Tours and Tickets

Evening Wildlife Safari provided by Discover Banff Tours

LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Evening Wildlife Safari

Evening Wildlife Safari
4
Book in advance
from
$80.02
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Avoid the hassle of driving, and enjoy an evening bus safari
Duration:
2h
Group size:
24
Near public transportation
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
This is a great pick for wildlife fans visiting Banff. Get more out of your vacation by going on an evening safari in Banff National Park. Look out for elk, deer, bears, sheep, and more in their natural environment. Get more out of the trip than if you were exploring alone by having informative commentary about local wildlife and preservation schemes from a guide.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Explore Banff National Park with a guide so you don’t get lost
  • Lots to look out for—the park is home to deer, bears, elk, and more
  • Learn as you travel—guide commentary is provided
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Explore Banff National Park with a guide so you don’t get lost
  • Lots to look out for—the park is home to deer, bears, elk, and more
  • Learn as you travel—guide commentary is provided
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 3827EWS
Important information
Inclusions
  • Professional guide
  • Transport by climate-controlled vehicle
  • Small group size (up to 24 guests per guide)
  • Hands on interpretive tools
  • Pick up from the public bus parking located behind the Mount Royal Hotel
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
Duration
2h
Departure details
  • Mount Royal Hotel, 138 Banff Ave, Banff, AB T1L 1A7, Canada All guests must wait at the public bus parking located behind the Mount Royal Hotel at 138 Banff Ave. You must be ready 15 minutes prior to the tour departure time. Our guide will be there within the 15 minute pick up window.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • This is a bus tour, and you will be on the bus for the majority of the tour.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travellers
Inclusions
  • Professional guide
  • Transport by climate-controlled vehicle
  • Small group size (up to 24 guests per guide)
  • Hands on interpretive tools
  • Pick up from the public bus parking located behind the Mount Royal Hotel
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
Departure details
  • Mount Royal Hotel, 138 Banff Ave, Banff, AB T1L 1A7, Canada All guests must wait at the public bus parking located behind the Mount Royal Hotel at 138 Banff Ave. You must be ready 15 minutes prior to the tour departure time. Our guide will be there within the 15 minute pick up window.
Duration
2h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • This is a bus tour, and you will be on the bus for the majority of the tour.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travellers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Mount Royal Hotel
    138 Banff Ave, Banff, AB T1L 1A7, Canada
    All guests must wait at the public bus parking located behind the Mount Royal Hotel at 138 Banff Ave. You must be ready 15 minutes prior to the tour departure time. Our guide will be there within the 15 minute pick up window.
    See address & details
  • 1
    Banff National Park
    Stop: 2 hours
    Travel through prime wildlife areas in Banff on this paved road bus tour, with little to no walking involved. There are a number of routes available depending on wildlife activity and so every night is a new adventure!
    Read more
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
140 reviews
Excellent
79
Very good
21
Average
15
Poor
9
Terrible
16

Paradise820022
2 contributions
Jun 2022 • Couples
This was a great, safe and animal friendly experience which allowed those involved seeing a wide range of Banff National Park animals in the wild, including a Black Bear feeding in the woods. Jeff was a great guide, calm, informative, funny and friendly. We would thoroughly recommend the company and tour to those visiting Banff and if you can get Jeff thrown in as well, it'll be an amazing evening experience. Thank you. Paul & Caroline UK
Written 3 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Paul and Caroline, Thanks for taking the time to share how much you enjoyed the evening wildlife tour with Jeff - and how lucky to see so many animals including a black bear! We hope to see you both back in Banff someday.
Written 7 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Satansneakers
Barrie, Canada5 contributions
Aug 2021 • Couples
Jeff was really great and informative in telling us about the history of the park and what is being done to preserve the wildlife in the area and reintroduce wildlife that had been hunted to extinction in the park generations past.

We saw elk bucks, a sow and her calves, mule deer and a big horn ram. We also ended up seeing some of the lakes we wouldn't have gotten the chance to see on our short trip into Banff so it was an added bonus!
Written 13 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Colin R
1 contribution
Jun 2022 • Couples
A great way to spend a summer evening. Our driver/guide Tyler did a great job getting us around, telling us so much about the wildlife in the area and keeping us entertained. The absolutely highlight for all of us was our first sighting of a mother bear with two young cubs. Awesome!
Written 15 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Colin, Thanks for joining us on the Evening Wildlife Safari with Tyler. We're so glad you enjoyed the tour - and how lucky to spot a bear and her cubs! We hope to see you back in Banff again soon.
Written 21 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Andy B
1 contribution
Jun 2022 • Couples
We had used Discover Banff tours for two trips during our stay in Banff. The first was for an airport transfer from Calgary to Banff. During the transfer, I took the opportunity to speak to our driver to explain that we were booked on the evening safari the following evening. I mentioned that the booking stated there was a hotel pick up offered, but there was no mentioned of how to do this in the emailed paperwork. She kindly dialled the booking office where I spoke to a lady to confirm my booking along with securing a pickup from our hotel at 7:15pm. We cut short our first day exploring to get an early dinner and ensure we arrived at our pickup time. We confirmed with some other guests waiting at the same spot that they were in the same trip.

At 7:20, the bus turned up. At the same time I also received a call from a man at Discover Banff tours who had explained that we were supposed to be at another pick up location and that we had missed our bus and it was too late to get the other bus to pick us up and that we could not get on the bus at our hotel as it was full. I explained the discussion I had with their agent the previous day. At that point he explained that they could no longer take us and the he would give me ‘the benefit of the doubt’ and give us a refund. My paperwork states that pick up was at 7:30, so we were in theory still on time!

Our trip to Banff is to celebrate my wife’s 50th birthday and our first day in Banff was thoroughly ruined. I would not recommend Discover Banff. We received no apology from the man on the phone and their customer service is extremely poor.
Written 13 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Andy Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Unfortunately there was a second booking with the same last name as the booking you were on, which appears to have caused the confusion. The other booking was amended to the Elk and Avenue, but it seems it wasn't clarified that there were two bookings to be updated to the new pickup location. As a result, only one booking was amended and unfortunately the driver of the bus you were assigned to was not able to turn around by the time this was discovered. We immediately issued a full refund through the third party site that you booked through (which caused the pickup error in the first place), and sincerely apologize for the missed tour. We hope that we can offer a better experience on your next visit to Banff.
Written 21 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rachael C
2 contributions
Evening ruined!!! We booked this trip over a month before our planned trip to Banff. We arranged our pick up for the trip over the phone with Discover Banff Tours on our transfer from the airport, as the same company did the transfer from the airport and the lady driver called the company for us.

This evening, which was the evening of our planned trip, we waited outside of the hotel with other people waiting for the same trip. When the coach arrived we were told there was no room for us. At the same time we received a call from a member of staff at Discover Banff Tours to say we weren’t at the correct pick up point and our tickets would be cancelled.

We highlighted that a call had been made to the company arranging a pick up the previous day at our hotel, The Elk and Avenue. The member of staff insinuated that we were lying and said twice “they would give us the benefit of doubt”.

We are gutted this is a holiday of a lifetime for 50th birthdays, this company has let us down and I would caution anyone from using them in the future!!!
Written 11 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Rachael, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Unfortunately there was a second booking with the same last name as the booking you were on, which appears to have caused the confusion. The other booking was amended to the Elk and Avenue, but it seems it wasn't clarified that there were two bookings to be updated to the new pickup location. As a result, only one booking was amended and unfortunately the driver of the bus you were assigned to was not able to turn around by the time this was discovered. We immediately issued a full refund through the third party site that you booked through (which caused the pickup error in the first place), and sincerely apologize for the missed tour. We hope that we can offer a better experience on your next visit to Banff.
Written 21 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

conconfer
2 contributions
Our tour of wildlife in the Banff area was super. We saw lots of animals. Loved the big horn sheep particularly. Our guide was very well informed. She told us a lot about the animals and the habitat and about some of the politics involved in caring for such a special environment. The scenery was also outstanding.
Written 10 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for leaving us a wonderful review, we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us on our Evening wildlife safari and were able to spot a ton of animals. We hope to see you back again soon!
Written 15 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sanat S
1 contribution
Aug 2021 • Couples
The tour bus has tinted glass windows and the tour is in the evening at 7.00 pm The tour is more like informative rather then wild life viewing. There were two scenic stops for over all more then 25 minutes. Not worth money, it’s a different story we were unlucky except to spot a couple of Elk and few Big Horn ships and the tinted windows did a pretty bad job in taking any nice pictures.
Written 18 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on the Evening Wildlife Safari. This tour changes each night, and takes guests to wherever we've been lucky enough to see animals lately in Banff. The animals are wild and move about on their own, but we're glad to hear that you were able to see bighorn sheep and elk. Along with deer, these are the most common animal sightings that we have in Banff during peak summer. Our guides do enjoy sharing their local wildlife knowledge with guests during the tour, and will always make a few scenic stops along the way so that guests can stretch their legs and enjoy the evening scenery. While our guides will always try to stop or pull over so that guests can view wildlife, it's not always safe for guests to disembark the vehicle as we must maintain a safe distance. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Banff.
Written 30 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ccmamama
2 contributions
Apr 2022 • Couples
Our tour guide was really great and he shared many great wildlife facts and stories from his experiences.

The bad part was that we didn’t get to see much wildlife other than deers. They did say it’s hit or miss so I guess we weren’t that lucky that day…
Written 23 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi there, thank you for leaving us a review! We are sorry to hear you didn't get to see much wildlife on tour, it often is hit or miss in April. We hope to see you back out here again soon!
Written 24 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Richard
Cupar, UK7 contributions
May 2022
Started 1930 finished 2130,About 20 of us saw white tailed deer,monk deer,big horn sheep,elk and actually watched a wolf stalking some deer.Well worth it as the sun was losing its brightness over the mountains and wonderful views.Thanks to our great tour guide Jeff who was very knowledgeable.Rick and Karen,Cupar in Fife,Scotland.
Written 12 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Rick, Thank you for leaving us a wonderful review - we are happy to hear your group got to see a ton of wildlife including the wolf stalking some deer (rare to see). We are sure to pass this message along to Jeff!
Written 15 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MississippiTexan
1 contribution
Jun 2022
Our guide, Jeff was outstanding. He gave us a lot of information about the area and the animals which was educational and enjoyable. Very personable and entertaining. We saw a lot of wildlife, including bears and cubs. We would do this trip again.
Written 13 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
good afternoon, Thank you for leaving us a wonderful review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with Jeff! super cool you got to see cubs!
Written 13 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 128
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Discover Banff Tours
SimonNJ
SimonNJ
00
Maligne Lake tour
Great tour with perfect weather. A spectacular experience. I rank this with Milford Sound in New Zealand. Both u
StreetWorldwide
StreetWorldwide
00
Very friendly staff, professional service, worth the time and money.
Expert guides and meticulous safety precautions make this a must for adventurous travelers. Our guide Jazz was bubb
N6207JAdaveh
N6207JAdaveh
00
Disappointing
We received a call 15 minutes after the scheduled departure time that the tour for this day was canceled. We waited
Wandering_Florid8n
Wandering_Florid8n
00
Hassle-free tour with a wonderful guide
Smooth experience, without any hassle of finding parking. We are so glad that we booked this tour. Our guide and
yonisl
yonisl
00
THE WORST HIKING SERVICE BY FAR.... DO NOT USE !!!!
48 hrs before my hiking trip to Banff, I’ve received a call from this shady company to tell me the my booking was c
natasha967
natasha967
00
Best tour in Banff
Loved the journey was able to stop off at alot of cool places for photo opportunities. The guides Brad and Marnie w
H1975UFthomasf
H1975UFthomasf
00
Awesome adventure
Exciting adventure with a fabulous guide (David) climbing steep rock faces, suspended bridge and traverses. Stupend
spikyredzz
spikyredzz
00
Fantastic tour, brilliant guide _ perfect!
We took the Columbia Icefields tour a few days ago out of Banff. It is quite a long day, 11 hrs, but worth every mi
827grahamc
827grahamc
00
Half day trip to Lakes Louise and Moraine
Very informative and entertaining driver/guide made the trip fun. The lakes were both stunning. Unfortunately the w
Jps2466666
Jps2466666
00
Relaxing learning experience
My favorite part was actually the guy we had he was awesome the lakes were amazing but the guys in depth knowledge
vibhasp2022
vibhasp2022
00
Gorgeous Glaciers!
Our tour guide, Ness, gave us so many facts to simmer on, and pointed out so many geological features!
TravelFoodieTex
TravelFoodieTex
00
Book with Caution
My tour was cancelled 2 days before it was scheduled to happen because of staffing shortages. Fortunately my trave
TravelFoodieTex
TravelFoodieTex
00
Definitely not Ready for Primetime - Book with Caution
I will review 3 tours Lake Louise, Icefields, and Wildlife. On very short notice the first 2 were cancelled and tho
bncwong
bncwong
00
A memorable family experience!
Lovely day with Rob as our tour guide to some very scenic areas. On the way back though our bus had to pull over w/
Traveler64588951210
Traveler64588951210
00
Discover Banff
A great morning with Elle & Tanner. Stopping where it was safe for us all to view deer and moose. Frequent stops to
Frequently Asked Questions about Evening Wildlife Safari

Evening Wildlife Safari price starts from $79.35. Discover and book Evening Wildlife Safari on Tripadvisor

Evening Wildlife Safari cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Evening Wildlife Safari on Tripadvisor

Evening Wildlife Safari is hosted by Discover Banff Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Discover Banff Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Evening Wildlife Safari on Tripadvisor

On average, this experience will take approximately 2h. Discover and book Evening Wildlife Safari on Tripadvisor