Tours and Tickets

The Outlander 1 Day Experience provided by Gray Line Scotland

Reserve Now & Pay Later

The Outlander 1 Day Experience

Save
Share
Recommended by 93% of travellers
Select Date and Travellers
From
$87.80
Date
2 adults
Options
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Blackness Castle
    Stop: 45 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
  • 2
    Royal Burgh of Culross
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Linlithgow Palace
    Stop: 80 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
  • 4
    Callendar House
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • 5
    Doune Castle
    Stop: 45 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
  • 6
    Midhope Castle
    Stop: 15 minutes - Admission included
    See details
    Pass by
    Forth Bridge
+
Important Information
Departure Point
Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland
Duration
8h
Inclusions
  • Hotel Pick Up
  • Guided Tour with a Fully Trained and Experienced Driver/Guide
  • Central Edinburgh city centre drop offs
  • Entry/Admission - Midhope Castle
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Entrance Fees
  • Entry/Admission - Blackness Castle
  • Entry/Admission - Linlithgow Palace
  • Entry/Admission - Doune Castle
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Please advise your Edinburgh accommodation name and address to allow us to organise our FREE hotel/guest house morning pick-up service for the day your tour departs Edinburgh.
  • You can update your reservation by emailing the information or contacting us on arrival to Edinburgh.
  • We will endeavour to collect from the door to as many hotels and guest houses as possible. If this is not possible, then usually the nearest main road, or certainly a landmark within walking distance.
  • If you are staying outside the city or coming from a private address we can arrange your nearest pick up point.
  • Drop Offs: Although we are happy to collect you in the morning, we are unable to guarantee you will be dropped off exactly where you were picked up at the end of the tour. If you are staying en route back into the city you will be dropped off, the tour driver will discuss this with you. We drop off at convenient points back in the City Centre.
  • Please note that we deploy several vehicles to complete our morning pick-up service and then transport our passengers to the main coach to begin the tour. Therefore, the vehicle you board initially may not be the one that takes you on the tour*
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 48 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
14Reviews
3Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Jennifer E wrote a review Oct 2019
Alexandria, Virginia27 contributions32 helpful votes
We were on limited days in Edinburgh. 30 mins before the tour company calls the hotel where I am staying at to say that the driver was sick. Did not even have the courtesy to talk to me directly rather left a message to wash their hands of the situation. I can not believe
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gray Line S, Manager at The Outlander 1 Day Experience
Responded 11 Oct 2019
We whole heartedly apologise for the very rare last minute cancellation due to our driver guide calling in sick. Everyone on board was offered the opportunity of a similiar tour with a different operator where we would still offer the pickup service and take you to the starting point or alteratively a full refund and the opportunity to take a tour with us complimentary on a different day. Passengers who leave us a direct number at the time of booking are contacted directly but if you booked through your hotel then we would have no choice but to contact you via them. Unfortunatley we are not in a position to have standby drivers and if we did then of course we would have chosen this option rather than cancel. We are a local Edinburgh company that are a small part of the international Gray Line Organisation and hope we have the chance to impress you in the future.
Read more
Blackdavel wrote a review Sep 2019
Grovedale, Australia139 contributions14 helpful votes
+7
What a great way to discover history, see Outlander related sites and be entertained on the way. Jamie was faultless, professional and interesting to listen to, the day went so fast. Perfect amount of time at each location. Being an outlander fan he talked about the events that
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ellen L wrote a review Sep 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
GREAT tour and highly recommended. Jamie is an excellent storyteller and integrated music perfectly into each stop. I am a history lover and was thrilled with the amount of Scottish history we learned along the way. The views were amazing, and I was pleasantly surprised at how
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
kauaigirl43 wrote a review Sep 2019
Temple, New Hampshire6 contributions6 helpful votes
This has been our first trip to Scotland and were to experience the Outlander tour with a guide named Jamie of all things!!! He even wore a kilt!! He was a wealth of information on the tv show and on the Scottish countryside and the history of Scotland itself!!!! We
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Lynn S wrote a review Sep 2019
6 contributions2 helpful votes
EVERY visitor to Edinburgh should use this company for tours!! We had an exceptional guide, Jamie, an he picked us up at our apartment and brought us right back. Our tour was exceptional! He even showed us things that were not necessarily on the itinerary...and we are do gksd he
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Gray Line Scotland
TerenceGB
00
Super day through the Highlands.
This trip was the highlight of our stay in Edinburgh. The Highlands have some of the worlds most beautiful landsca
Read more
StacyP1073
00
Highly recommend 👍
ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT deserve more then 5 stars. James our driver was fantastic very knowledgeable and made us laugh
Read more
hkdeans
00
Great guide and beautiful sights - good value for money
Had a fantastic day on this tour with Brian as our guide. The tour is well organised, you are collected and dropped
Read more
O2619SXkater
00
Great day out!
Was such a great day out and saw so much of beautiful Scotland! Brendan was a very knowledgeable and enthusiastic t
Read more
Lottieboyd
00
5 stars *****
Had the most incredible day!!! Saw so much & Brendan was super informative. Such good value for money too :) 100% r
Read more
Zackary P
00
What a day!
Absolutely amazing day! All measures were put in place to respect COVID guidelines. We had the most amazing driver/
Read more
RaeRae72
00
Looking for Nessy
Really well organised. Clean coach which cleaned between each stop. Lots of photo stops & toilet stops. Driver Bren
Read more
eliset056
00
Grayline Scotland, extremely bad quality!
I do understand that covid circumstances are very challenging for tourism all over the world but the treatment we r
Read more
elissef2020
00
A magical day with Brian
The tour is well run and our tour guide Brian was extremely friendly and provided the perfect mix of knowledge abou
Read more
KamilaS175
00
Brilliant
Brandan the driver and guide - absolutely brilliant! Lovely man! Fantastic trip! Great experience and views!
Read more
145paulinao
00
Guide Brian was the the best!
Brian kept us entertained for 12 hours. He was very informative and enthusiastic about all things Scotland. We love
Read more
Andrew S
00
Very informative, safe, accommodating and a lot of fun.
Brian (our driver) made the trip very informative and a lot of fun - making sure we had frequent stops in places th
Read more
745asmas
00
Best tour ever - Jamie was brilliant
This tour was definitely worthwhile. It is a long day but so worth it. We saw some breathtaking views, loch Ness wa
Read more
Giselle G
00
Excellent day with outstanding tour guide Brian
Had a fantastic day! Absolutely worth it. Our guide Brian was outstanding, made the experience incredibly valuable.
Read more
logan6713
00
Jamie the driver was great.
Would highly recommend this tour. We had so much fun and there was so much to see. The driver Jamie made it a much
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 8h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Pickup offered
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071

Film Tours

Edinburgh Harry Potter Walking Tour
from NZ$28.06*
Popular: Booked by 1,590 travellers!
The Outlander, Palaces & Jacobites Experience from Edinburgh
from NZ$81.51*
Popular: Booked by 1,156 travellers!
JK Rowling's Edinburgh & the Writing of Harry Potter
from NZ$29.11*
Popular: Booked by 247 travellers!
Outlander Adventure Small-Group Day Tour from Glasgow
from NZ$80.66*
Popular: Booked by 224 travellers!
Frequently Asked Questions about The Outlander 1 Day Experience