EuropeIcelandCapital RegionReykjavikThings to do in ReykjavikTours and Tickets

Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik provided by Reykjavik Sailors

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$72.00
Date
2 adults
Options
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
Hlésgata 101
Hlésgata 101, 101 Reykjavík, IcelandBoat departs from the Old Harbour in Reykjavik, Reykjavik Sailors office is located at the water front.
See address & details
  • 1
    Reykjavik Sailors
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    Imagine if Mother Nature herself would shoot fireworks and lighten up the sky, a moment so beautiful it leaves you out of speech, almost out of breath. We would love to take you on a special Iceland northern light tour away from the shine of the city to a place where you can truly see the northern lights dance around in the sky.
    Read more
You'll end at
Hlésgata 101
Hlésgata 101, 101 Reykjavík, IcelandBoat departs from the Old Harbour in Reykjavik, Reykjavik Sailors office is located at the water front.
See address & details
Important Information
Departure Point
Hlésgata 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
Duration
2h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Informative, friendly and professional guide
  • Warm flotation overalls
  • Heated indoor cabins with toilet facilities
  • Wireless internet
  • Seasickness tablets, if needed
  • Entry/Admission - Reykjavik Sailors
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Snacks and beverages (sold on board)
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please be at the departure point the latest 30 minutes before the scheduled cruise time.
  • Please, CHECK YOUR VENDOR account or at tour operator DAILY DIARY before you come to tour operator office; all the important daily information of all our tours will be notified via vendor and on tour operator website. We recommend to contact tour operator if you wish another way to get in touch with you.
  • Please note: Northern Lights is a natural activity governed by the laws of the weather. If the trip is canceled due to bad weather, full ticket price will be refunded If you don't see any Northern Lights, you have the option to take the tour again any time for free.
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Please be aware that due to environmental reasons during certain times of the year our trips may be delivered on a shared boat with one of our partners. At Reykjavik Sailors we are committed to ensuring the environment is kept pristine by making sure fewer boats are on the water during slower periods.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 120 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
28Reviews
2Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 7
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Mike wrote a review Nov 2019
Dewsbury, United Kingdom42 contributions5 helpful votes
+4
Had an original tour with a different operator for a Northern Lights experience that was cancelled at short notice so booked with Reykjavik Sailors for a cruise instead as there was availability. It was well organised and equipped with a great commentary throughout the cruise.
Read more
Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front Office Manager at Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik
Responded 18 Nov 2019
thank you so much for your review! Made our day, have a great day!
Read more
Kathy B wrote a review Nov 2019
Waukegan, Illinois56 contributions18 helpful votes
Although we didn't see the Northern Lights, the boat trip was amazing and informative. The crew aboard the boat was friendly and knowledgable. Since the Northern Lights are not guaranteed there's a 50/50 chance - but totally worth it
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front Office Manager at Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik
Responded 6 Nov 2019
Thank you so much for your message! If you are back in Iceland, you are welcomed to try your luck again! Have a great day!
Read more
Spike Lemmer wrote a review May 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa73 contributions30 helpful votes
this a truly amazing and stunning sight to experience. this definitely a bucket list phenomenon to visit.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2018
Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front Desk at Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik
Responded 3 Jun 2019
Dear rototank, Thank you for your feedback. We totally agree : northern lights are an absolutely incredible phenomenon to witness, and are without a doubt bucket-list worthy. Yet it can be so hard to spot at times... We're happy to read our guides managed to make your dream come true! The time spent braving the infamous Icelandic weather does not come in vain ;) We hope you had a nice stay in Iceland, and wish you all the best!
Read more
Adventurer1956 wrote a review Jan 2019
Dublin, Ireland74 contributions46 helpful votes
The trip was cancelled by the tour Operator citing weather conditions - which is totally understandable and is clearly indicated when booking that it is weather dependant. We were unable to make another reservation as the trip was not running the following night. The reason I
Read more
Date of experience: December 2018
Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front Desk at Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik
Responded 23 Jan 2019
Dear Adventurer1956, Thank you very much for your comment, this will help us to improve the system. We will contact Trip Advisor/Viator to let them know that some people have problems to get the refund through their website, or at least, it should be easier to do it. On the other hand we appreciate you understood that we had to cancel because of weather conditions, it was a pity though. We hope you enjoyed your staying in Iceland. Best regards, Reykjavik Sailors Team
Read more
tyhinkle wrote a review Apr 2018
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania23 contributions19 helpful votes
We picked this company for a variety of reasons. They had a smaller boat, family feel, offered warm clothing, etc. I never expected the lies, creepiness, and poor service. Last minute, they informed us they were pawning us off to a completely different company!!! This is not
Read more
Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front desk at Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik
Responded 2 May 2018
Dear tyhinkle, Thanks for your sincere review. First of all, we are very sorry for your bad experience with us. As you can read in our website and all our sellers, during some seasons we can transfer the passengers to our partners to be more environmental friendly and sail with the minimum boats; and if this happens, our partners are only 2-4 minutes away walking from our office. Of course the weather can change, sometimes has happened the opposite (we cancel and finally the sky gets clear), but of course, we cannot wait until last minute to put the tour on or cancel it. So, weather is quite unpredictable here. We apologize again for all this matter, but in this case, passengers are invited to come with us for free again. Best regards, Reykjavik Sailors Team
Read more
About the operator
By: Reykjavik Sailors
Toby
20
Friendly guide, good boat but unfortunately no whales
The staff were very friendly and the boat was spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately we didn't see any animals
Read more
Henry
30
Brilliant customer service
We were really looking forward to our whale watching trip. We were very unlucky with the weather, so it was
Read more
woodsy_l
Gravesend, United Kingdom
9341
Give it a try! You might be lucky enough to see a whale.
There are many reviews stating that no whales are seen on such whale watching trips but you must take a chance and
Read more
billfeeny
Madison, Wisconsin
6919
I never observed a scene like this.
.A few minke whales, seals and puffins. I went on a tour as a guest in 2010 and saw plenty of Minkes, dolphins
Read more
Tess S
10
Christmas day whale watching
We actually didn't end up seeing any whales on our tour, but the excursion itself was pleasant. The crew were all
Read more
Amilner93
Washington DC, District of Columbia
70
No Whales or Northern Lights- still a good trip
We did the combo whale watching/northern lights package. Unfortunately due to weather our northern lights portion
Read more
Diana B
61
Good
They cancelled the first booking I did and didn’t let me know( she said she didn’t have the email- but they
Read more
Robin B
Haarlem, The Netherlands
122
Northern light boat trip
Our first night in Reykjavik and the weather conditions were good. We booked a tour @reykjavik sailors and had a
Read more
Rachel K
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
2614
nice trip but unfortunately no whales
Great staff on board and very knowledgeable unfortunately we didn’t see any whales or dolphins but they do offer
Read more
Pete G
84
Whale watching tour
It was whaleless! We did see some dolphins but I have been in the water with dolphins previously. Bit disappointed
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071