Tours and Tickets

Catamaran Day Trip to Saona provided by Saona Dreams

Catamaran Day Trip to Saona

Catamaran Day Trip to Saona
4
Book in advance
from
$118.64
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Duration:
9h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Hotel pickup offered
Group size:
50
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
  • Duration:
    9h
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Group size:
    50
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
  • Free cancellation
About
Saona Dreams founders were the first ever to create and offer to the visitors of the Dominican Republic a tour to the Saona Island that would include drinks, food and entertainment, at the lowest possible prices. Our excursions offer an impeccable safety record in over 28 years of operation. We serve the most demanding tour operators in the world, and with the same approach of the most fun at the best price/most satisfaction philosophy, we offer this attraction to the end consumer via our direct channel.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 9h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
German, Russian, Portuguese, English, Italian, French, Dutch, Spanish
Know before you go
  • Duration: 9h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
German, Russian, Portuguese, English, Italian, French, Dutch, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 29258P1
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
  • Buffet lunch
  • Unlimited drinks (open bar)
  • Hotel/port pickup and drop-off
  • Beverages
Exclusions
  • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
  • Bandanas (available to purchase)
Duration
9h
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Departure Point: Bayahibe or Punta Cana hotels Dates: Monday, Wednesday & Friday
  • Ports:
  • bayahibe, C2FJ+XC8, La Romana 22000, Dominican Republic
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travellers
Inclusions
  • Buffet lunch
  • Unlimited drinks (open bar)
  • Hotel/port pickup and drop-off
  • Beverages
Exclusions
  • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
  • Bandanas (available to purchase)
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Departure Point: Bayahibe or Punta Cana hotels Dates: Monday, Wednesday & Friday
  • Ports:
  • bayahibe, C2FJ+XC8, La Romana 22000, Dominican Republic
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
9h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 2 Dec 2020
A note from Catamaran Day Trip to Saona
Face masks are required for travelers and staff during bus rides.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Isla Saona
    Stop: 5 hours
    See details
  • 2
    Natural Pool
    Stop: 3 hours
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+

4.0
40 reviews
Excellent
19
Very good
8
Average
7
Poor
2
Terrible
4

VivaAQP
Veytaux, Switzerland24 contributions
Most companies sell this trip way overpriced, let alone hotels. I've seen up to USD 120 per person for this day trip. We paid less than USD 80 (4000 DOP) for the whole family (2 adults and 2 small children) by going to Bayahibe port directly and dealing with the first tout that appears. And this included the entry fee to the natural reserve (500 DOP per adult). The service is exactly the same, we got on one of the catamarans together with all the folks from the hotels in Bayahibe and Punta Cana. Of course this way you need to get to the port by your own means. Starting with a low price and haggling a bit in Spanish can get you a good deal.
The trip itself is really nice. Even if you are staying in Punta Cana with its already nice beaches, Isla Saona has such a stunning beach you can only see on postcards.
The catamaran is slow, it took us more than 3 hours, but it's fun with all the ambiance and drinks. Sometimes you can spot dolphins and flying fish if you're lucky. The trip back by speedboat is faster but there is a half an hour stop at Piscina Natural which is a nice sand bank out in the sea. All in all recommended if you get a good deal.
Written 6 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Real B
Parkland, FL42 contributions
We booked a day trip at the Sheraton Santo Domingo. We were told to show up in the Zona Colonial at 6:30am. The guide showed up at 7 am and we hopped on a bus. The bus was comfortable by not recent by any standard. We stopped on the way to pick some people and at a rest stop for 15 min. The travel agent told us breakfast was served on the bus but that was not the case. So not knowing this we did not buy food or water. Nothing was provided on the bus. We then proceeded to another stop to pick up more people. All said it took about 3 hours to get to where the boats for the island leave. All I can say is if you do not like crowds you should stay a away. Boarding was chaotic to say the least. It looked like a bus station with loads of people boarding the boats. We boarded what we thought was a fast boat only to be transferred on a catamaran. The boat was loaded with people and crying kids. No food just cheap rum with coke or sprite. Music and dancing on board made the ride somewhat fun. It took about 90 min to get to the island. Ok this was the best part as far as the trip. Very nice beach with nice water but again if you don’t like crowds you will not like this. By crowds I mean real crowds. The food line for the buffet was long and only chicken and some sort of fish and pasta was available. The drinks on the island are cheap rum no ice by the way with coke or sprite and beer. Then after 2:30 hours they rounded up the cattle for the trip back. We returned on the fast boat with a stop on an area with shallow water. We got back to the bus at around 5:45 pm. The bus ride back took 3:15 min with numerous stop. So all in all 6 1/2 hours for a 6 hours excursion. All in all it was nice to see the island but it makes for a very long day and I suggest you bring your own breakfast and snacks with water specially if you are going with kids. Probably would not do it again.
Written 21 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hola first of all remember that we are soana dreams so we are just responsable for the boat part and time in Saona the transfert and tour guide is the responsibility of yout tour operador we have vip excursion with private boat and premium witch is more what you were expecting from this excursion that the regular saona Regards
Written 22 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

spacegirl349
Houston, TX26 contributions
Apr 2019 • Couples
My husband and I booked a snorkel trip to Saona Island from the Best Day Travel desk at the Westin Punta Cana. We told the representative that we loved to snorkel, and he said this trip would provide 2 snorkel stops – one out in the water, and another off the beach at Saona. It also included a seafood buffet, a stop at a natural swimming pool, and a catamaran ride home. It sounded fantastic. He also said there were only about 20 people on a boat – which sounded great. Unfortunately, that is not how the trip went.

We had 38 people on the boat, not 20. We did our first snorkel stop only a few minutes after leaving the shore. The tour guide said we only had 15 minutes and told us to hurry. Everyone was a little confused that this was the first snorkel since we just sat down in the boat. There was no explanation about what to do and some people hadn't snorkeled before. Only a few people got into the water. My husband felt too rushed and so decided to wait until the beach snorkel. I don't think any of the crew got into the water. It didn't seem like a real snorkel stop and we were rushed. I got into the water and we could really only circle the boat since there were boats everywhere.

We were called in and headed to the natural swimming pool. That is a large sand bar where the water in the middle of the ocean is just about 4 feet deep and there is pure white sand below and clear water. No plants, fish, nothing. It was like a swimming pool. They had a floating bar and provided champagne to everyone, along with fruit kebabs and sandwiches. That was a fun stop.

Then we went to the island and it was a huge disappointment. It was pretty, but the beach was not nearly as nice as the one at our hotel. The beach was packed with people and the entry was very rocky and hurt our feet. When we arrived, there were many, many boats along the beach and only a small area to get into the water. When we got off the boat, we were told there was no snorkeling and nothing to see in the water. Several of us were angry, as we had been told this was a snorkeling trip. Since my husband had skipped the quick snorkeling stop, he didn't get to snorkel at all on this excursion. He was planning to snorkel off the beach. The seafood buffet was also a big disappointment. It consisted of hot dogs, pork chop, chicken, fish, and shrimp kebabs. That is not really a seafood buffet, and everything was very overcooked. We could not get the shell off of the shrimp because it was so overcooked.

Then came the scariest part of the trip. We had to climb from our speedboat onto the catamaran, which was parked out in the middle of the water away from shore, while the two boats moved apart and crashed together in the waves over and over! I was terrified! Of course everyone was wet and the boat surfaces were slippery and in constant motion. You had to time it just right or fall between the boats! My husband did end up falling onto the catamaran - and has a couple of bruises. I am 58 and don't have good balance - I was really scared and could not believe we had to do this not once - but twice to get back home. There were two elderly people and an older woman with a cast on her arm - I was very scared for them also! Someone could have been seriously injured. We have been on many boat excursions in Mexico, Honduras, Aruba, Belize, Virgin Islands and have never had to do this type of unsafe boat transfer.

I will say that the crew were all friendly and helpful, and the crew included photographers who took photos of everyone, but the bottom line is that we had paid for a snorkel trip (expensive at $165/person) and that is not what it was. I feel we were misled and it was falsely advertised. It also turned out to be a bit dangerous.

We and another couple complained to the Best Day Travel desk in the hotel when we returned, and they told us to write up all the problems in an email to the Best Day Travel customer service address. I wrote the company and received NO response. After another week, I wrote them again and still have received NO response. I will also be sending a complaint to the Westin Punta Cana (which was otherwise a fantastic resort, by the way).

Overall, Punta Cana was wonderful, and the people everywhere were so nice. But this Saona snorkel trip was terrible.
Written 17 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We dont do snorkeling trip to Saona. The snorkeling trip like you can see in the title is at Catalina. That's 2 different island and 2 different trip.. In some saona tour like the one that you buy (Best Saona) we have snorkeling stop (20 to 30 mins) but it's in Bayahibe because en Saona its al sand bottom (nothing to see). The snorkeling stop en Bayahibe does not have anything to see with the snorkeling that we do en Catalina. We are very sorry that your rep did not sell you the right excursion. Regards
Written 21 May 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

travelbyTA
2 contributions
Apr 2019 • Friends
This is a terrible excursion, the VERY slow catamaran will take you to the island of Saona in about 2 hours, together other 50 or so.passanger; the organizer will make you believe that all in inclusive - NOT SO! no bottle water or beer on the boat, and no beer on the island either UNTIL the buffet starts, which is an hour after arrival; you better start to put yourself in the line immediately as the meat was all gone before averyone got his rationed share; so by the time you get to the island, stand in line it’s time to get back; DEFINITELY NOT WORTH IT!!!
Written 15 April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hola With who did you buy your excursion? Witch tour operador ? You did not do a Saona Dreams excursion because all our bars at the beach are equipe with a Beer Draft and all our guest have beer from the first and the last minute they are on our beach. The beer have nothing to see with buffet but i know that some Saona company do that to lower the cost . Regards
Written 21 May 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Craig F
Edmonton, Canada13 contributions
Apr 2019 • Family
Paid $85.00 usd for snorkel cruise which turned out to be very long bus ride, 30 minutes and a very long cruise, 45 minutes to Catalina Island for a very short snorkel 35 minutes. The area is good for snorkeling but not great. Cozumel or anywhere in Hawaii is much better. After short time at the reef we were taken to an island for 2 hours where we had an OK lunch and then just sat on the beach until it was time to board the boat and gp back to the bus. The worst part was a person of the cruise ship who danced all the way to the reef and then all way back. He/She was very inappropriate in his/ her dancing and made it a very uncomfortable cruise. Could have saved $85.00 and stayed on the resort.
Written 9 April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hola Snorkeling at the Wall reef is 45 mins The on the beach is 3 hours where the mask and snorkel are also available. Regards
Written 21 May 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

TravelGRL1414
Grand Blanc, MI55 contributions
Jan 2019 • Couples
My in laws booked this trip for us while vacationing in Punta Cana. We paid $99pp for 10 couples. We called the day prior to confirm pick-up time and when we called the guy who answered the phone was extremely rude and never said hello just asked for our last name and he said 7am!!! Then hung up!

The next day while waiting 7am passed so I called again, he answered and said 7:05 and hung up! The small vehicle arrived at 7:06am and we boarded. We were the first to board (10 guest) the vehicle then proceeded to the next resort where we picked up an additional 4 guest, then onto the next where we have 4 more. At this time the tour guy said we had to stop at the gas station as we were having vehicle problems but also picking up an additional 4 guest... but no more room on this vehicle so we had to change out. We waited for 15-20 minutes and then got a new vehicle.

We arrived to the port where we board the boat for the day. While going out to The catamaran is was a very rough looking boat. Beat up, 2 hot tubs that didn’t work, and cheap cheap rum with coke or sprite only.. no beer or diet!!!

Arrived to the island and had a nice day. We left island and on our way home we had another break down on the bus. We stopped on the side of the road in a dirt lot and my father-n-law helped try to fix the issue, snapped Belt!!! Couldn’t fix it, I called the number again and the rude guy answered and said not his fault and would send someone to help. 43-45 minutes later a new bus arrived.

Also, our tour guy picked up a “friend” to tag along, she used up a seat and was not working. She enjoyed the day just like a paying customer.

DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS COMPANY!!! Viator is also not refunding or staying by us as there customers. This was advertised as a 10 hour tour. 7am to 5pm, we got back to resort at 7:15pm! We missed a party we booked on beach also!! Thanks Viator & Saona Dreams!! 2 thumbs DOWN!
Written 5 February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hola TravelGRL We are really sorry that you did not get in our excursion what you were expecting. Regards
Written 20 February 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mayor Richard H
Round Lake Beach, IL15 contributions
We took a catamaran to the island and a speed boat back. We landed on the north side of the island but the south side was better so we walked across the island in about 10 minutes. Much nicer water and view. You will love some of the strange palm tree shapes.
Written 13 December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hola Tanks for your review Regards
Written 20 February 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Joe R
Coto de Caza, CA496 contributions
Set aside one day for a Catamaran sail to Saona. The price is decent for the experience. This is a must do!
Written 4 October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hola Joe Tanks for t your review Regards
Written 20 February 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

M4reach
4 contributions
Aug 2018
We did the regular Tour. They will stop for 30 mins at the natural ocean which is short. But it’s crowded recommend to take a vip trip
Written 22 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Tank you for your review Regards
Written 20 February 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Vacation587586
2 contributions
Aug 2018
The staff was incredible and very friendly. The snorkeling was mediocre; saw some fish but the coral was all brown and there was a large group in the water anyway, so it just wasn't interesting to me. We went to Catalina Island which was beautiful! The shopping was expensive just like in Punta Cana, compare to some other areas I traveled to.
Written 20 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hola Lauren Tanks for tour review Regards
Written 20 February 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 13
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Saona Dreams
Chloelouise21x
Chloelouise21x
00
DO NOT BOOK THIS - it’s an absolute rip off!!
We were picked up from our hotel at 7:05am - we then traveled for around an hour to pick up people from an addition
AmandaNickel
AmandaNickel
00
Fun Day
It had rained a lot the days before our trip which is not conducive for visible snorkeling. Otherwise it was fantas
Elisabete M
Elisabete M
00
Beautiful island and fun catamaran ride!
We booked our VIP Saona excursion from Punta Cana at our hotel with Amstar. It’s a full day but it was worth it, Y
Tricia R
Tricia R
00
Good choice for port
This was a bit of journey to get to the island, but a nice choice on this port. Not much to do on island without tr
Krystal411
Krystal411
00
Best by far...
We booked Sanoa Island Adventure VIP with AMSTAR and I’m so glad we did. Day started out with our guide Jose, witty
Pavel F
Pavel F
00
Really conflicting experience
Fyi -We purchased vip tour that included lobster dinner. Pros: Knowledgeable guide Ramirez Absolutely stunning loca
Katrina K
Katrina K
00
Good - But Long Day
Good: Altos de Chavon was a unique experience - hard to believe the town is not "ancient". Our guide Ramone was ver
7106Lora
7106Lora
00
terrible tour company to deal
On Janurary 31 with took a tour from Dreams Punta Cana to Catalina Island. When we left the hotel the bus filled up
patsmitg
patsmitg
00
Worth the trip
Beautiful, Stunning Blue Lagoon Beach. It was amazing. Go if you can. We ate lunch on the beach, had a siesta an
Tonycal3
Tonycal3
00
Fun
My son and I had a blast. There were things to do on the boat. The lunch was decent and the price from Bayahibe was
SwissTrippy
SwissTrippy
00
Fantastic Day!
We were picked up at our resort in Bayahibe by taxi. This was a bit unnerving because the taxi driver was unsure
hi_maint_couple
hi_maint_couple
00
Best day of our vacation
We first went to the natural swimming pool in the middle of the ocean where you could take professional pictures wi
LeilaBEsco
LeilaBEsco
00
Fun in the sun
Very well organized trip to isla Saona. Crew new various languages and I was impressed. I felt very safe. Everyone
cooklm73
cooklm73
00
Perfect
We were aboard the Adventure and the crew and captain were the most fun friendly bunch of people I had met since be
Vivienne S
Vivienne S
00
amazing sea
this amazing trip took us to saona island . we stopped off in the shallow waters to see the star fish . lots of loc
Frequently Asked Questions about Catamaran Day Trip to Saona

Catamaran Day Trip to Saona price starts from $116.19. Discover and book Catamaran Day Trip to Saona on Tripadvisor

Catamaran Day Trip to Saona cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Catamaran Day Trip to Saona on Tripadvisor

Catamaran Day Trip to Saona is hosted by Saona Dreams. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Saona Dreams on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Catamaran Day Trip to Saona on Tripadvisor

On average, this experience will take approximately 9h. Discover and book Catamaran Day Trip to Saona on Tripadvisor