We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Venice Gondola Serenade on Canal Grande

Select Date and Travellers
From
US$46.00
Date
2 travellers
Options
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Itinerary
    This is a typical itinerary for this product

    Pass By: Canal Grande, 30100 Venice Italy

    “The most beautiful road in the world”, this is how the Grand Canal is known as. Gondola serenades have always been part of Venetian culture, an unchanged tradition for an unchageable city. If you look around, what you will see is almost exactly what a nobleman in the 18th century might have looked upon, and before him a Renaissance courtesan and before him a merchant in the Middle Ages.

    Pass By: Teatro La Fenice, Campo San Fantin San Marco 1965, 30124 Venice Italy

    Once one of 7 major theatres in the city, today the Fenice is Venice’s one and only opera house. It is surely a jewel among European theatres, and began to shine from the beginning, as the best composers of the age wrote and performed their operas here, among which Bellini, Donizetti and Rossini. But it was Giuseppe Verdi who is most attached to the Fenice and to Venetian memory.

    Pass By: Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute, Campo de la Salute Dorsoduro 1, 30123 Venice Italy

    Here, as you come into the Grand Canal you are opened to the church of the Madonna della Salute.

    The first thing that strikes a viewer is how imposing the church is, strategically placed at the entrance of the Grand Canal looking out onto the rest of the city in every direction, thanks to its circular shape.

    Today, ever 21 November the city celebrates the Madonna della Salute in memory of the end of the plague


    Pass By: Peggy Guggenheim Collection, Just East Accademia Along Gran Canal, 30123 Venice Italy

    Peggy Guggenheim Collection, one of the most important art collections in the world. Peggy Guggenheim, originally from New York, arrived in Venice in 1949 and began to satisfy art addiction buying this wonderful building where she displayed invaluable artworks to the world. The beautiful terrace you see is where Guggenheim sun-bathed regularly looking onto the Grand Canal.

    Pass By: Palazzo Gritti Badoer, Sestiere Castello 3608, 30122 Venice Italy

    The Gritti Palace takes its name from the Gritti family, an old Venetian family, the most important member being Andrea Gritti, who was Doge of Venice in the Renaissance, and led the Venetian armies against the League of Cambrai, composed by France, Spain, Holy Roman who attempted to stop Venice’s expansionist goals in France.
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Gondola Station - Santa Maria del Giglio, Campiello Traghetto, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy
    Duration
    30m
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • 30-minute shared gondola ride
    • Live musicians
    Exclusions
    • Hotel pickup
    • Commentary
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • The Gondola Ride does not operate in case of exceptionally bad weather, high/low tide (in these cases it can be postponed the days after otherwise it will be refunded)
    • The tour is not private but is shared with other guests not belonging to the same party
    • Each gondola can hold a maximum of 6 people; the seat aboard cannot be chosen but will be assigned by the gondolier depending on guests' weight
    • The gondola serenade includes a pair of musicians (a singer and a musician) who will be boarded in one of the gondolas to perform throughout the trip; there are not musicians on each gondola; to permit all participants to listen the serenade, the musicians will board on a gondola in the centre of the row
    • Free under 2 years ONLY if child does not occupy an own seat
    • This tour is not fully accessible for wheelchair users or people with walking disabilities
    • Mobile vouchers are accepted
    • The tour does not operate in case of bad weather (in these cases it can be postponed to the day after otherwise it will be refunded)
    • Near public transportation
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 35 travelers
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    Reviews (38)
    Filter reviews
    10 results
    Traveller rating
    2
    3
    2
    1
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageEnglish
    Traveller rating
    2
    3
    2
    1
    2
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    FilterEnglish
    Updating list...
    1 - 5 of 10 reviews
    Reviewed 31 August 2019 via mobile

    I don’t usually take the time to write a review but this experience left us feeling particularly cheated. As others have mentioned there is only one singer per “fleet”. The route was a circle around our hotel that lasted 20 minutes not 30! We didn’t...More

    Date of experience: August 2019
    1  Thank Judith D
    tommaso111111111, Director of Sales at Venice Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2019

    Dear, We are sorry for your bad experience had in Venice, but all the things you complain there are clearly written on the description of the tour and on your voucher with the sentence: “the tour group Gondola Serenade includes a couple of musicians (a...More

    Reviewed 22 May 2019 via mobile

    At €36 pp, it is expensive for what it is: 30 mins around two canals and back to the starting point. The gondolas depart in a fleet and only one has a serenader so you may not get the full experience all the time. The...More

    2  Thank 675michaelt
    giuseppemR5262EZ, Direttore vendite at Venice Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2019

    Dear Sir, thanks for the review, we take note of your comments but please consider that the gondoliers are drivers as a common taxi driver all over the world. They take people around. Regards

    Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

    At this price, you're getting exactly what you pay for.. a 30 minute ride on a gondola through the city. There are no frills and extras. You will have to get there early to check with the gondoliers before getting in the long line that...More

    Thank itzbilly
    Venice C, Director of Sales at Venice Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

    Thanks for your kind review, your opinion is very important for us and your suggestions help us to improve our service.

    Reviewed 16 September 2018

    Staff were unfriendly and really disorganised! We were told to go into one line then another. It was supposed to be 30 minutes duration but we were back in 20 minutes. This seemed a general problem as we saw several people challenging Gondoliers about during...More

    Date of experience: September 2018
    2  Thank Colin K
    Venice C, Director of Sales at Venice Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

    Dear Sir, thanks for your review we consider important your opinion in order to improve our service. We tried to understand what happened, considering your comment. All people seemed satisfied during the days of your experience. We informed the Gondoliers too recommending them to be...More

    Reviewed 11 September 2018

    30 minutes were really 20, including the time to line up 6 boats. Only 2 seats offered comfort. The boat was poorly balanced and leaned sideways which added discomfort and made me insecure. We cruised in dark alleyways. This was a bust for us.More

    Date of experience: September 2018
    Thank bonso34
    Venice C, Director of Sales at Venice Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

    Dear Sir, thanks for your review we consider important your opinion in order to improve our service. We are very sorry for your review. We tried to understand what happened, considering your comment. All people seemed satisfied during the days of your experience. We informed...More

    View more reviews
    Questions & Answers
    Ask a question
    LMPMd
    19 April 2018|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from 515barbaray | Reviewed this property |
    I would suggest you get there early and ask. This is not saying they will put you on the gondola with the singer but it is worth a try.
    0
    Votes
    Key Details
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: +1 855 275 5071