15
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
More
Popular mentions
Trudy26 wrote a review Mar 2020
Southampton, United Kingdom127 contributions51 helpful votes
The night we had booked to go on this tour, there was a snow storm. Fair enough to the company, they offered either to continue on the trip that night, a refund or to go out on another evening. We choose to go out a couple of days later. The guide was enthusiastic and tried to
Read more
Helpful
Response from polardventures, Front Office Manager at From Tromso Small Group Northern Lights Chase
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Trudy, We are sad to read your review. Thank you to recognize that we offered the choice to postpone or to refund the tour when the weather was bad. All our apologizes for the bad cooking regarding hotdogs. You will understand that if we are offering the possibility to eat a vegetarian meal, this is to respect your dietary requirements. We are truly sorry if the "cooker" didn't follow the rule to separate them. For the other subjects, we would like to clarify -our point of view. First of all, two spots during one night can be a part a Chase and you did it. We are not "acting" the chase, we are doing it. This is not because you didn't feel the guide looking for, that he was not doing it. The skills of our Guide since now several months, and for some of them, several years is not a fantasy. Every night they are doing all the bests to find the Green Lady. The spots chosen were the best regarding the weather and the Northern Lights activity. But after, if the chance was not with you for that night, this is not a lack of services. Otherwise, each team provide not only the Chasing service, but share also our Norwegian's culture and lifestyle. For us, it seems to be better like you said to be "enthusiastic and tried to keep spirits up". If we know now the activity is over, we can't push any button, this is Nature unfortunately. We decide to go back, when it is time to. To be in the city center at 2:00 AM. We hope you will have more chance one day to see the Northern Lights on an easier way. The Polar Adventures' Team
Read more
Jim B wrote a review Mar 2020
Penrith, Australia33 contributions6 helpful votes
We had booked this tour on the 5th March 2020. Unfortunately it was overcast and snowing, so the tour guide offered us the option to cancel the tour. As we were leaving on the boat the next day, we were unable to do the tour the next night. So the tour guide said no problem,
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Response from polardventures, Front Office Manager at From Tromso Small Group Northern Lights Chase
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing our loyalty and honesty. But why offering us only 4 stars? Our next customers can imagine we are not offering a good job. We understand how much your disappointment was big to have to cancel your tour because of the weather. But unfortunately, the forecast's weather is not our responsibility... Cross finger the weather will be better if you would like to come back here one day! Best regards, The Polar Adventures' Team
Read more
Büni Debütant wrote a review Mar 2020
Gdansk, Poland5 contributions
Our tour's schedule worked as planned from the very beginning on. After we've been on the bus on time our guide, Thomas (the King of the Northern Lights), explained us the phenomenon of Northern Lights and that the forecasts and wether conditions are very bad (cloudy + snowy -
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Response from polardventures, Front Office Manager at From Tromso Small Group Northern Lights Chase
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for this perfect explanation of what is a Northern Lights Chase with Polar Adventures and how is our passion for the experience of chasing with our nice guests! Cross finger the Northern Light activity will be better! Best regards, The Polar Adventures' Team
Read more
448Miles36 wrote a review Mar 2020
Sydney Australia19 contributions9 helpful votes
I now know that you need dark clear nights to see the lights plus solar action. The tour can control the clearness of the night by driving to an area where the night is clear and we as tourists can check if the moon is new or not. The unknown is the level of solar activity.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Response from polardventures, Front Office Manager at From Tromso Small Group Northern Lights Chase
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for this perfect explanation of what is a Northern Lights Chase with Polar Adventures: a permanent checking of the weather in all the Tromsø's region, a good teaching to learn how to chase and how to take pictures of them, and obviously share our passion for the experience of chasing with our nice guests! Finally, if you plan to come back to Tromsø one day, our best tip is to avoid the full moon! Cross finger the Northern Light activity will be better! Best regards, The Polar Adventures' Team
Read more
Alexandra wrote a review Feb 2020
Rio de Janeiro, RJ4 contributions1 helpful vote
Horrible from beginning to end!!! 1) Very disorganised departure: one person to look for names in a big list with a large crowd around. And they arrived late!!! 2) Guide had no interest to look for lights in the sky 3) Guide slept in the minivan as much as possible 4) Guide
Read more
Helpful
Response from polardventures, Front Office Manager at From Tromso Small Group Northern Lights Chase
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing about your experience coming with us on tour. When we go out on tour the weather itself here in Tromsø is what we face. And also, the unpredictable nature of the Northern Lights themselves! Both can change on a dime, and it can be rough and wild. So, sometimes, you may not understand what the guide is doing but trust us, he is doing his best! So, for that, we respect our guides and we expect our guests to do the same. So even if you didn’t feel the excitement to look for the Northern Lights from him, it doesn’t mean that he didn’t look for and did his best. There are nights when all forecasts are completely wrong, our guides do their best to read them, check sky cameras and be in close contact with our other buses on road, other partner companies to communicate possible gaps in the clouds and maybe you didn't see when he was doing it. Sometimes, we use to stop the bus in one place, maybe not the best, but maybe one where we have our chance to see something at This moment! Of course, some of them is our favourites where you can find our previous fires. But why changing if the spot is efficient with an amazing landscape to see not only the Aurora but also our bewitching surroundings? Regarding ‘small hot dog each’, we offered also hot soup, hot drinks, cookies, fruits… and other hot dogs if you want more. Be sure that even if at one moment he had a doubt on how many you were, he took the time necessary, as you said, to not miss anyone! No one lost right?! Finally, as you knew before the departure, and since your booking, we chase with minibuses. We don’t know how much space you expect to have, but you can understand you can’t find the same as in a big bus or a personal car. We are not a money machine; we try every night to give our best and we are truly sorry if you disagree with the way which conduct our tour. Welcome back for a better experience next time. The Polar Adventures' Team
Read more
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Polar Adventures
SorinZam
00
Great tour, lovely crew
A wonderful experience on the Polar Queen with Captain Jack, Martha and Kalinka. Lovely crew. Very friendly, helpfu
Read more
Michael W
00
No guarantee
We did this trip on consecutive nights but had no luck at all. The first night was actually pretty clear for the mo
Read more
katie_unchained
00
Beyond our imagination!
My mum and I took this tour with Polar Adventures as my mum especially wanted to see the Fjords of Norway. This who
Read more
kindayta
00
The best Northern Lights tour in Tromso
We can definitely vouch for the fact that the tour by Polar adventures was the best Northern lights tour in Tromso.
Read more
Paul N
00
Fjord cruise.
Absolutely fantastic day out, from start to finish, Captain and crew were so helpful and great fun to be around, th
Read more
Razvan P
00
Just perfect
Thank you for the amazing day in the Tromso fjords. Special thanks to captain Jack sparrow, it was a day to remembe
Read more
Susympt
00
Marta and Kalinka are 5*
Thank you so much for a great experience! We were really lucky with the weather and the staff on board! And the sal
Read more
LittleWriter71
00
Great way to kick off our trip in Norway!
I took my Mom on this awesome boat ride through the Fjords. It wasn’t our day for whales per se but It was the adve
Read more
735hannesf
00
Excellent cruise, great staff
We saw eagles, reindeer and the famous Beluga. The staff is great and fun, the fish soup tasty (thanks to Chef Kali
Read more
leaR3355
00
Amazing tour
We highly recommand this tour, staff was really friendly, explaining all kind of stuff about fjords and wildlife. T
Read more
Beleriand3
00
Nice morning cruise
Very nice tour to get to know Tromso's surroundings. The landscape is stunning and the guides are nice and willing
Read more
Az100_11
00
Awesome Scenery and sighting of the rare Beluga Whale
It was an awesome Fjord cruise and a great way to end our holiday. We spent 5 hours cruising through some amazing w
Read more
salrusty
00
A star experience
One of the best things you could do in Tromsø, also the landscapes and scenery are amazing. The team is fantastic a
Read more
elocinnnnn
00
Awesome time on their fjord cruise
Much better than I expected! We embarked on a cosy cruise with our guides, Petter and Martha who were very nice and
Read more
Mélanie C
00
Fjord tour
An amazing day of breath-taking sceneries with an adorable guide and a friendly driver! Incredible experience of an
Read more
Key Details
  • Polar Adventures
  • Duration: 6–7 hours
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071