We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Share
Save

Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Highlights
  • Day trip to the Berchtesgaden Eagle’s Nest, the former mountain retreat of Adolf Hitler, from Munich, with a professional guide
  • Absorb views of Alpine peaks and pastures on a drive southwest through Bavaria
  • Ride a bus and elevator up Mt Kehlstein to the Eagle’s Nest mountain lodge
More
Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich
From US$59.07
Check Availability
  • Overview
  • What to Expect
  • Important Information
  • Reviews
  • Q&A
Select Date and Travellers
Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich
US$59.07
Overview
Visit the Eagle’s Nest in Berchtesgaden, Adolf Hitler’s famous mountaintop retreat, on this day trip from Munich. Travel by air-conditioned coach through Bavaria’s lush mountainscapes, and ride a bus and elevator to the lodge, 6,148 feet (1,834 meters) up Mt Kehlstein. See where Hitler entertained dignitaries, view the hall where weddings and conferences were staged, and explore the terrace to admire the spectacular Alpine views — vistas that Hitler, ironically, found challenging due to his vertigo. In the event of bad weather, you will visit the world-famous Berchtesgaden salt mines instead.
What to Expect

Due to the World War II bombings by the Royal Air Force, there is little evidence left of Hitler and the Nazi party's presence, however Eagle's Nest still stands.

From mid May to October, you will have the option to take a bus ride up the mountain to see Eagle's Nest for yourself. The last 390 feet (120 meters) of the trip is in a brass-clad elevator. During the winter months or during inclement weather when access to Eagle's Nest is restricted, you will instead visit the world famous Salt Mines. Wearing traditional mining gear you will descend into the depths of the mine where you can see glowing salt grottoes and a subterranean salt lake.

Write a ReviewReviews (655)

1 - 5 of 16 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Rude and unorganised

I did this tour on Monday 14th August, and when I approached the coach with my valid E-ticket, I was received with hostility by the tour guide, who moaned at me and asked why I hadn't printed it off instead, so not a great start....More

Thank Jack K
Reviewed yesterday
Good Trip... Bad Weather

I have wanted to see this place for a very long time. so we booked it for friday 10th august before we left home in Dublin. Unfortunately it rained all day on the Friday so no great scenery vistas. We travelled with Grayline Tours, our...More

Thank Peter D
Reviewed 3 days ago
tour was misleading

The weather on the day was dreadful which unfortunately did spoil the day. Whilst realising that this was out of the control of the tour company they did not adjust the itinerary on the day to take this into account. The tour title is misleading...More

1  Thank jonathaninns
Gray_Line_Muenchen, Customer Relations at Gray Line Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear jonathaninns, thank you for your feedback which helps us to further improve our service. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with this tour but we hope that there will be another chance to convince you of our service in the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Will not refund before 24 hours

Due to a flight being cancelled I am not able to get a refund on this trip from gray line. My tour was booked for the 10th August 2018, my flight was cancelled today, I tried to cancel straight away, but was told it was...More

Thank Dean P
Gray_Line_Muenchen, Customer Relations at Gray Line Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Dean P, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the inconvenience. This information, however, was not given by our company. Could you please tell us the provider where you bought the ticket for our tour? Their cancellation policy might differ from ours....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Eagles Nest Was Great But Not The Bus

We got off to a disorganized start because two buses for two tours were in the same spot with no indication on the bus which was which. Consequently, it was a disorganized mob trying to scramble onto the buses when it was finally announced. The...More

Thank Dub1955
Gray_Line_Muenchen, Customer Relations at Gray Line Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Dub1955, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed and we can understand how you feel. This is of course not acceptable and we will talk to our driver about this. Please accept our apologies. We hope that...More

Questions & Answers
Ask a question
KimJD
23 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Caleb T | Reviewed this property |
It’s only maybe 10-15 mins up the mountain...steep hills and some definite curves, but it doesn’t go terribly fast.
2
Votes
Jason W
10 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Sophie-Louise M | Reviewed this property |
Yes. Definitely worth it though, I think the walk is around 2 or 3 hours. The bus only took 20 mins.
0
Votes