We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save

Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik

From US$65.00
Highlights
  • Aurora hunter guide takes you to the best location 
  • Take a free second tour if you don't see the lights
  • Warm up with hot drinks while waiting
More
Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik
From US$65.00
Check Availability
  • Overview
  • What to Expect
  • Important Information
  • Reviews
  • Q&A
Select Date and Travellers
21:30 from March 16th
From March 16th to April 15th the tour will start at 21:30
From US$65.00
20:30, Oct 15th to Mar 15th
Tour will start at 20:30 between October 15th and March 15th including.
From US$65.00
21:30 until Oct 14th
From August 25th to October 14th the tour will start at 21:30
From US$65.00
Overview
The northern lights are famously tricky to see, so increase your chances by booking this tour from Reykjavik led by an experienced aurora hunter. Leave nighttime driving to the experts and travel outside of the city, away from light pollution, to a location specially selected for its optimal aurora-viewing qualities. Avoid disappointment with the knowledge that if you don't see the lights, you can join the tour another night for free.
What to Expect
At the prearranged time, get picked up from your Reykjavik hotel or other designated departure point. Meet your guide and settle into the vehicle for the journey out of the city and into the countryside.

Your exact destination depends upon the conditions and the informed decisions of your aurora hunter guide, who takes you to where their experience tells them you have the best chance of seeing the lights. Enjoy a warming cup of hot chocolate as you await the aurora to make its appearance.

With luck, the lights will soon appear to dance across the sky in colors of green, pink, and violet. Your guide can take souvenir photos for you to capture the moment (additional cost). If, however, the lights do not appear, join the tour again another night at no additional cost.

Afterward, the tour returns to drop you off at your original departure point.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)

1 - 5 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
No Lights but good trip anyhow

Although it was very disappointing not to see the lights, it was an informative fun trip anyhow and the free pastries and hot chocolate were very welcome on a very cold night. We gave the fermented shark a try too, not recommended but hey you've...More

Thank onyab
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Excellent Guide, Great Customer Service

We took the Northern Lights tour in the last week of the season. Our guide, Matt, had just the right mix of tour guide humor and useful information. We were able to barely see some activity with the naked eye, but did capture the lights...More

1  Thank Fuzzy1966
Bustravel-Iceland, Guest Relations Manager at BusTravel Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know your experience. We appreciate your kind words about the friendly customer service you received. We will be sure to pass along the compliments. We look forward to your...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Very Unprofessional Tour guide

Your Tour guide can really make or break your experience. We had Siggi - by far the worst guide I had during my week long trip in Iceland. I went on 5 different excursions. He didn't provide us with hardly any information during our 2.5...More

1  Thank Christine R
Bustravel-Iceland, General Manager at BusTravel Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know your experience. We hold the highest standards for our staff members both new and senior to our team. Any constructive feedback from our guests is welcomed but we...More

Reviewed 7 April 2018
Great help with camera settings

A good trip to see the Northern Lights. Hot chocolate and pastries a nice touch. Hard to find anything to fault apart from the crackly speaker in the coach on the second trip! Unfortunately our first trip was cancelled due to the weather and the...More

2  Thank Chris B
Bustravel-Iceland, Guest Relations Manager at BusTravel Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know your experience. We appreciate your kind words about the friendly customer service you received on both tours. We will be sure to pass along the compliments. We look...More

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile
Great experience

Northern lights were great, and the guides were really nice. We were picked up in the agreed location and driven to an extraordinary place where we had the needed help with our cameras, had also hot chocolate to stay warm..More

2  Thank Borja B
Bustravel-Iceland, Guest Relations Manager at BusTravel Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know your experience. We appreciate your kind words about the friendly customer service you received. We will be sure to pass along the compliments. We look forward to your...More

Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines