Mount Maunganui Tours
6 hour Small-Group Rotorua Naturally Shore Excursion From Tauranga
4.5

6 hour Small-Group Rotorua Naturally Shore Excursion From Tauranga

By Cruise Tours Tauranga
Recommended by 90% of travellers
90% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
See, hear, smell, touch and taste on this full-day shore excursion from Tauranga. Experience the unique and special natural beauty of The Bay of Plenty. You will visit some out of the way spots that not everyone knows about and will go where the big buses don't. This tour is not a shuttle and will not drop you off anywhere to explore on your own. It is a fully guided small-group tour with a knowledgeable, fun and friendly tour guide. Along the way you will see and learn about the uniqueness that is New Zealand and you will learn about the geothermal region of Rotorua and its significance to the Maori people. We do not visit the commercial geothermal reserves on this tour, but we do see boiling mud pools, crystal clear bubbling hot springs, volcanic lakes and picturesque forests.  Please note that the ticket sent to you by Viator/TripAdvisor will show the standard tour departure time, we will advise an updated time when you book the tour which may be different, this is the one to use.
from
$180.00
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 22 per group
Duration: 6h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More


  • Experienced professional guide
  • Fully Guided Tour with commentary
  • Port pickup and drop-off
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Redwoods Treewalk
  • We provide a snack of a traditional Hangi Meat and/or vegetable pastry pie
  • Entry/Admission - Redwoods, Whakarewarewa Forest


Start:
  • Port of Tauranga Ltd, 2 Salisbury Avenue, Mount Maunganui 3116, New Zealand
    The meeting point for passengers off the cruise ships is on the grass by the flag poll just outside the port pedestrian exit gate on Salisbury Avenue. If you are not travelling on a cruise ship then this is still the meeting point unless you have made an alternative arrangement with us.
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Pushchair accessible
    • Near public transportation
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 15629P2

    • Family friendly tour
    • Tour departure time may change due to early and/or late ship arrivals and departures
    • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately. We suggest layers with hats and sunscreen
    • You must provide your own infant/baby seat if required.
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 22 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 15629P2

    Reserve your spot

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • 2 Salisbury Avenue, Mount Maunganui 3116, New Zealand
      The meeting point for passengers off the cruise ships is on the grass by the flag poll just outside the port pedestrian exit gate on Salisbury Avenue. If you are not travelling on a cruise ship then this is still the meeting point unless you have made an alternative arrangement with us.
    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
    • 6
    • 7
      Pass by
      Te Puke
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Cruise Tours Tauranga
      320
      Tauranga, New Zealand
      Joined in November 2013
    • geraldined985
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      This is the Way to Visit Rotorua
      Easy collection at the port Friendly driver who gave interesting commentary for all parts of the tour. Tailored sights on return journey to fit in with timings Māori village tour was so informative. I was worried I’d feel I was intruding into villagers privacy but this was not the case. Explanation of the hot springs and how they have been used over the ages was absorbing. The show was both entertaining and informative. It was pleasant to see all age ranges taking part, especially the young lad with the most beautiful voice. As we were only two UK nationals among the US nationals on the tour it was enlightening to hear their views on the explanation of NZ lifestyle. I would have loved to have less time driving around the lakes and then be able to take the elevated tree walk in the redwood forest.
      Written 6 April 2024
    • I8366EDmarions
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Amazing
      An amazing experience! The performance was so good and passionately done. Graehame was a great guide. Highly recommend this tour
      Written 23 March 2024
    • Karen T
      0 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Unhappy to say the least!!
      Very Disappointed. I took my partner as he had never been to New Zealand before. We were doing a cruise around New Zealand. Our tour guide was wonderful, so was the entertainment. Our tour advertised that you get lunch which was a Hangi lunch. So you can understand the disappointment when we received a salad and a pastry!!!!!! Since when does a salad get cooked in a Hangi????? I would never recommend this tour to anyone.
      Written 5 March 2024
    • beckywV6809KH
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great time at Maori Village
      We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide was great. The food cooked in the geothermal pools was fantastic. The side trips were also enjoyable.
      Written 24 February 2024
    • jmcsweeny
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Fun and informative!
      Excellent tour, it was fun and informative. Peter was an excellent driver and guide who did a good job of explaining everything and looking after everyone. I would definitely recommend this tour.
      Written 21 February 2024
    • 426lo
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Rotorua / Te Puia tour from Cruise ship
      Excellent tour company. Answered all questions on email promptly. Pick up at cruise dock very easy and tour company worked with us as cruise ship was only in port the minimum amount of time for this tour. Te Puia facility is very interesting, has a lot of things to see and very educational. The day we visited was very busy at Te Puia and the Cruise Tours Tauranga guide went out of his way to make sure we saw everything we wanted, even doubling back on some things the Te Puia guide (required and included in Te Puia entrance) skipped due to crowds. Only issue I had was it was a little confusing to book this tour initially, as bookings through Viator/trip advisor were not working, so I booked directly with Cruise Tours Tauranga on their website. I mention this as an option so others can book this fantastic and unique experience.
      Written 18 February 2024
    • LGLoriJo
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Amazing Te Puia Māori tour
      This was an amazing tour! Andy our guide was so knowledgeable and kind. We learned so much and had so many interesting experiences. The Māori Te Puia exhibit was incredible. The tour included learning about the Māori people their art, carvings, and weavings. We also so the geothermal hot springs and beautiful native Māori dances. We highly recommend this tour! Thank you
      Written 14 February 2024
    • gwenethk2024
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great
      It was great to get an insight into another culture. The tour guide and bus driver were both very good and we had an enjoyable day.
      Written 13 February 2024
    • 145caroln
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      The highlight of our holiday.
      An amazing day trip from our cruise. Our guide was very good and informative. The highlight of the day was the Maori culture performance of the haka. We also enjoyed hearing about the Maori way of living and hot steaming springs.
      Written 6 February 2024
    • whliu2001
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Well organized tour
      Our guide Richie is nice and patient. The tour is pretty routine covering visit to Maoi valley. A Maoi dance and walk through the geysers.
      Written 2 February 2024
    • 870barrys
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Maori Village was an awesome experience!
      Our driver, Richard, was very informative, and we were able to cover a lot of ground in the provided time. The Maori Village was definitely the highlight of the day, and the Maori guide provided great insights into their people & culture. The Maori performed ceremonial dances & songs that definitely showed cultural pride & joy.
      Written 2 February 2024
    • 625AnneS
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      A good place to visit
      An interesting place to visit. We have been twice with our family members who are visiting. Both times we had Michael for our tour guide who did an excellent job; he enjoys what he is doing and is very personable. The cultural dance was phenomenal. If more family members come to visit, it will be one of the stops we make on their vacation. Our one challenge has been booking our hangi pie online at the same time we booked our admission tickets. I would suggest to just purchase what you want after your tour, (pre booking did not save any money) or be sure to bring copies of both order numbers (tour and hangi pie) if you choose to pre book. I did not have the preorder hangi pie order number with me, and though they did give us the pies, it was a stressful not only for our family, but for the involved staff as well.
      Written 25 January 2024
    • 510yiquns
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Wonderful experiences
      That was a wonderful experience to see a living Maori village and watch a Māori show. Our tour guy Keith is very nice . Took us around to various interesting point. We also see gold kiwi garden.
      Written 6 January 2024
    • Dazal0
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      A Great Day and experience
      We had a great time and enjoyed the day having a Taste of what on offer in this area. Sorry I can’t remember the driver’s name but he was good on tips where to buy things and keep a excellent time line. So we made it back to the Ship Easley on time. Well done to all involved keep up the great work.
      Written 12 November 2023
    • Kimberley B
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Māori village visit and more
      Wonderful tour guide on bus. At the Māori village, the highlight of the tour, the Māori guide was soooo informative of the lifestyle of the people as she lives in it. The “concert”, as she called it, was amazing. The singers and dancers were very talented and polished with their performance. Our fabulous guide at Māori village impressed me as she knew song words and dances (and participated in the background at the “concert”) as she had previously been one of the performers sometime before becoming a guide! What an authentic experience!
      Written 26 October 2023
    See all 320 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    We perform checks on reviews.
    Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
    Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
    When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
    Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
    Learn more about our review moderation.
    4.5
    4.5 of 5 bubbles66 reviews
    Excellent
    53
    Very good
    7
    Average
    3
    Poor
    0
    Terrible
    3

    lesleyhoare
    Rome, Italy
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2023
    Do not be fooled by the photo of the boardwalk and thermal area, you never see it on this tour. We had an extremely rude guide Brian, who pulled the bus over and told us look at it thru a 6 ft external fence. When the group expressed our disappointment we were told we should have paid more if we wanted to actually go in. He continued to be rude to us throughout the day, he pulled up at toilets but said he didn't know what they were like he didn't use them. When asked at 10.30 am what time lunch was he said lunchtime, when asked again, middle of the day. Then at a stop 45 minutes later declared that we should all eat now as he wasn't going to stop at every "dairy" (which is a NZ corner store) along the way for people to get food. He took us to a Maori Church, which wasn't part of the tour, telling us that they are happy for donations but they were completely voluntary only to find a woman at the door collecting $5 each, with card services if you didn't have cash. This was totally unacceptable. We did see 1 pool of bubbling mud and steaming water in a park and were able to soak our feet in the water. These areas were individually fenced.......not in a natural state as this photo shows.
    On our return journey to Tauranga, Brian told us about Kiwi fruit, he stated that we would stop and look at them from the side of the road and were not to touch anything. If we did he would hold us personally responsible for him not being able to take other tour groups there. Very disappointing.
    Written 13 February 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Sorry you felt that guide Brain was rude, he has worked for us for almost 20 years and rude is not something he is. As i have responded to others who make similar comments as yourself, you booked a lower cost tour where you do NOT go into the geothermal sights of either Te Whakarewarewa Living Maori Village or the Maori Arts and Crafts centre of Te Puia, both of which cost $100 to enter. The tour you booked costs $125 NZ - go figure why this does not include this entry. We try and show you as much of Rotorua as we can without you having to pay for entry [as you booked the low cost cheap version]. We do offer a tour to Rotorua which includes the entry to the village mentioned above where you get to see the geyser [if it erupts] from a close view point, this tour costs $190 NZ. Perhaps you did not pick up on Brians sense of humour regarding the comments during the tour, and if this was the case both myself and Brian appologise for any mis understanding. This 6 hour tour is planned to show you as much as we can in the timefram, travel to and from Rotorua takes about 75 minutes each way and we dont want to waste a lot of time on a big lunch [you are on a cruise ship so we assume you are well fed]. We just provide a suitable break mid day for you to buy something that suits you. Regarding the church at Ohinemutu, this is usually kept locked but on occasion if open Brian tries to get you access to view the interior. This is not part of the tour so we do suggest a small donation for its upkeep if we are lucky enough to get entry. The fenced areas in the park, Kiurau Park, are fenced for good reason, a few years ago a younf child climbed over the fences and died when he tried to retrieve an item. We have some really ill informed tourists who think it is OK to bathe in these hot pools, you can not as you would die given some are at 100 degrees C. The photo you refer to is taken in this park, and area that you walk around. You can not go into the kiwifruit orchards as this is a bio-security restriction, we can stop and look from a short distance as to walk into the orchard would see our access stopped. For other who read your review and this response, we hope they see the many positive reviews we get and make their own judgement.
    Written 15 February 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    janetmojo
    DeLand, FL
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2024 • Family
    We had a good day out seeing the sights! We had an afternoon tour as the ship got in around noon but it was a good amount of time considering the long-ish drive out to the geothermal area. (We got stuck in some construction.) Larger folks might find the seatbelts on the bus slightly uncomfortable. I'm not huge but it dug into my side. Loved the stop at the park for the thermal foot soak and the lake! We even saw boiling puddles!
    Written 23 February 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Pleased you had a great day, it was a shorter than usual tour due to the ships late arrival. Regards Ian
    Written 24 February 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    cem44
    Birmingham, AL
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jan 2020
    We took the full day tour and enjoyed it all. There was lots to see and do, but the most interesting part for us was the stop at the Kiwi fruit farm. The young man who took us around was in charge of the grove operations.and was extremely knowledgeable. We knew nothing about the growing and marketing of kiwi fruit when we arrived, but by the time he was finished, we felt as though we could hold our own in a discussion with almost anybody on the subject. It definitely increased our appreciation for the fruit.
    Written 19 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for your kind comments and Gavin at Kiwifruit Country will be pleased also to know you enjoyed the visit to his small family run business, one that we like to support. Regards Ian
    Written 27 February 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Nick B
    Chicago, IL
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    We highly recommend this tour, our guide Simon is enthusiastic and knowledgable. He obviously enjoys sharing the amazing sights and stories behind them (with plenty of humour too). We visited places we would have missed on our own and learned a lot about Rotorua and the area.
    Written 7 March 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    So pleased you had a good time with us. Regards Ian
    Written 10 April 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    abuiqfa
    Muscat, Oman
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Alistair’s guidance throughout the tour was very valuable. He had everything arranged, down to the towels required to dry our feet after a dip at the thermal springs in Rotorua. The treetop walk has been an unforgettable experience. Alistair’s knowledge about the country was much appreciated.
    Written 1 January 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thanks for the positive feedback.
    Written 12 January 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jan 2020
    Our tour guide Garry went out of his way to make our tour as interesting as possible. He stopped off at an extra stop at the waterfalls to see the rafts and kayaks. The cedar forest and walk was nice, and when we were able to put our feet into the hot springs Garry had some towels to dry our feet. A very enjoyable day
    Written 30 January 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thanks for your very positive feedback, our team of guides all try to make your short time with us on tour as good as we can. Regards Ian
    Written 31 January 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Helen S
    Aspendale, Australia
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jan 2020
    Unfortunately I have to say although the tour was informative, our small mini bus was not up to standard.
    There was no leg room which made the trip extremely uncomfortable. My knees were up against the back of the front seat throughout the whole day.
    Written 22 January 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi, sorry that you found the leg room insufficient but there is not much we can do about the design of the coaches and minibuses we use. We have late model Ford Transit 16 passenger minibuses [none older than 2017] and Japanese ROSA 22 to 24 seat minibuses. Most clients find the travel experience fine and we do not usually travel for more than 45 minutes without taking a break. So given that almost all vehicles in NZ are of this type then we must assume that you will give any tour that you take just 3 stars. Perhaps you should focus more on the positives about the day you had with us, such as the great guide, the stunning scenery, interesting places visits and the great weather we have had here since November, rather than just finding a negative point to moan about. We can also not do anything about clients who are above average height. If this is your situation then maybe a private tour in a nice luxury sedan would have been a better option for you, but that costs a lot more than the $99 NZ you paid. We do have three Rolls Royce cars you perhaps would have been better to book. So sorry it was not 100% for you but we do all try our best to please all our clients. Regards Ian
    Written 22 January 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    W6791ANdouglasc
    Broomfield, United States
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Mar 2020 • Couples
    Ended with app 20 in our 'small' group tour. That said, bus was adequate and our guide very good. Allow for mandatory commercial stops which we thought we would avoid.

    Overall, enjoyed the sights - thermal features not on the scale of YNP but still very interesting and some quite different. Planted tree forests were really good as well. Many species including California redwoods commingled with giant ferns.
    Written 19 March 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thanks for your review. On some days we do have to use our 20-24 seater coaches to accommodate the many clients from the larger cruise ships who want to experience our excursions. We do have smaller vehicles for those who want smaller groups but then these are usually on the more expensive tours that for that reason are less popular. We try and balance group size with ticket costs so that we have a range of tour prices to suit. Certainly we do not run the big 50 seater coaches that the official cruise ship tours use. Not been to YNP yet myself so can not comment on how our geothermal sites compare, maybe one day after the global COVID-19 issues are resolved. Regards Ian
    Written 21 April 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Was a nice tour that didn't cost an arm and a leg, like the cruise ship wanted to charge us. They picked us up and dropped us off, right at the cruise ship port. Our driver was very nice, had a great sense of humor and was very knowledgeable. There were lots of stops, great photo opportunities, and we learned a lot.
    Written 25 March 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    So pleased you had a good time with us. Regards Ian
    Written 10 April 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Steve B
    san diego, ca
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jan 2024 • Couples
    One of the better tours I’ve ever been on. We climbed up through the beautiful forest, some mountains in the countryside past farms with sheep and kiwi jungles of tree ferns is loaded with charm, and they need every moment of this tour. Interesting. I loved it. Lunch was delicious.
    Written 27 January 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Please you had a great time and Brian will be as well.
    Written 31 January 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Showing results 1-10 of 63

    6 hour Small-Group Rotorua Naturally Shore Excursion From Tauranga provided by Cruise Tours Tauranga

    All Mount Maunganui HotelsMount Maunganui Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Mount Maunganui
    All things to do in Mount Maunganui
    Day Trips in Mount Maunganui
    RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire