We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  • Electronic Voucher Accepted
  • 4-6 hours
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Itinerary
This exciting shark experience begins from your central Cape Town hotel.

Start at the Great White House, Gansbaai’s shark diving center, where you’ll eat breakfast, and meet your guides for the day. After eating, get fitted into the appropriate diving gear.

Climb into the specialized diving boat, complete with a shark diving cage, for the 20-minute trip into the ocean. Your captain heads for Dyer Island, choosing an ideal place to stop for the dive.

The cage is secured to the side of the boat, and during the cage dives it stays a few feet (meters) below the surface of the water. This means it’s easy for you to get out of the water at any point when you want to.

The boat stays anchored in this diving spot for roughly two hours, depending on shark activity. During that time, there are drinks and snacks for you aboard the boat. After the boat returns to Gansbaai, enjoy light refreshments back at the Great White House. You can choose to buy a professional video of your shark cage diving experience (own expense).

Your experience concludes with a drop-off at your hotel in Cape Town.
Locations visited
Marine Dynamics
Overview
Spend time watching one of the world’s most feared fish on this 4-to-6-hour cage diving experience in Cape Town. Travel to the ocean off the coast of Gansbaai for a full-day tour. Learn about great white sharks from your marine-biologist guide, and then dive into the water in a cage to observe sharks in their natural habitat. Breakfast, snacks and hotel-pick up and drop off are included.
Highlights
  • Full-day shark-diving tour from Cape Town
  • Journey into the open ocean from Gansbaai, a fishing village known for its dense population of great white sharks
  • Enjoy breakfast at the Great White House
  • Learn about the sharks in their natural habitat from an onboard marine biologist
  • Jump into a cage as your lowered into the water, which is the natural habitat of great white sharks
  • Bring home a video of your experience (own expense)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
67
5
6
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
67
5
6
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarine dynamicstop deckmarine biologist on boardan amazing experiencebucket listhot soupdiving companiesamazing animalsconservation effortsprone to sea sicknesssea conditionssouth africaboat ridewalked downwet suitsbest days of my lifesister company
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago
Expected so much more given Tripadvisor Ratings

Found it to be a pretty average experience. Completely understand that shark sightings are completely weather and animal dependent however, the first and second groups were made to be in the cage for 25 mins each while third group was only there for 10 mins...More

Thank Onleeanurag
Reviewed 1 week ago
Good....Until It Was Our Turn

We planned our visit to Cape Town to include an opportunity to go Shark Cage Diving. While we were mildly surprised to receive notice of a 4 am pickup the evening before our dive (our booking information indicated an "around 6 am" time), we sleepily...More

Thank mistercharles54
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
No more Great Whites

It was raining when we went on our tour. We did not see a great white and were told that Orcas had killed a few great whites and they had not seen them for weeks. They were hopeful, but no guarantees. We wish this was...More

Thank Neil-n-Carrie
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Unique experience

It has been an amazing experience. We were lucky to see three sharks, one of them quite big, around 5 meters. From the moment that I contacted Marine Dynamics to make the booking till the meal they have prepared after the cage diving trip, everything...More

Thank Daniel M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Huge disappointment but Great Company!

Everything is in the title ! So the crew is awesome and that is the huge +. Otherwise, they give us a lunch that was good, and a great explanation about the sharks and orcas(killer whales). Furthermore, we got great snacks during and after the...More

Thank Amau A
MarineDynamics, Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback Amau. So glad you were happy with our crew, our service and our food. Hope you enjoyed the hot chocolate too. We certainly would not suggest going with a ‘cheaper’ company as you may not have a marine biologist on...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sm72515
21 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Samantha E | Reviewed this property |
I think they may refund your $, but not 100% sure. They will try to get you out another day, but if you can't reschedule they way refund your money. They are quite accommodating and reasonable.
1
Vote
Full-Day Cape Peninsula Sightseeing...
29 Reviews
from US$119.60*
Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town
383 Reviews
from US$73.70*
Cape Point, Penguins and Wine Tasting...
33 Reviews
from US$138.60*
Full-Day Cape Point & Cape Peninsula...
205 Reviews
from US$56.00*