EuropeIcelandCapital RegionReykjavikThings to do in ReykjavikTours and Tickets

Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik provided by Reykjavik Sailors

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$76.00
Date
2 adults
Options
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
The best chance to see some of the 20 species of whales that migrate off Iceland’s coast during peak season is on a guided whale watching tour. Your captain and crew take you to the spots known to have the most whales and provide plenty of information about wildlife along the way. Details like provided warm layers and motion sickness tablets make this tour stand out.
Highlights
  • Iceland whale watching tour from Reykjavik 
  • Spot whales and other wildlife out on the ocean
  • Learn about local marine life from your guide
  • Indoor and outdoor viewing areas available
What to Expect
Arrive at a central meeting location in downtown Reykjavik to meet your guide and begin your Iceland whale watching tour. Optionally put on warm layers and take a seasickness tablet before setting sail in search of whales in the North Atlantic. Peak season visitors (April to October) can expect to see some of the 20 different species of whales that swim off the coast of Iceland, while off-season visitors might see other animals like seals and seabirds. Regardless of which animals are around, your seasoned crew brings you to the best wildlife viewing spots and provides plenty of information about the animals you see while you sail. Admire views of the coast and spot wildlife from one of the boat’s three outdoor viewing platforms or indoor saloon, fully equipped with internet. Tour concludes at start point. Please note: Check tour status before arrival directly with tour operator. If canceled due to weather, contact vendor to reschedule. Tour may be operated on shared boat with partner organization.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Hlésgata, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
Duration
3h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Informative, friendly and professional guide
  • Warm flotation overalls
  • Heated indoor cabins with toilet facilities
  • Wireless internet
  • Seasickness tablets, if needed
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Drinks and snacks (sold on board)
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please be at the departure point the latest 30 minutes before the scheduled cruise time.
  • Please, CHECK YOUR VENDOR account or at tour operator DAILY DIARY before you come to tour operator office; all the important daily information of all our tours will be notified via vendor and on tour operator website. We recommend to contact tour operator if you wish another way to get in touch with you.
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Please note: Whale watching is a natural activity governed by the laws of the weather. If the trip is canceled due to bad weather, the whale-watching ticket is refunded
  • If you don't see a whale, you have the option to take the tour again for free
  • Please be aware that due to environmental reasons during certain times of the year our trips may be delivered on a shared boat with one of our partners. At Reykjavik Sailors we are committed to ensuring the environment is kept pristine by making sure fewer boats are on the water during slower periods.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 60 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
147Reviews
24Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 42
  • 22
  • 18
  • 3
  • 4
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
More
Popular mentions
Toby wrote a review 12 Mar
2 contributions
The staff were very friendly and the boat was spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately we didn't see any animals but that's always the gamble I guess. We were offered to return at any point in the future for a complimentary second attempt - which is nice but unusable for us as
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front Office Manager at Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Tobias, thank you for your review, so sorry you didn't see whales this time! Note that the complimentary free tour is without time limit so tell us whenever you are back in Iceland! Have a good day !
Read more
woodsy_l wrote a review Feb 2020
Gravesend, United Kingdom93 contributions41 helpful votes
There are many reviews stating that no whales are seen on such whale watching trips but you must take a chance and give it a go. We were so glad we did! We booked a 3 hour Winter whale & dolphin watching trip with Elding from Reykjavik harbour, which at present runs twice a day
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front Office Manager at Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi, I think you confused us with Elding but we are glad you had a great time ! :D
Read more
Tess S wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
We actually didn't end up seeing any whales on our tour, but the excursion itself was pleasant. The crew were all wonderful and accommodating. We did not have extra time scheduled on our trip for a re-do, but we definitely would go with this company again
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front Office Manager at Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Hi, thank you so much for your review :) We are glad you had a good time with us! Have a great day,
Read more
Diana B wrote a review Dec 2019
6 contributions1 helpful vote
They cancelled the first booking I did and didn’t let me know( she said she didn’t have the email- but they suppose to ask u for ur when booking-mandatory) The time I got booked again, next day didn’t see any whale or dolphin:( only a few birds. Stuff were great, ride was very
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front Office Manager at Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik
Responded 30 Dec 2019
Hi, Happy Holidays and thank you for your review. When you book through a tour operator they sometime don't communicate your email with us that's why we sent them a notification and they have to communicate the information to you after. We also recommend to customers at the time of the booking, to check our website before coming to the office for their tour where we post the status of the tours as soon as we know them in the section "Daily Dairy". We also post on this page the sightings of all our tours. Although some days are luckier than others, they are still sightings at this time of the year: Dolphins, Harbour porpoises, Minke Whales and even Orcas as we were lucky this December with this rare sight. Unfortunately, we cannot guarantee those sightings at every tour as we don't control those beautiful wild animals. We offer a complementary tour to our passengers in case there were no sightings on their tour, without any time limit! So let us know whenever you are back in Iceland! We are glad you appreciated your tour nevertheless and we hope you had a great time in Iceland!
Read more
Rachel K wrote a review Nov 2019
Greenhithe, United Kingdom36 contributions14 helpful votes
Great staff on board and very knowledgeable unfortunately we didn’t see any whales or dolphins but they do offer u to come again for free but we was unable to do this due to other trips we already had booked in for the next few days. Nice comfy seating and a cafe, they also
Read more
Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front Office Manager at Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik
Responded 5 Dec 2019
Hi, thank you for your review! sorry it was bad luck this time, let us know whenever you are back in Iceland as the complimentary tour doesn't a time limit! Have a nice day!
Read more
About the operator
By: Reykjavik Sailors
Toby
20
Friendly guide, good boat but unfortunately no whales
The staff were very friendly and the boat was spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately we didn't see any animals
Read more
Henry
30
Brilliant customer service
We were really looking forward to our whale watching trip. We were very unlucky with the weather, so it was
Read more
woodsy_l
Gravesend, United Kingdom
9341
Give it a try! You might be lucky enough to see a whale.
There are many reviews stating that no whales are seen on such whale watching trips but you must take a chance and
Read more
billfeeny
Madison, Wisconsin
6919
I never observed a scene like this.
.A few minke whales, seals and puffins. I went on a tour as a guest in 2010 and saw plenty of Minkes, dolphins
Read more
Tess S
10
Christmas day whale watching
We actually didn't end up seeing any whales on our tour, but the excursion itself was pleasant. The crew were all
Read more
Amilner93
Washington DC, District of Columbia
70
No Whales or Northern Lights- still a good trip
We did the combo whale watching/northern lights package. Unfortunately due to weather our northern lights portion
Read more
Diana B
61
Good
They cancelled the first booking I did and didn’t let me know( she said she didn’t have the email- but they
Read more
Robin B
Haarlem, The Netherlands
122
Northern light boat trip
Our first night in Reykjavik and the weather conditions were good. We booked a tour @reykjavik sailors and had a
Read more
Rachel K
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
2614
nice trip but unfortunately no whales
Great staff on board and very knowledgeable unfortunately we didn’t see any whales or dolphins but they do offer
Read more
Pete G
84
Whale watching tour
It was whaleless! We did see some dolphins but I have been in the water with dolphins previously. Bit disappointed
Read more
Key Details
  • Reykjavik Sailors
  • Duration: 3h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071